We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice property”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

This is a nice hotel with an awesome setting. Rooms were modern, the pools were nice, but the beach was lacking some character. Don't use their beach,any better ones to be found nearby. The food is ok but also overpriced. The ferry to town should be free for guests.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Rastko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your positive comments about the rooms, pools and location of Frenchman’s Reef. Your suggestions are also welcomed. Please call ahead of your next stay. That way we can assist you further with dining and transportation choices. Our pre-arrival team is here daily to serve you. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,622
    1,379
    731
    348
    197
See reviews for
1,181
1,832
81
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,584)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We had our wedding at Havana Blue (amazing) on the Marriott property, I reviewed Havana Blue separately as it is privately owned, but I wanted to shout out the Marriott as well, specifically Hayley Andrews the Event Coordinator.

Hayley was very enthusiastic throughout the planning process. We had 50 guests and she made sure to review each reservation to make sure everything was correct prior to arrival. She was extremely responsive to every email and over the top kind and on point. She sent us cards at Christmas, we had Champagne & Chocolates in our room the first night,wedding night etc. I mean she went WAAAAY over the top to make us feel special. I even made a joke about being a "bridezilla" and how I wanted a monkey, blue M & Ms and Champagne on my wedding night and she delivered! Not a real monkey, but a photo, and it was hilarious!

I really appreciated everything that the Marriott and Hayley did to make sure that we were all taken care of. Everyone was so great and I'm so glad we had our wedding there!

Room Tip: We had the Royal Suite and it was AWESOME...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
What a delight! Congratulations on your marriage! It is with pleasure that I read your comments about Hayley and your overall experience at Frenchman’s Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort. We are lucky to have her on our team and I certainly look forward to celebrating this success. Thank you for sharing your special occasion with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

This was an awesome tour offered by the Adventure Center at Marriott's Frenchman's Reef Hotel. Chris and Suki were awesome guides. We took clear bottom kayaks with LED lights all throughout the "cove" and saw an array of sea life! I was nervous that we would not be able to see much but with the crystal clear waters and LED lights in each kayak, my concerns quickly diminished. It was about an hour and a half tour. Book in advanced... It's a popular tour and fills up quickly. You'll have an awesome time!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for highlighting our Night Kayak tour! We love hearing that your expectations were exceeded. For those planning travel to Frenchman’s Reef, you can find out more about this and other tours by calling the Adventure Center or going to the website. For your convenience, this tour departs right from our property. We hope you will join us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

I recently was married at this resort and had 32 guests along for the ride. This is a review of all of our stay and event at the Marriott. First, the excellent... Kate atwell, event manager, has to be the best coordinator you could ever hope for. She was responsive, friendly, and went out of her way to make sure everything was taken care of (even when it fell outside her obvious job duties). She never once complained or said something I wanted was unrealistic. She's an absolute gem. Also, Dijon at the front desk is super friendly and helpful. Trust me... ask for him by name and wait. You'll be grateful you did. The views are almost unbeatable and the renovated section of the hotel is lovely. If you use the adventure group, make sure to book night kayaking with Chris and melissa! They were really knowledgeable and fun. Now for the good... food was overpriced but I never had a bad meal. The bacon at the buffet is cooked perfectly each morning but otherwise, nothing was spectacular. It was all consistently good so I can't complain (even though things were a bit overpriced, even for an island resort.) The elevators were exceptionally quick (funny to review but it's definitely helpful when staying on the 8th floor) and the gift shop pretty much has anything you may have forgotten. The bad... The inconsistent customer service and general disorganization of the hotel is practically laughable (in fact, several locals told us the Marriott is the running joke for months of profound over bookings and lack of accountability). Our group actually arrived to an extremely RUDE welcoming where the front desk gave my guests attitude, stating no one could check in because our travel agent never paid them. They began charging our guests credit cards for the entire stay even though we had paid in full months before arriving. It turned out accounting hadn't relayed the payment information to the front desk... which would have been a forgivable error if they had handled it in a calm and friendly manner rather than giving us attitude and telling us it was our problem to figure out (no manager came out... no "let me look into this"... just blatent attitude). THANK GOD the event coordinator had provided me with her cell number before my arrival. She came upstairs and worked everything out even as our "friendly" front desk receptionist disagreed with her, stating she wasn't going to take responsibility for checking in a group without payment. The lacking service didn't end there... Some staff members were completely gracious while others were borderline ridiculous. Some maids will literally roll their eyes, huff, and make a big production if you get into an elevator they're using. Despite all the bad, I would actually say to go for the views, the ferry to town, the staff that is actually friendly... just insist on staying on the newly renovated side with an ocean view and take the poor attitudes with a grain of salt. St Thomas is a gorgeous location with some of the most amazing locals you'd ever meet.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mdoodles82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Congratulations! Thank you for choosing Frenchman’s Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort for your destination wedding. We greatly appreciate your warm acknowledgments of Kate, Dijon, Chris and Melissa and we look forward to passing along your kind words. We are also truly grateful for the details you provided regarding your check-in experience so that we can take immediate steps to ensure we don’t encounter these communication issues in the future. It is our highest aim for all guests to feel the warm responsiveness that Marriott is known for in each and every encounter with our team. Thankfully, your inspiration was not dampened by these mistakes. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you all to St. Thomas again. Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliso Viejo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This resort was amazing! The room was wonderful, clean and the bed was so comfortable! The staff was friendly, quick and tried to make sure that all of our needs were met. The view was breath taking and we could not have asked for better service. Our housekeeper Mary was wonderful and our room was spottless daily as we arived home. We loved everything about this resort and cant wait to go back ASAP. This resort exceeded our expectations and we plan on returning with our family and friends. We loved this place!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Great review title! I am so pleased to hear everything about your visit was amazing. Mary will be specifically recognized for her stellar service; thank you for the specific mention of her name. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at the Main Hotel. I was nervous going there after reading reviews on this site, but we had no issues what-so-ever. Our room was recently renovated and beautiful. Our room was cleaned early every day. The staff was excellent...so nice and courteous. I don't understand the complaints about rude staff at all. We truly did not meet one rude person.

We have been to the Marriott Hotels in Aruba, Grand Cayman and St. Kitts and this one was far superior to those in every way. The infinity pools are awesome ! The beach is gorgeous, warm and the waves are fun. There is so much to do both on property and off property.

The Adventure center has great activities. We did the trip to St. John, the night kayak and Coral World, swim with the sea lions. I would recommend all of these activities with 5 stars ! Suki was our sea lion trainer and night Kayak guide with Dave. The swim with the sea lions was a dream come true for sure !

The food was good, 4 restaurants to choose from. We never had any trouble getting a seat at any of them. We special ordered things...so very surprised to hear that someone could not get a cheese quesadilla. Yvette at Coco Joe's is so much fun and a super waitress ! Mellentine, William and Daniel at Aqua Terra were exceptional ! Renee at the Sunset Grille was sweet and very attentive. Everyone made us feel welcome and at home.

The service from the maids to the General Manager Jean-Paul Nel was truly exceptional ! We hope to come back next year. This our new favorite vacation spot. We all wanted to stay longer !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Love_Vacations_LK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you so much for making Frenchman’s Reef your favorite Caribbean destination. I can’t wait to share your generous review with Jean-Paul and the rest of the team! Your ‘once in a lifetime’ adventures sound downright awesome! Before your next journey, call ahead so we can welcome you back as returning guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed in the beginning of April 2014, the resort grounds were beautiful! Great view of Charlotte Amalie harbor! The Morningstar Beach is a nice, clean beach. Our room was unfortunately not an ocean view, but we still had a great view of the pretty St. Thomas hillsides. Easy access to downtown via the ferry boat. The restaurants were pricey, but the food was good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Megan_Boris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for giving us your thumbs up! Spring is a wonderful time to visit. We were delighted to have you as our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
4.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
8.9 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
5.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Property: Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, the Frenchman's Reef Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. The hotel features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50"TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing