We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Bad Hotel Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 June 2014

As a long time Marriott customer, I could not have been more disappointed in the facilities and service here. The 2 rooms we had in Morning Star (5 of us in all) were old and loud (due to the air conditioners). Room service took forever each day (one evening it took 2 1/2 hours). Service was so bad it prompted us to request from our travel agent a potential change in facilities. Unfortunately, we decided to stay on the property since we only had a total of 4 days to spend on the island and a full itinerary of off-site activities. With so many issues at the hotel, the manager gave us a $200 credit on the rooms. But, after settling the bill and getting the account credited I went back to our rooms to get our bags. When I returned, my daughter showed me the breakfast cereal box that room service had delivered while I was in the lobby….the single serving cereal had a hole bored through it and was completely empty except for the mice droppings left behind…they delivered a completely empty box of cereal with mice droppings in them…. Again, I immediately called the manager who sent housekeeping up to inspect and they too were in disbelief but made no effort to correct or even apologize. While we are in discussion with our travel agent on the situation in total (as we had to run for a plane and had no additional time to argue with or complain to the hotel management), I would never return to this property nor recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: If you go, don't stay in the Morning Star portion of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cory E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. Your review is disconcerting and we are interested in understanding more about the service issues you encountered. We would welcome the opportunity to be in direct contact with you and can be reached at sttfrexperienceteam@marriotthotels.com. We hope for a second chance to win your loyalty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,736 - 2,742 of 4,425 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Marriott is located on a nice beach and is close to Charlotte Amelie. They have 2 nice pools with bars close by. The restaurants on the property are a little overpriced. The rooms are
comfortable with the mini bar, flat screen tv, desk and sitting chair. We had a corner room with a city and ocean view where we enjoyed watching the sunsets.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramadama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

There is no doubt our location is ideal, Morning Star Beach is delightful and our views amazing! Thank you for bringing attention to these points of interest. We actually have three pool areas on property. Up at Frenchman’s Reef we have our infinity pool and the adjacent pool bar pool. Also, there is a pool that is for guests of the Lazule Spa. The third pool is down at Morning Star Beach Resort and is only a few steps from the Caribbean. For anyone planning travel, please feel free to give our pre-arrival team a call if you would like to inquire further about our on-site amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at Frenchman's Reef and we enjoyed it very much. Our room was one of the cheaper ones, and it was very nice. The grounds are well kept, nice pools, nice beach. We did not stay on the Morning Star side so I can't speak to that. The restaurants are definitely pricey, so we went to Kmart to buy bread, jelly, fruit, cereal, etc. The staff was friendly, and we had no complaints. We would stay there again if we returned!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know you were satisfied with your room, the grounds and amenities. We especially are glad to hear you felt warmly responded to while communicating with our team. Before you do return, be sure to call ahead so we can greet you as a returning guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had a wonderful trip we just returned from. The hotel is safe, clean and very accommodating without being too pushy. No problems checking in. The shuttles to the sand bar were great. Would recommend going there for happy hour 5-7 it's lots of fun. Yoga on the below pool deck on the weekends was amazing and relaxing. Views can't be beat, had a wonderful time and would def recommend this place to friends and families. Dinner at the Havana Blue was great on our last night, get the mojito pitcher, great bang for your buck. You can also go to one of the local grocery stores (pueblo or food center) and stock your minifridge with snacks and drinks. Onsite parking was a bit trickier with no signs, but we figured it out on our second day. Only cons I can think of is that the side pool by the east of the property was kind of frat partyish with lots of hooting and hollering. But we spent most days on the beach and restaurants were great. Had an amazing trip, will def be back with the kids in tow!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

We are delighted to hear your trip was wonderful and has inspired you to recommend Frenchman’s Reef to your family and friends. We look forward to welcoming you (and your kids) here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had an exciting time on the Adventure Center's night kayak tour of the dock of Marriott's Frenchman's Reef. Our guides, Chris and Dave, were engaging and entertaining and we were able to see large fish, turtles, and stingrays. Best wildlife excursion of our visit!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MollyPZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for posting your enthusiastic review. For those planning travel down here, this tour is great. The kayaks are comfortable and have LED lights that illuminate the clear turquoise waters. This tour does fill up though so book a bit in advance of the day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

First here are the positives of this hotel. The hotel is in a gorgeous location and the views from the pool or from the ocean front views are amazing. The staff at the hotel are very friendly. This was our second trip to the property and it really is a great hotel for the most part.

The check in at the hotel was a terrible experience. I'm a Platinum Rewards member and one of my preferences is an early check in. I was reminded by the person that checked me in that while it is a preference it is not a guarantee. I didn't pitch a fit because I didn't want to cause a scene. I asked when I would be at to check in and was told 4:00. While that was frustrating I get it because they were busy. The problem was we didn't get in our room until after 4:30. I just think they should have rooms ready sooner for the folks that spend a lot of money with Marriott.

The room quality is okay. They are a little weathered and getting old but the ocean front views are just awesome.

All in all I would still recommend this Marriott. Just be prepared to wait on your room when you get there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jhobackatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

I am happy to read you found so many things to enjoy during your recent stay at Frenchman’s Reef. We never tire of hearing how our team showed warm responsiveness to guests. Your question about early check-in is a valid one. The main determining factor of check-in is the time the previous guest checks out. We make every effort to check guests into their rooms when they arrive but it is not always possible. In your case, we apologize. Based on your overall satisfaction and loyalty, we know you will return one day. Please don’t hesitate to reach out to our leadership team at sttfrexperienceteam@marriotthotels.com if we can assist you in anyway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We are frequent Marriott patrons at facilities worldwide so when we had a chance to visit Frenchmans's Reef Hotel we were hoping to see many of the same Marriott standards we have typically enjoyed elsewhere. Many of the common areas (restaurants, lounges, pool area, beach) are in fact quite beautiful at the surface. However upon closer review one will find many areas to be quite run down, in need of repair or even replacement. The commercial photographer they used for the ads should get an award for making many areas look much better than they are. Typical examples include the main ballroom which had what appeared to be mold infested ceiling tiles ( a common them in most areas of the hotel, although to their credit some areas did have new ceilings), broken stairs to the beach, closed viewing areas in need of repair and many other site issues which demonstrate a clear lack of attention to detail.

We changed rooms from the "old" wing to the "recently renovated main wing and could not see much of a difference in the rooms. Both rooms were very musty and our final room suffered from a clear lack of attention to cleaning detail. The counters still had food and cleaning residue on them, the mirror and windows were streaked, and anything that required the chamber maid to bend down seems to have gone un-cleaned. Lampshades were stained and dusty, our comforter had stains on it, and there was mold in the bathroom tiles where the grout had been chipped away. We had dirt in many corners of the room as well as cob webs in several areas. Daily room servicing was inconsistent and little things like coffee replacement were not done once during our stay. The condition of the interior halls and rooms made me keep thinking of the phrase "lipstick on a pig" as there was a clear effort to simply paint over problems such as leaks, wall damage or just plain old wear and tear. nice effort, but not good enough.

On a positive note, the staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating, the beach was amazing (there are non-see-ums but I can't blame Marriott for this), the views are incredible and the on site restaurants were all quite good with Havana Blue being exceptional. I sincerely hope Marriott makes the investment to bring the facility up to contemporary standards as the site could be stellar. Needless to say, we will be staying at the Ritz or elsewhere until we learn of new improvements to the facility.

Room Tip: Suggest you inspect your room closely before moving in your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

We are saddened to hear your stay was not all you hoped it would be. The detailed improvement suggestions you added are helpful and are being reviewed by the leadership team. We have welcomed a new General Manager to this property and are committed to improved guest satisfaction across the board. In that vein, our preventative and maintenance teams are on-site daily to ensure the quality and preservation of the property. We are auditing all procedures from the bottom to the top including service, restaurants, housekeeping and maintenance. Regarding your room cleanliness, we would like to specifically inspect that room to understand your comments first hand. If you would be so kind, please send an email to sttfrexperienceteam@marriotthotels.com and reference this review. At that time, we would welcome the opportunity to discuss any other aspects of your stay. To be sure, our site is beautiful and so convenient to many sights on St. Thomas and nearby islands. We hope to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
2.1 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
577 reviews
4.8 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
3.3 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,820 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,469 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. Our US Virgin Islands hotel in St. Thomas features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50" TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Kognitiv US Corp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing