We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing Wrong With Staying Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nothing Wrong With Staying Here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The hotel is well maintained property with a very cozy beach. Depending on who you are and what you expect, you will get good results from this hotel. If you are here on a busy weekend with some meetings then yes the checkin and checkout may take a while, but this is not really a hotel issue, it is a logistics issue of a hotel in a holiday area, you will find this problem in many hotels and many countries. The parking is adequate but you may need to walk up some steps to get to and from the lobby each time. The breakfast was good, there are fresh eggs and waffles available, your classic open buffet is available. The hotel has a nice view of the water and the pool. I recommend this hotel if you want to have a good stay and can overlook things that some picky people lose their hair over.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have access doors to the beach, it can be noisy. Try not to get a room underneath the 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aydin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your candor. Some points you mentioned are worth adding to for other travelers. First, we offer a great breakfast buffet at the Aqua Terra each morning (at Frenchman’s Reef). There are omelet and waffle stations as additional options too. Frenchman’s Reef is the portion of the hotel situated up on the hillside and offers the lofty views and infinity pools. Morning Star Beach Resort in right in the sand on the beach and is a cabana hotel style with its own pool and restaurants (most popular being Coco Joe’s). Between the two areas there is a nice walkway with several stairs and a waterfall (where our resident iguanas spend their day). You can also take the complimentary shuttle between. Feel free to call our pre-arrival team if you have any questions about your stay. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,575
    1,348
    709
    340
    191
See reviews for
1,148
1,778
80
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,552)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I visited st thomas on 02/06/14 . I was stayed in marriot frenchmans, experience was verry satisfactory. Great staff, shuttle available always, transportation prices reasonables they get you anywere on the island easy. Food prices reasonable also and food was delicious. But one of the most attractions in hotel was the view is one of the best, you can see charlotte in your balcony the view was expectacular. I am verry happy to choose this hotel for my vacations. Hope back soon.

Room Tip: Choose the villages is a quiet and. Beach knock your door. Beautifull
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcomata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We would love to welcome you back! Summer is a great time here on the island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went on the night kayak excursion booked through the Adventure Center. It was fun. Our guides, Dave, Jake, and Lauren were great. They were very informative about the island and the marine life. We saw some fishes but not a lot. Overall, it was a memorable experience.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank hli66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
This is so much fun. We are getting many compliments on this adventure. The other two most popular activities that leave right from the Marriott property are The Cat snorkel trips and the water ferry into Charlotte Amalie. It drops off right at the outdoor bazaar. We appreciate you taking the time to post!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel was really nice, family and kids friendly (we travel with 2 small children). The crib was placed in the room as we requested. I would definitely recommend the room with the view:) we send every morning and every late night on the balcony. The restaurants are ok and the prices are high. The best place is Havana Blue - upscale restaurant with a beautiful view on the ocean:))) Delicious food and very nice presentations.

The only thing I did not like: the hotel doesn't have a babysitting service/ or good recommendations.

Room Tip: get the room with a view on the high floor, on the south side: 3rd or 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mon2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
It is with pleasure that I read your review. We know that families with small children have specific needs and are pleased that our team succeeded in providing a comfortable experience. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Trip was booked thru Expedia (don't use), was told it was all -inclusive, checked in at hotel and verified with desk it was all-inclusive, given package, explained procedure. Checked out 7 days later and given a huge bill for food and drinks, tried to speak to someone, young lady at desk completely ignored us. Finally found a manager, who tried to assist, we had a plane to catch and he took our number and did get back to us. He would not own up to the fact that Marriot made a mistake and did not tell us from the time we checked in until check out that it was not all-inclusive, we would have made other arrangements for meals in town. Very limited on restaurants and not a big selection on the menus and very pricey. Lobby area was very nice, pool very nice..many areas need updating. Will not stay at Marriot anymore... Many other places to stay on the island.

Room Tip: pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mena c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
This is an unfortunate experience we are sorry to hear about. We do always suggest booking direct through our website or through the Marriott link here on our TripAdvisor page. Booking direct with any resort generally ensures the most favorable reservation conditions. If there is anything further you would like to discuss directly regarding your experience, you can send our leadership team an email at sttfrexperienceteam@marriotthotels.com and reference this review. Your feedback is appreciated and we would like to welcome you back to Frenchman’s Reef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Was thrilled to have stayed at the Marriott Frenchman's Reef for first time in St. Thomas. Staff was very authentic and off-season proved to be extremely relaxing; wished we had time to stay and relax at resort more than running all over town/island. Views were spectacular!

One thing to avoid, Marriott Vacation Club timeshare deal. We were roped in by Caroline upon arrival and thought we'd humor the idea of setting up an appointment to see what options there were in St. Thomas as well as get local perspective of what else to do while at resort, in town. She was a complete train wreck...going on and on about her private life and failed relationships, only to waste 45 mins. of our time to tell us that since my travel companion and I weren't a couple and not with our 'significant other/partners' on trip, that we didn't qualify. Starting to think it was more discriminatory after my friend kept filling out her application but didn't meet minimum income requirements (even though it was an option/checkbox on form). She dramatically took the application, ripped it up, and threw the pieces up in the air. She may have been slightly intoxicated from rum she was giving out to guests earlier. We tried to find humor in the experience and glad the first 2 hours didn't tarnish rest of stay.

Pool bar and restaurant is great; especially during happy hour. Havana Blue on Morning Star Beach is very pleasant too.

Room Tip: oceanfront is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agent654L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Excellent photos! Thank you for posting these to our TripAdvisor page. While most take pictures of the infinity pool facing the Caribbean, yours is from inside the pool facing the Sunset Grill and Frenchman’s Reef. Very creative. We’re glad your stay was pleasant and you found the team here authentic. Please forgive the strange interaction with the Vacation Club member; this is not the image we are known for. We appreciate your feedback details for that and hope for the chance to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiansted, St. Croix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I am a frequent traveller to St. Thomas for work and I stay at Frenchman's Reef Marriott Resort. My trip is usually great! The staff is always friendly and helpful. The property is beautiful and I wish I was not travelling on business so that I could get to enjoy more of the resort and its amenities. When I get to my room after work I am usually very tired and just order room service because its easier for me. One particular night I ordered a grilled cheese sandwich and fries. They told me that it would take 45 minutes or less. 45 minutes came and went, I called back and they told me that my order was on its way, another 15 minutes came and went and my order still didn't arrive. At this time I was very frustrated and extremely HUNGRY! None the less my order arrived and hour and 15 minutes later!! The next knock on my door was from room service again apologizing for the inconvenience and they brought me a bottle of wine and Haagen-Dazs ice cream!! I want to say thank you to Rashawn at the front desk for going above and beyond and saving my day or night rather! That was a great gesture and I appreciate him for recognizing the opportunity to satisfy a disgruntled guest!! Way to go Rashawn!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Whether for business or pleasure, we want to make certain that your needs are taken care of. I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to recognize Rashwan at the front desk for his stellar customer service. You are a valuable guest and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort. Don’t hesitate to let me know if you need assistance at any point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
4.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
5.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
4.1 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Property: Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, the Frenchman's Reef Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. The hotel features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50"TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing