We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“need more staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

more staff is needed the staff that is there does a wonderful job but more help is needed! this is a big deal because not enough staff leads to bad service which overshadows the few staff members who are overworked & doing a good job of which one can count as 7!!!! Julia,Rennette,Yolanda,Myrtle,Patricia,Emma & jacquiline I can only hope that management acknowledges the work they do THANK U AGAIN LADIES MICHAEL!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: rooms with large jacuzzi are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thankfull2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for your acknowledgement of the staff members you recognized as outstanding! Our leadership team will be sure to point them out individually. Your review and suggestions are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,555
    1,334
    699
    332
    185
See reviews for
1,124
1,757
79
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,533)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Um... there really isn't any words to describe the service here at the Marriott Reef. There's bad, then there is this. We are literally still here at the hotel considering whether to change hotels or just rough it here with the totally incompetent staff.

Everyone is nice, but its so bad that even the local taxi drivers tell you to eat offsite because its take 1 hour for a set of chicken fingers for the kids, don't even worry about the adults, we'll just starve. Ultimately is pretty sad to pay all this money to get down to this beautiful island with all this amazing potential to be a great trip and just get disappointed at every meal, breakfast, lunch and dinner. The tension is so thick with the other guests that you can literally cut it with a knife. Hopefully it will be clean knife because they only give you 1 napkin for the whole table. No joke, but I know it sounds funny. so so sad, really no words. This place is doomed to fail, mark my words. I don't know if its fixable because I feel like its so obvious that better management is needed that how has anyone not sent someone down here yet to fix this mess. If anyone is listening from corporate... please help!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sheree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We appreciate your thoughts, which give us a chance to respond to your experience and turn it around for the better. Please feel free to reach out to me through the hotel if there is anything I can assist with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hotel overall was nice. It was clean and had generally polite staff. The view from our room of the harbor was amazing, particularly at night. Te pools and beach were nicely taken care of and not overly crowded. The managers reception was fun with free drinks and snacks. There were several restaurants on the property, all of which were fairly good.
The main complaints were that it was very noisy at night and it sounded like there was an animal of some sort scratching at our closet all night. Still have no idea was that was... The beds were moderately comfortable. Both my wife and I had a hard time sleeping.
The biggest issue I had was that you were nickel and dimed for everything. You would think the hotel would allow you to take a shuttle to town a mile or so away for free, but it cost quite a bit. All the food was expensive. We ate at the Presto Marketplace to find some bargains for meals ($10 cold meat sandwiches). The marketplace was particularly good for breakfast with great $3 muffins. As long as you realize you are going to be hit with daily hotel fees on top of these expenses it wont come as a shock.
Overall, it was a decent place to stay, but it wouldn't persuade me to come back to St. thomas again.

Room Tip: We loved the harbour wing, second floor with no stairs. Amazing view at night of Charlotte Amalie an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unimsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We appreciate your candor and are pleased that you were able to rate your stay at four stars. I look forward to discussing your review with our team, your satisfaction with the service to your discomfort with the strange noise in your room. All feedback is welcome and becomes part of our improvement and staff celebration strategy. We hope you will consider another visit to our beautiful island. Our pre-arrival team can assist you with exploring more dining and transportation choices for sightseeing and island excursions. Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satellite Beach
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful Resort. Plenty of fantastic excursions. We chose to ride "The Cat" - a sweet catamaran to nearby Turtle Cove.

Overall staff at the Marriott were not overly eager to please. Ms. Violet in the dining hall, however, was the best and made breakfasts perfect!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jnjewlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Congrats and thank you for your review. For those planning travel, the “Cat” is the Adventure Center’s catamaran trip that leaves from right here at the Marriott Frenchman’s Reef dock. It’s a blast for the beginners or advanced snorkelers. The guides are fantastic. You can make reservations either here in the lobby or through their website. Thanks again for your review and we’ll let Violet know she was appreciated. Hope you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
197 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at the Cove and went on the Night Kayak on June 20th, which takes off from the Reef's dock. Our guides (Chris, Suki & Dave) did a good job preparing us for the journey. We saw sting rays, tarpan, turtles, and all sorts of other sea life. My husband said this was the absolute highlight of our 7 night stay! One tip - if you get sea-sickness, you may want to prepare for that... One of my sons & I get motion sickness and weren't prepared & we actually had to come in a little earlier than the rest of the group. :( Highly recommend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank li_walk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review of the night kayaking tour! We’re happy your family loved this adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I stay at the Frenchman's Reef at least 3-4 times a year. I have to say that it is a beautiful place and the staff is the best!! My thanks to Rashawn Abraham for always helping to secure a great room and for always being so kind during registration and departure . He is one of the best. I also think highly of Sara, Fran, Joe, Danni, Karen and all of the guys and gals in the restaurants and bars. They do a great job and are very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We appreciate your compliments very much! We will share with all those mentioned especially Rashwan. Thank you for posting you great experience for all the community members here on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

The grounds were beautiful and well maintained. The views and infinity pools were spectacular. I was greeted at check-in by Rashawn. He was highly knowledgeable, efficient, courteous and provided the ultimate customer service experience. He went the extra mile to accommodate me and the numerous wishes of the Toliver-Reed wedding party.

The beaches were not overcrowded and had ample lounge chairs and umbrellas. Coco Joe's restaurant beachside location was perfect for its casual but delicious menu options. The mango BBQ sauce on the wings was delicious. The prices were reasonable. The service was excellent. Our favorite member of the CoCo Joe's staff was Yvette who was full of life and never at a loss for fun words.

My room was 3206 (2nd floor). I enjoyed the updated room (granite counters, tile floors, ocean view balcony with seating for two, hot shower, refrigerator and a safe). The bed and numerous pillows provided were comfortable. For maximum view, select a room third floor or higher.

My Aunt Betty and I had breakfast daily in Aqua Terra Restaurant. The floor to ceiling glass allowed for breath taking views. I was fond of the fresh fruit that included blue berries, black berries, strawberries, melons and pineapple. We had the pleasure of warm greetings and excellent service from Ms. Shirley H. And Janet. It was a great way to start the day, after working out in their fully equipped, 24 hour gym that includes the latest cardio and weight equipment. The individual TVs (on cardio equipment) and sanitized ear phones were an added bonus.

Blue Havana restaurant provided high-end dining complete with creative and delicious chef creations such as tostadas with shrimp, lobster and jalapeño. The surf and turf received rave reviews from several people in the wedding party.

With my Aunt Betty being a super senior citizen, we used the free shuttle back and forth between the various restaurants, beach and properties. On the shuttle, we encountered a driver (Henry) who is equipped to handle royalty. My Aunt's safety and well being was his top priority. We were impressed with his level of attention, customer first attitude and welcoming greetings. My Aunt and all who he came in contact with Henry felt like VIPs.

They have a $35/day resort fee. Generally, that annoys me. However, they offer value for their resort fee that resorts in Hawaii (for example) do not. Such as, FREE beach chairs and umbrellas, snorkeling equipment, boogie boards, parking, WiFi and more. With those perks, I was okay paying the resort fee.

I appreciated the fixed/reasonable taxi fare from airport ($8 per person+$2 per bag luggage handling) / to airport ($10 per person+ $2/bag luggage handling). The resort is approximately four miles from the airport.

Room Tip: If in the tower with six floors, select third floor or higher for maximum views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rod1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
This is just a delightful review. I enjoyed your words and will be sure to give credit to the team members personally mentioned who assisted in making your stay extra special. It’s great to hear that the warmth of our team matched the warm St. Thomas summer weather. And I agree completely, the panorama overlooking Charlotte Amalie harbor from the Aqua Terra restaurant is breath-taking. We’re so happy to hear your aunt and the rest of the wedding party here were all satisfied with your choice of accommodations at Frenchman’s Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
5.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
3.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Property: Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, the Frenchman's Reef Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. The hotel features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50"TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing