We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove(Charlotte Amalie)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Windward Passage Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mafolie Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Emerald Beach Resort(Charlotte Amalie)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Beachcomber Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,423)
Filter reviews
4,423 results
Traveller rating
1,688
1,414
758
359
204
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,688
1,414
758
359
204
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmorning starfrenchman's reefaqua terracoco joesthe main hotelharbor wingsunset grillrum barswim up baradventure centermain poolsea cliffinfinity poolnight kayakinggarden viewst thomastennis courts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,580 - 2,585 of 4,423 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

First the good things...the pools and spa were great. Also, the restaurants were nice. We went down to Coco Joe's for the buffet on Thursday night. While pricey, we thought it was well worth it. We also went down to the vacation club for a buffet Monday night which was ok at best. The daily dose of rum punch in the lobby was great after days at the beach.

Unfortunately we had some real negative experiences there as well. First, we waited over two hours for check-in. The lobby was mobbed with people and luggage, mostly from our flight in from JFK. After waiting in a long line, we were given a pager, which eventually went off and then we had to wait in line all over again, very frustrating after a long day of travel and putzing around the property waiting for the room to be ready. As a side note, when we were checking out, a woman was changing rooms and was being asked to bring all luggage back down to the lobby and was given a pager and told she would have to wait up to four hours to get her new room.

Next was the key card debacle. We had to run back up to the room to grab something before leaving for the St. John ferry. Our key didn't work, and after about five trips back down to the lobby, waiting in line each time, and waiting for the security guard to arrive, we lost about an hour. On our check out morning, my wife ran down to the shop, only to have the same situation occur. Again, after waiting in line several times, she was told that we had been blocked out of our room because they didn't have a credit card on file. They never asked us for one upon check in. Soon after, we received two harassing and unprofessional phone calls from places we had charged in the hotel demanding that we come down and settle in cash because they had no credit card on file. This whole thing made our last day very stressful and left of very bad taste for me. I spoke with a manager about my inconveniences but really did not receive any satisfactory response.

Overall, the place was nice and fun for a vacation, but the reception structure was brutal and frankly wasted a lot of time. We love being on "island time", but when we are trying to get into our room or catch a flight, the dysfunctional front desk is just not acceptable given the brand name of the resort. We would not stay here again. We'd stay on St. John anyway if we go back..

One more thing, we took the 100 bucks to go for the timeshare pitch. In hindsight, I wouldn't do it again for 1000.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank cttriplets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your positive impressions of our infinity pools, Coco Joe’s and lobby welcome punch. After reading through the rest of your review, I was glad to hear there were some things about your stay that met your expectations. On behalf of the entire team here, I would like to apologize for the front desk issues you experienced. Your frustration is understandable. We would welcome the opportunity to be in direct contact with you in order to understand how we can exceed your expectations on your next visit, and can be reached at sttfrexperienceteam@marriotthotels.com. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This property is breathtaking! It sits on the edge of a harbor with a view of downtown.. You see the cruise ships sailing by from your room.. The customer service was excellent. Ms. Antoinette
Gomez at the front desk is a great asset to your hotel.., her personalize service and professional knowledge ensuring that your stay is magnificent should not go unmentioned.. I will return to this property and it will be recommended to my friends and family!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twinkleFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

American paradise, indeed! Thank you for the recommendation to friends and family planning Caribbean travel. We are proud of our resort’s ambiance, amenities and warm service. Your personal recognition of Antoinette is appreciated and will be passed on. We sincerely enjoyed having you as our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We just got back from a week's stay at the Marriot Frenchman's Reef. We took our three teenagers. We couldn't be happier with the property. (And know that I'm fussy) The view of the harbor is breathtaking. The rooms (we had two) were spacious and updated. Fresh water bottles were provided each morning for our rooms and another nice touch was the fruit flavored water coolers that were poolside and in the lobby. There was live steel drum music each night while watching the sunset over the harbor. Each restaurant and pool has a spectacular view. We always walked to the beach...it was a quick 3 minute walk. There's a shuttle if you don't feel like getting a quick but effective leg work out on the way up. The gym has plenty of equipment if you can peal yourself away from enjoying the pools/beach. The breakfast buffet was plentiful. The entire staff was pleasant and happy to accommodate our wishes. My kids LOVED the hour- long jet ski tour. It's pricey but they said it was worth every penny. The kayaks were a nice amenity and also the beach floats were fun to relax on in the water. We took a taxi from the airport (because of all the luggage) and then rented a small car for four days....took a day trip to St. John and went snorkeling at Trunk Bay--a must do! Make sure you go early so you can also take advantage of walking around Cruz Bay. (make sure that your rental car can go on the ferry) We wouldn't want to stay anywhere else on the island. Truly Marriot has the best views--so many vantage points. We enjoyed them all.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Harbor View Wing...it was a little further than the main building but we didn't mind....we always had the view of the harbor to look at as we walked to our rooms. And our rooms had balconies--with stunning views. We loved seeing the cruise ships dock in the morning and then leave in the evening.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank cahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Such a lovely review! I enjoyed reading it and am happy your family took advantage of all the amenities Frenchman’s Reef and Morning Star has to offer. The island adventures you went on are perfect choices as well. For those planning a visit that may be reading this review, we invite you to call ahead to our Adventure Center if you would like information on any of the activities this reviewer mentioned. We would be happy to answer any of your questions. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This has been our yearly 7/23/14--7/28/14 (Anniversary) get away resort for the last five years. Again as aways, we had a great time with special thanks to Juandella who got us a special room (5526) because the one we usually stay in was booked. The breakfast buffet can not have more items to chose from, the service from the gals working Agua Terra was excellent. The property is aways clean and well manicured. The only thing I would love them to check on is the room A/C. It appears to turn off at certain times during the night causing the rooms to get warm even though the thermostat was at 65*. If you want the beautiful beach, awesome view and service and great food, you must stay at the Marriott FR/MS. Also don't forget to visit the Cove.............Again, Thank You Juandella. See you next year or sooner.

Room Tip: Stay at Morning Star Beach grounds and get an ocean front room.......You will love the view. A lower floor is great for kids, no stairs and a higher floor with stairs for the extra special view. If an ocean front view is out of your budget, still stay on Morning Star and get the garden view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ada_Geo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Great photos of Morning Star Beach! Thank you for staying with us again and complimenting the Aqua Terra breakfast, property cleanliness, grounds keeping and our famous views. We appreciate you taking the time to share your joy with the online community and our future guests. When you do return, please call ahead so we can greet you properly as a returning guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Did not get the room we reserved even though we used a travel agent. We reserved a King Suite and ended up in a double at Morning Star. My son was on a knee walker recovering from foot surgery and that is why we reserved room in the tower. The front desk told me he would be able to mange the walk to the amenities - thank goodness there was a shuttle as there is no way he could have made the trip. The prices in the restaurants are crazy! For a family of 4 each meal was over $120 - and that was for nothing extravagant! To leave the property for a meal it cost us $92 in cab fare ($24 each). They do offer a water taxi for $ 12 but it stops before dinner at 5pm!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LSCinOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for your candid comments. They are helpful in assisting us with our improvement efforts, specifically with our front desk service. I apologize for any frustration you or family members experienced as our guest. If you would like to discuss any aspects of your stay further, please feel free to send our leadership team an email to sttfrexperienceteam@marriotthotels.com and reference this review. Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews