We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to a natural disaster.

“The attention is NOT in the details!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Satisfactory hotel. Quite expensive with $11 small rum punches. Many happy hours 2 for 1 but not all drinks included. Pricey buffets, $55 and $65 served outside, therefore flys galore! $4 coffee in the am and wasn't very good. A few staff members were outstanding but most could use a customer service class. Although we were told we would have a kitchenette, our room had no microwave. We repeatedly requested one and were always met with I'm going to follow up on that leaving us hopeful we'd get one. No one ever got back to us, we did not get a microwave and would have preferred being told it wasn't available. The in room ice maker is a bonus and much appreciated. The whole place needs a good pressure washing. In fact, they could hire someone just to do that one end to the other repeatedly. The beach has a lot of cigarette butts on it and a nightly sand sweep would really help, maybe when the pressure washer person finished the floors once week? Someone with a broom could take care of the beach stairs, just these small things would make a huge difference. It's a gorgeous site and for the prices charged, i expect a little more service. We stayed in the beach cottages, quite comfortable and nice but the bathroom floors disgusting.

Room Tip: The beach cottages are a walk away from the main hotel and quite private with COCO Joes right on the...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank MfromLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for your review. Your observations are a valuable source for improvement direction. While several of your suggestions are already in place such as daily cleaning of the beach and stairs, we appreciate you bringing these to our immediate attention. Please feel free to reach out to our leadership team at sttfrexperienceteam@marriotthotels.com if there is anything further you would like to share. Each month our ratings here on TripAdvisor are higher than the last. The reason is that we are very serious about our commitment to making the guest experience better and better. We hope that you will consider staying again and look forward to hearing from you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,416)
There are newer reviews for Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,566 - 2,572 of 4,416 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

My 1st visit to St. Thomas did not start out too well upon arriving at our room in the Morning Star Beach Resort. The room was no where near Marriott standards. It had a foul odor, the toilet seat was stained, the door had holes and stains (we were told there was suppose to be a mirror on the door). We were moved into the room next door where we thought would be better, but we woke up with no running water, the air conditioning unit runs so loud it was hard to sleep, the rooms look like they are stuck in the 80', blah blah blah. I will say the staff was accommodating in moving us yet once again into the main building, the Marriott Frenchman's Reef. This room was more of the Marriott standards I am use to. The remaining six days of my stay were better. I think if they remodel the rooms and bring them up to date, it can be a wonderful place.

Room Tip: Request stay in the main building; Frenchman's Reef
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mella40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry for the disappointing experience at Morning Star and relieved to hear your room at Frenchman’s Reef was more to your taste. In that area of the resort, we completed renovations including most rooms at, the lobby and Rum Bar, the Lazuli Spa, the infinity pools and the restaurants. Before your next St. Thomas vacation, don’t hesitate to contact our experience team at sttfrexperienceteam@marriotthotels.com. I would like to make sure our leadership team manages your room assignment in a more personalized way. We have something to please everyone here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My wife and I and our two 20 something daughters just spent the week of July 14th in the Seacliff section of Frenchman's Reef in St Thomas. After reading some of the reviews, I was a little concerned about the property and it just goes to show you that everybody has an opinion.
My opinion, after traveling across the Caribbean for over 40 years, is that this is a nice property in a spectacular setting with friendly people and the food is good to great. Yes it is pricey, but when you are on an island and everything is flown in, that is to be expected. Yes the pace is slow but you are on island time, so slow down and enjoy. The coverage for smart phones is a challenge so plan to take a break from that too.
We only left the property twice, once to shop downtown ( check the cruise line schedules before you head down) and to zip line at Tree Limin' Extreme. Six stations and two rope bridges with the best views from atop St Peter's mountain and overlooking one of the most beautiful spots in the world, Magen's Bay. The guides are all nuts and a lot of fun!
So if you want awesome scenery, good food, great accommodations, great weather and friendly people (Antionette has been at the front desk for 26 years and can make things happen) then the Marriott Frenchman's Reef is for you. If not, go to Disney World and play it safe.

Room Tip: All of the Seacliff rooms are ocean front and more private. They look down over the beach and CoCo J...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for your favorable review! We sincerely appreciate your seasoned comments including your suggestions for travelers planning a visit. Antoinette is an asset to our team and will be recognized for providing memorable service. We’re delighted to hear your family enjoyed your visit to St. Thomas and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The location of this place is straight up perfect. The views are amazing and the layout is great. At night you look out and see the beautiful lights of Charlotte Amalie. The pools are very nice and the Morningstar beach at the resort is awesome. We stayed in the Harbor Wing, the view of the harbor from the balcony was super cool, and I would say the room was good but not great.

Cons: Upon arriving in our room, the toilet was dirty (they came and cleaned it quickly), they didn't have conditioner on the counter (only the first day), to get to our room you had to carry your luggage down two flights of stairs. Going in the pool at night we saw some empty cups around the main pool (if you have a 24/7 pool you have to clean up at night too). On the harbor wing there is also some unsightly things like rusted railings. Check-in took forever.

All in all it is a beautiful resort, I would say it's a good 4 star resort, you can't beat the location. If you can look past minor stuff, the place is beautiful and the views are true perfection. I would recommend this resort without a doubt.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank an18fitch92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Wonderful review! Our location is perfect for those that want to be close to shopping, restaurants, the airport and at the same time feel the relaxing comfort of having all needed amenities in one place. We look to these reviews in our ongoing effort to improve our service. In that vein, your compliments and suggestions are invaluable to our leadership team. We hope your travels bring you back again to our beautiful island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Yesterday, we had a beautiful adventure to Turtle Cove to swim with the turtles, many types of fish and see some coral. It was so convenient to book right here at the resort at The Adventure Center and the catamaran left from right here at the Marriott as well! The crew were awesome too! Kudos to Captain Joe, Callie, Sarah and Lindsey!! Thanks for making more great memories of our stay here in St. Thomas

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eaherber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Excellent photo of The Bad Kitty! Thank you for letting us know this tour was convenient, well guided and beautiful!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We moved from the Ritz to Frenchman's Reef half way through our vacation. (the Ritz was awesome we had planned the move) This hotel is near the main shopping area. We took a water taxi into town, $7 for a one way trip. We normally stayed in town late so it is easy to grab a cab back to the hotel, the cab cost between $5 and $10 depending on how many people. The rooms at the Frenchman's Reef was fine, but the pools are awesome. The hotel sits on a cliff so the views are amazing. Staff were friendly and we had no issues. If you like the beach you can take a free shuttle (2 min) over to the Morning Star which is the other property in the complex.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor (8th) which was nice it had a balcony and a vaulted ceiling
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Arran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for bringing your family to Frenchman’s Reef! I am glad your experience was a positive one and we were able to provide an experience equal to the Ritz. If another vacation brings you to St. Thomas, we hope you will enjoy our resort again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

First the good things...the pools and spa were great. Also, the restaurants were nice. We went down to Coco Joe's for the buffet on Thursday night. While pricey, we thought it was well worth it. We also went down to the vacation club for a buffet Monday night which was ok at best. The daily dose of rum punch in the lobby was great after days at the beach.

Unfortunately we had some real negative experiences there as well. First, we waited over two hours for check-in. The lobby was mobbed with people and luggage, mostly from our flight in from JFK. After waiting in a long line, we were given a pager, which eventually went off and then we had to wait in line all over again, very frustrating after a long day of travel and putzing around the property waiting for the room to be ready. As a side note, when we were checking out, a woman was changing rooms and was being asked to bring all luggage back down to the lobby and was given a pager and told she would have to wait up to four hours to get her new room.

Next was the key card debacle. We had to run back up to the room to grab something before leaving for the St. John ferry. Our key didn't work, and after about five trips back down to the lobby, waiting in line each time, and waiting for the security guard to arrive, we lost about an hour. On our check out morning, my wife ran down to the shop, only to have the same situation occur. Again, after waiting in line several times, she was told that we had been blocked out of our room because they didn't have a credit card on file. They never asked us for one upon check in. Soon after, we received two harassing and unprofessional phone calls from places we had charged in the hotel demanding that we come down and settle in cash because they had no credit card on file. This whole thing made our last day very stressful and left of very bad taste for me. I spoke with a manager about my inconveniences but really did not receive any satisfactory response.

Overall, the place was nice and fun for a vacation, but the reception structure was brutal and frankly wasted a lot of time. We love being on "island time", but when we are trying to get into our room or catch a flight, the dysfunctional front desk is just not acceptable given the brand name of the resort. We would not stay here again. We'd stay on St. John anyway if we go back..

One more thing, we took the 100 bucks to go for the timeshare pitch. In hindsight, I wouldn't do it again for 1000.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank cttriplets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your positive impressions of our infinity pools, Coco Joe’s and lobby welcome punch. After reading through the rest of your review, I was glad to hear there were some things about your stay that met your expectations. On behalf of the entire team here, I would like to apologize for the front desk issues you experienced. Your frustration is understandable. We would welcome the opportunity to be in direct contact with you in order to understand how we can exceed your expectations on your next visit, and can be reached at sttfrexperienceteam@marriotthotels.com. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
4.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
5.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
4.1 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,812 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Price Range: £194 - £443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, the Frenchman's Reef Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. The hotel features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50" TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing