We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in St Thomas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Staten Island, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in St Thomas”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The location is wonderful. It is a large place so there are many different pools and beaches. The cove, a beach that is part of the hotel and well maintained, had a great beach to snorkel. We saw manta rays, turtles, cuttle fish etc., while we swam. The pools had fantastic views and were really clean and crystal clear with constant maintenance in the background to keep it so. Staff members handled what they could with a smile. The beds were large and comfortable. The rooms were clean and kept clean everyday. Soap / shampoo / towels were plentiful and the pool towels were large and comfortable. We did not use the restaurants but we heard people commenting on how nice they were. If you want to buy your own food there are 2 supermarkets 5 minutes away.

The only negative is that the room was not ready on time as they had a lot of checkouts and our room was delayed. However to compensate they gave 100.00 credit towards the SPA, so I think they did a great job handling that

All in all the next time we go to ST Thomas, this will be the spot we look to stay at again.

Room Tip: We took what they gave us and had no problems we were facing the entrance and the ocean view was pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nkatlowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
I am pleased we were able to provide a hospitality experience you would like to repeat on a future visit. We thank you for taking the time to share your positive impressions with the TripAdvisor community. Keep an eye here on our listing page for specials and added values!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,671
    1,408
    750
    356
    203
See reviews for
1,237
1,863
82
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,615)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My husband and I were celebrating our 1st anniversary and I called it our real honeymoon. We got to the hotel around 1:30 and got in the Elite line. We encountered Taiesha Skelton, who immediately said "oh you are celebrating your anniversary." I proceeded to tell her about the hotel for our honeymoon and how I was calling the trip our real honeymoon. She excused herself for a minute came back and gave us a room upgrade, it was a beautiful suite. We were so thrilled. Later that night my husband won $100 resort credit at the Managers reception. This was the start of our great trip.

Being from Boston we didn't find the prices for food at the restaurants extreme. You are paying for a convenience of being on a resort. If you don't have a car it's $6 per person to get into town. The breakfast buffet is a great deal. We made it our breakfast and lunch. The lobster buffet at Coco Joe's was not worth the money. The prime rib was fatty and most of the food was covered in oil. Take advantage of happy hour.

While we were there we spent a couple days at the pool relaxing. I know it was off season but we were shocked that there were plenty of seats. There are actually two beaches that you can go to - Morningstar and the Cove. Morningstar has waves and you can take advantage of paddle boards, kayaks and snorkel equipment. We took snorkel equipment and went over to the Cove.

We booked a few trips through adventure center before we arrived. We also gave ourselves alternative days incase of bad weather. Night kayaking - don't do it - there are too many people. BVI trip is a must - we went on Stormy Petrol. The one thing we kind of regret doing is the day tour of the island. The woman didn't tell us as much as we wanted to know about the island. Basically she drove us around to different spots for a view of the island. It drops you off downtown for shopping. We wish we had spent the $100 to hire a driver to take us to one or two spots around the island.

Getting cabs from the hotel is very easy. We never waited more than a minute or two.

Make sure you are down by the pool at sunset to watch the cruise ships set sail. It really is beautiful.

The service was wonderful throughout the resort. Be patient as you are on island time.

My husband and I just got home and are already talking about going back. We are so relaxed. As I said before thank you Taiesha for making our trip one we will always remember.

Tips: Pack snacks - it's difficult to get to the grocery store without a car and the store in the resort is expensive.
As other people have said bring your own alcohol, it is expensive at the resort. We saw plenty of people with coolers. Just make sure you bring cans and not bottles to the pool and beach.
If you have more than two people you might want to rent a car. Cabs do get expensive.
Ask people at the pool etc. for recommendations for restaurants and things to do. We got some great suggestions including Uncle Joe's in St. John

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Naomi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Fantastic! Happy Anniversary and Honeymoon! Thank you for leaving this lovely review of your time here. It is not only helpful, but an enjoyable read. Please know Taiesha will receive recognition for helping you make the memories of a lifetime. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

With downtown St. Thomas in the background and the cruise ships cruising by, the views are simply amazing. Great restaurants, drinks, bars and overall worth every penny spent. Highly recommend. If you need to venture away from the hotel, it may be better to rent a car since it costs between $7-$10 per person to take a taxi or a water ferry.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JagrutiJoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We know there are several choices of hotels on the island and thank you for choosing and recommending Frenchman’s Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort. For the plethora of amenities, restaurants, activities, room styles and service, we feel the resort offers the best value in the Virgin Islands. For anyone planning travel, we invite you to call our pre-arrival team to explore all your vacation options. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Day1. Uneventful flight in. The airport is under reconstruction, so don't come in with an attitude complaining about the dust and only having one baggage carousel. Unless you make other arrangements, be prepared to be crammed into a passenger van with 11 other people and your luggage. Taxi driver "Big Steve" will drive you to your destination, do not expect any colorful commentary on the way.
At the Frenchman's Reef: the check in line was long with everyone coming in at the same time, but moved relatively smoothly. The free rum punch and chocolate chip cookies helped you not care so much.
At reception, had the fortune to be greeted by O'Rhys. She was delightful, informative, and did her best to make sure we understood the all-inclusive package we purchased. She understood that an unobstructed view of the water was very important to me. She assured me that I had a view of the bay and Atlantic. She then handed us off to Kendall the bellman.
Kendall had information that O'Rhys did not. Although I would have the view she described, he knew that the room also overlooked the parking lot. (Not conducive to my image of paradise). During this conversation, the manager, Taiesha, walked by and got involved. After doing her computer magic, she instructed Kendall to take us room shopping. We viewed the original suite, a standard ocean front room (I prefer a separate living and sleeping space), then a 2 level ocean front suite. I chose the 2 level suite of course, although it would not be available until the next day. We settled in the original suite for the night.
I am a yogi and big walker. Again, Kendall heard what I was saying. Prior to dinner, he took us on a tour of the property so I could get a lay of the land and map out a walking course for myself and he took us to the gym to show me where I could do my yoga practice if I chose.

We attended the managers reception/meet greet. We even won free round trip shopping ferry tickets ( a $56 value). Dinner was great, listening to the steel drum guy and having a drink out on the terrace overlooking the bay was a great start to this vacation.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ppadgett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for telling us the story of your check-in experience. I am delighted to hear we were able to accommodate your room preferences, giving you the feeling you were being heard and welcomed. We will share your review and give a nod of recognition to O’Rhys, Kendall and Taisha for working towards exceeding your expectations. We hope the rest of your stay was equally as successful and you are inspired to return! Thank you again for the review and lovely photo of the harbor. For those planning travel, this is the famous view that will greet you each day as you dine at Aqua Terra Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Had such a great stay this past week! The resort was amazing and the staff were a great help. Corey from Recreation Department went above and beyond to truly make our stay a memorable one. If you want to venture out there and see how beautiful St. Thomas is just ask Corey what to do and where to go, he knows his stuff!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdavis11587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We are lucky to have gentleman like Corey as part of our team. When we hire new talent, we always seek the quality of caring. He is a great example of this. Thank you very much for leaving this review and you can be sure he will get a nod from the leadership team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparks, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Very nice hotel, clean and nice beach and pools. Only draw back for me. The room smell like urine. Ask for a different room and it would be 75 dollars more a night after already paying over 200 a night. So we just got use to the smell. That being said the hotel was very nice. We didn't stay in the room much anyway. Maid service was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamonv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for leaving your review. We appreciate you pointing out the beauty and cleanliness of the hotel and your enjoyment of the pools/beach. Sounds like your stay was very satisfying! That being said, we are hoping to be in direct contact with you in order to make immediate housekeeping corrections to the room you stayed in. If you would be so kind to help, please send an email to attfrexperienceteam@marriotthotels.com with the best way to contact you and reference this review. At that time, we welcome the opportunity to listen to any other comments, concerns and compliments with regards to your experience here. Thank you again for choosing Frenchman’s Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My husband and I went here for one week in early August. He is Marriott Platiinum and stays in Marriott's all the time. And we always have a wonderful stay with great service consistently across the board. But this hotel was not the case at all. While we did encounter one or two friendly people, 90% of the time the service was terrible. Here are a few examples: When we checked in, the person lied to us about the availability of beachfront rooms and we had to wait an hour for our room to be ready. Our platinum welcome gift was a bag of chips that room service just tossed on the counter. Room service also wanted to charge us $3 just to bring some silverware and glasses to the room (no thanks). The drivers of their shuttles made all of us passengers wait for 5 extra minutes for a Marriott staff member to get on the shuttle (shuttles run every 10 minutes). Also, they say they will call a cab for you-but never do. The sheets on the bed weren't changed one day when we had asked that they be and they never put small hand towels or wash cloths in the room after the first night. The Wi-Fi didn't work in the room-EVER, except for our last day. And as part of the room cost you pay a resort fee of $35 a night which covers this supposed "Wi-Fi." We had breakfast one day and ordered an omelet vegetarian and it came out with meat. The server was not to be found for almost 20 minutes and finally we sent it back with the busboy. So only one of us ate. And on our last day we called the front desk to ask for a bellboy be sent up for the luggage 30 minutes early since we had a flight to catch. After waiting those 30 minutes, we called again and the woman on the phone said she had called the bellboys before and no one answered, and then she forgot to call again! It was just not ok! This is a Marriott, the service should be consistent!!

We spoke to several different managers about our problems and they comped breakfast and offered us some solutions to the lack of Wi-Fi and sent us a bottle of champagne. But I think the overall problem is that the service mentality in the VI is just not there. And especially considering how insanely high the cost of food or drinks are at the resort it just wasn't worth it considering the lack of service. We ended up going to the Pueblo to pick up bagels, cereal, tortillas, cheese, meat and booze and spent way less than if we ate on the property all day. (One bottle of rum is $9 at the Pueblo, average drink at the pool bar is $12) Also, there is a Domino's Pizza that delivers to the hotel, so if you get sick of Aqua Terra and want a cheaper option one night, go with that.

On the plus side-we did win a free bottle of rum at their weekly Manager cocktail reception (Wednesdays at 5pm). And the beach was beautiful-even after the Tropical Storm, they cleaned it up. We stayed in the Morning Star the whole time and then moved to the Reef the last night-the beach was nice because you could hear the waves and walk five steps to the beach every day, but the rooms in the Reef were much nicer and updated. In my opinion, just go to St. John or the BVI!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachesandBrunello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We are disheartened to read your review. I'd like to apologize on behalf of our staff for any inconveniences you encountered while with us. It is disappointing that your experience did not reflect our usual warm, responsive service. It is constructive feedback, such as yours, that really help us get a clear perspective of the areas we need to improve. We are grateful for the level of detail you provided to that end including how these were resolved with the management team. I also personally appreciate you sharing your ‘plus side’ highlighting enjoyment of the beach and your room at Frenchman’s Reef. We hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
2.0 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
570 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
4.1 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,793 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Property: Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, the Frenchman's Reef Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. The hotel features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50" TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing