We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bluebeard's Castle Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bluebeard's Castle Resort
Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed in room 136 in Wing 1, with excellent views of the city and harbor. Room was huge with a King bed, nice kitchen arrangement and plenty of room to relax. All the staff were exceptionally friendly, and the room was very clean and well prepared with towels, since they offer only limited housekeeping. The entry to the room was a bit dodgy, lots of stairs and rather dark hallway after sunset, but the room was great. Will be returning again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sailingfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Sailingfun,

We appreciate you taking the time to post a thoughtful review of your experience here at Bluebeard's Castle.

I agree the location of the Castle gives the most outstanding Harbor Views from any resort on the Island.

Thank you so much for recognizing the efforts of our team....We all appreciate it!

We are in the process of adding additional lighting to the property so when you return your way will be "bright".

Please return soon.

Thank you,

Steve Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    296
    140
    50
    35
See reviews for
146
335
42
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Amazing views from every place you stand in the hotel! Great people, quiet, loved the room!!! Downside wifi is with a different company its a process to get connected and its not free ...but i would definetly go back !

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Magali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Magali M,

How wonderful that you took the time to share your kind words with us!

We will continue to work on making WiFi more user/guest friendly. As you noted it is not our system but an outside contractor. BUT we want it to be a non-issue for our guests and owners.

Please come back soon!

Thank you

Steve Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We went to Blue Beards with a time share deal- we paid $200 for the certificate- $240 upcharge and $84 for Electric- totally worth it for a large 1 bedroom condo- 2 baths- 2 balconies- the sofa bed could have been more comfy but it was fine for my son-the view is amazing- we thought the roosters were really cute- I would agree that most of the ppl here are not as nice as say- JAMACIA- the walk down is scary only because of the cars riding close and no sidewalks and you really have to take a cab almost anywhere on the island from anywhere on the island-which is a bummer because they charge PER PERSON rather than per trip and we spend over $350 in cabs and only used them 1x per day max and to and from the airport- so this would be my biggest tip to anyone- plan at least $300 for cabs!!!!! they add $60 on to any trip easy- plus tips!
The pool was fine- they could do a lot more with it and the pool bar-service very average except at ROOM WITH A VIEW where it was great and they have a GREAT HAPPY HOUR! Make sure to do K-9 Joe's day tour- he only goes out of BLUEBEARDS and is also a taxi driver and is the BEST!!!!!!!!! THE day sail is also a great deal(sign up on line in advance and save $20 a head) on New Horizons- great snorkeling- I would skip Secret Harbor- Coral world was over $600 for 2 but was really fun doing snuba and swimming with a sea lion- the shark and turtle swims seemed like a rip off- don't do- Corki beach is TINY but they have great service- would not go again- ST JOHN is amazing- best deal(the FERRY)and make sure to visit OUR MARKET SMOOTHIES!!!! THOMAS is the BEST! I would not go back to ST THOMAS again but we had a great time! Food is VERY expensive compared to MX or Jamaica-and nothing really special- Johnny cakes are a local food and we could not find them anywhere- also- duty free is OUTSIDE THE AIRPORT- The staff is not overly friendly-they are fine but very average although Doreen was very helpful(concierge)~ Our deep sea fishing trip with Capt Alvin was also expensive($500 for 3 hours in shore) but really fun and we are glad that we did it- we caught 11 fish total- 3 MAHI MAHI's! very exciting!!!!!! The blue tents are right downtown and found they had better prices than most other small local ppl- but the big shop with the BANANA Daiquiris had some really good prices too!

Room Tip: I would try Pirates Pension and ask for a high floor but can be a pain with your suitcase
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heathery1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear heathery1213,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed the numerous activities on and around St. Thomas.

Also, glad you had a chance to enjoy Room With A View one of our two on property award winning restaurants. While K-9 Joe is not an employee of the Castle we think of him as a member of the "family".

For TripAdvisor readers Coral World does not have to cost as much as mentioned unless you do "everything" as heathery1213 did. It is truly a great place to visit even on a tight budget.

Thank you for taking the time to write!

Steve Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Bluebeard's was a great spot for our St. Thomas vacation. It is within walking distance to downtown Charlotte Amalie and the cruise ship docks. The walk back to Bluebeard's is a bit of a challenge as it's up a steep hill, but doable. The view is fantastic and the rooms, pool, lobby, grounds were all very well maintained. If you like to walk out of your room onto a beach, this isn't the place, but the pool offers the sunshine and poolside bar :) High recommendation!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lw1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear IW1021,

We appreciate you taking the time to post a thoughtful review of your experience here at Bluebeard's Castle.

I agree the location of the Castle allows for the most outstanding views!!!

While not directly on the beach we do have our gorgeous outdoor pool overlooking the cruise ships and all the activities taking place. Also getting to the beach is very easy due to our location. We have numerous beach locations within a 5-10 minute drive from the Castle.

For guest who does not have a car dependable taxi service is always available.

We look forward to your return.

Thank you

Steve Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremerton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We rented a hotel room for two weeks on the 3rd floor of a Hillside building with a nice view for a good price on the off-season. The staff and the locals were not warm and receptive throughout our stay, which was very disappointing. The inside of our room was worn but clean. The air conditioning unit had a foul musty odor. We did have fresh towels daily and cleaning service once weekly. During our stay there was a rain storm and the roof leaked through the 4th floor into our 3rd floor living area. The refrigerator was loud and then it broke. The maintanence man thought that it wasn't high on the priority list for being repaired/replaced due to the other damage that the building had incurred at that time. If we returned we would stay in the a larger and newer accomodation on the property as the price was right and the central location was helpful.

Room Tip: We would pay more to have a newer/larger accomodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mlbrooksBremerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear mlbrooksBremerton,

I am terribly sorry to learn of the troubles with your accommodations during tropical storm Gabriel.

We are only as good as the service we provide and in this case, we did live up to yours nor our expectations. I would enjoy the opportunity to discuss your visit with you directly if you are available to give me a call. I can be reached at 340-774-1600.

Thank you

Steve Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

I traveled to St Thomas for business on Sept 24, 25 & 26. Bluebeard's had the best rates, so I decided to give it a try. I have stayed in quite a few other hotels in St Thomas in the last few years, and I have seen the best and the worst.

I have to rank Bluebeard's Castle very highly. The resort property is well maintained and very clean. I had a one bedroom efficiency room with a king size bed, mini kitchen, TV, AC, etc. The bed was very comfortable, and my room was spotless. I had a nice view of St Thomas harbor from my balcony.

Bluebeard's is convenient to downtown Charlotte Amalie, and when I needed to go into town, the hotel had a cab for me in 5 minutes.

The hotel staff was very courteous and very helpful.

The hotel has 3 restaurants. The poolside bar serves breakfast and lunch. I had dinner in the restaurant "Room with a View:" The food was excellent and reasonably priced. Smitty, the bartender at the pool bar, is very attentive and makes a good drink.

For a quick business trip, Bluebeard's Castle is a great choice.

If you are a vacationer, you need to understand that this is a " timeshare condo-hotel resort", so there is no daily room service. Also, the condo units are spread around the property, so you may have to walk a bit in order to get to the pool and restaurants. Although there is a nice pool, Bluebeard's is not on a beach, so you must take a cab ride to go to the beach.

If what you want is a comfortable, clean room with good amenities on site, and the best rates on the island, then Bluebeard's is your place.

Room Tip: If you are in one of the "Hilltop" buildings, try to get a room on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank paulenewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear paulenwell,

Thank you so much for your review of Bluebeard's Castle; "If what you want is a comfortable, clean room with good amenities on site, and the best rates on the island, then Bluebeard's is your place."

We are so pleased that we were able to provide a great place for you to stay while doing business on St. Thomas.

We hope that we will see you again on your next business trip or maybe even vacation time!

Thank you

Steve Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed for a week at Bluebeard's Castle Pirate's Pension. I had a one-bedroom unit that was spacious, with a large living room, big bedroom (king bed), nice bathroom and very large deck. The unit overlooked the Havensight area of St. Thomas, so I could watch the cruise ships come in. There were also several yachts and sailboats anchored in the harbor - it was really a great view.

Other than the fact that the sliding door to the balcony was sticky, the unit was in great shape and very clean. The kitchen had plenty of equipment to cook just about anything. Clothes washer and dryer in the unit was very handy.

I did not eat in the restaurant except first and last morning breakfasts at the pool bar. Excellent omelettes. They also have a homemade hot sauce that is delectable. The bartenders at the pool bar were very friendly and nice, with good advice on where to shop for groceries (Pueblo Supermarket) and other things.

Contrary to other reviewers, I would recommend NOT renting a car. The cabs are inexpensive and they know their way around. There are very few signs on the roads, and it's so hilly that you cannot see where you're going. The roads twist all over the place. I think if I had driven I'd have spent 90% of my time totally lost. Also, I spent $150 on cabs and would have spent $450 to rent.

I'd been told that food is ridiculously expensive in St. Thomas, but the prices at the Pueblo Supermarket in Havensight were not bad at all. I bought lots of vegetables, eggs, milk, butter, some fruit, meat, rum and coke that I ate and drank all week for $80.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the Pirate's Pension rooms. They newer and they have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TamMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear TamMpls,

We appreciate you taking the time to post a thoughtful review of your experience here at Bluebeard's Castle.

I agree the location of the Castle gives the most outstanding harbor and town views from any resort on the Island.

Please come back soon!!

Thank you

Steve Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
4.8 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
1.4 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
5.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
3.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebeard's Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebeard's Castle Resort

Property: Bluebeard's Castle Resort
Address: Bluebeard's Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluebeard's Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluebeard's Castle is an historic property dating back to the 1600's. The resort occupies an entire hilltop with spectacular views overlooking the harbor and town of Charlotte Amalie. Its signature red rooftops are among the first sights for arriving cruise passengers.The resort includes a centuries-old fortress bearing the name "Bluebeard," after the infamous pirate, and check-in takes place in the former residence of the Danish governor of the island. This tropical paradise is the perfect place for a private getaway as it is set on a secluded hilltop and overlooks the harbor of St. Thomas. Bluebeard's Castle is centrally located in the most desirable part of the island with world class shopping minutes away. With only a short drive from some of the most popular beaches in the Caribbean where you can enjoy boating, scuba diving, snorkeling and windsurfing. The island itself offers a wonderful assortment of duty-free shopping, world-class restaurants (including the top-rated ROOM WITH A VIEW on location!), hot night spots, and a variety of local flavor to satisfy every taste. This resort features history, breathtaking views, and easy access to town. Beaches are literally minutes away so you can visit them all including easy ferry rides to St. John and the British Virgin Islands (Tortola and Virgin Gorda). You will see why owners at the resort are passionate about their units. It is this passion that will once again be the reason that Bluebeard's Castle will become a sought after destination resort. Many lucky RCI members will take advantage of this now! The resort is in the midst of a historic multi-million dollar remodel that will change all that you have heard. The proof is found in our regular maintenance reports as well as our news and picture sections. Also, schedules of on-resort dining are now posted in these reports. Owners are excited about what the future holds and you should be as well. Spread the word. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Bluebeard's Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebeards Castle Charlotte Amalie
Hotel Bluebeards Castle
Bluebeards Castle St Thomas
Bluebeard's Castle Resort St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing