We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Castle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bluebeard's Castle Resort
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Castle”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Good place to stay. friendly staff, older rooms but looks like updates are coming. recent works looks to improve overall stay.
REMEMBER, this is not on a beach! but then, not all of us want that either!. Shopping is great with all the stores nearby in town. You can walk to the shops but dont walk back. The hill back up is a bit much. Plus walking around after dark is NOT recommend by the locals. Same as any big town you vacation in.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    309
    148
    54
    38
See reviews for
157
355
43
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Had dinner on the terrace. Lovely view of the harbor at sunset. I recommend this highly. Steaks were very good and cooked to perfection. The waiter goofed on our dessert, brining the Flan instead of the requested crème brule. But, it was good anyway.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank buddy8304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granbury, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My sister & I go to St. Thomas every year. This year we took our grand kids ages 5; 6 & 9. Our first time at Bluebeard's. We were skeptical due to negative reviews we read. We were pleasantly surprised & glad we stayed there. Very convenient sitting on a hill overlooking Charlotte Amalia on one side and Havensight on the other. You could actually get by without a car and walk 5 minutes to the Safari Bus stop in Charlotte Amalia if you want but it is quite a steep return up the hill. We were glad we had the car. We loved the view so much that we ate out on our patio almost every night. The pool was a hit with the kids. Rooms seem fairly newly remodeled. Large comfy room with a small kitchen area and full size fridge. When we checked in they did not realize we were all together due to the last names of the reservations. They had us in different buildings. Their staff were so nice and worked hard to not only get our rooms in the same building but attached with a door between the rooms. All staff were nice, friendly and helpful. The restaurant on site "A Room With A View" was nice. Beautiful views while dining. Their special salad dressing is wonderful and I bought some to take I home. All in all we had a great & pleasant experience at Bluebeard's and would love to return.

Room Tip: Building 2 has no elevator making it difficult to get luggage & groceries up to the top level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is a nice place, it has an 8ft deep pool with a jacuzzi and bar. It also has 3 places to eat that aren't bad at all. The staff is friendly and the rooms were clean. There is a $6 per person energy fee at check in and it is too far uphill to walk (back up). Town is close and for what it is worth it looked like one of the nice places to stay.

Room Tip: Get a spot on the 2nd floor to get a good view. It will be of the mountains or the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband and I just got back for 7 nights at Bluebeard's Castle. Before we went we read all of the reviews, and because of so many negative ones, my husband had a backup plan. I am writing to let you know we tossed that idea out the window when we arrived. ALL of the staff was amazing and so kind and helpful. Our favorite were Jason and Eva at the Pool bar. They were so fun to talk to while we had breakfast or enjoyed a drink. They recommended many places to go and things to see and the greatest was dinner at The Pie Hole in French Town. If you are thinking that you are arriving at a 5 star resort, then you will be disappointed. But you didn't pay for it either. The price is very reasonable and the accommodations were very nice. If you are looking for a nice place to stay with a reasonable price, THIS IS A MUST! Take lots of cash though . . . the cabs really added up. K-9 Joe was our favorite driver.

Room Tip: We stayed in the West Wing but I would choose to stay in the Hilltop I rooms on the top floor. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jztunme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The property itself has a wonderful view and our room was clean and rather nice. The three restaurants on the property were convenient; however, the staff at both the restaurants and the resort itself were incredibly rude, and on one occasion they were potentially racist. When we first checked in, we were three hours early and on our honeymoon. We asked for an early check-in, and the individual working at the front desk told us the room would be ready by three, but it wasn't. Long story short, the room was not ready for check-in even at the normal check-in time (4 p.m.). It was after 5 p.m. until we were ready to enter the room and the staff said it was not their fault and did not comp us anything. We also witnessed a couple get seats at the Banana Tree Restaurant immediately without reservations -there were multiple open tables- and then a very well dressed African American couple asked for seating also and the restaurant management rudely turned them away because they stated there were no availabilities. In closing, this establishment has a lot of potential and is a fun place to stay if you can avoid all interaction with the un-acommodating staff, with the exception of the very helpful lady who puts together excursions. I would recommend exploring the idea of staying at the Marriott in St. Thomas if it is within your budget.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford Works, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at Bluebeard's Castle for 5 days 4 nights for our honeymoon. Before we came down here we read a lot of the reviews and they were mixed so we didn't really know what to expect, but I cant think of any complaints that we had. Everyone at the front desk was pleasant and helpful. The on-site restaurants were very good (maybe a tad pricy but you are paying for quality so we didn't mind). The room was big and very clean. I would definitely stay here again if I had the chance. P.S. - Definitely take a tour with K-9 Joe if you have the chance...he is a great man with a lot of knowledge of the island.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keriann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
4.9 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
5.5 mi away
Elysian Beach Resort
Elysian Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in East End
600 reviews
1.3 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
699 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
5.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebeard's Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebeard's Castle Resort

Property: Bluebeard's Castle Resort
Address: Bluebeard's Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluebeard's Castle Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluebeard's Castle is an historic property dating back to the 1600's. The resort occupies an entire hilltop with spectacular views overlooking the harbor and town of Charlotte Amalie. Its signature red rooftops are among the first sights for arriving cruise passengers.The resort includes a centuries-old fortress bearing the name "Bluebeard," after the infamous pirate, and check-in takes place in the former residence of the Danish governor of the island. This tropical paradise is the perfect place for a private getaway as it is set on a secluded hilltop and overlooks the harbor of St. Thomas. Bluebeard's Castle is centrally located in the most desirable part of the island with world class shopping minutes away. With only a short drive from some of the most popular beaches in the Caribbean where you can enjoy boating, scuba diving, snorkeling and windsurfing. The island itself offers a wonderful assortment of duty-free shopping, world-class restaurants (including the top-rated ROOM WITH A VIEW on location!), hot night spots, and a variety of local flavor to satisfy every taste. This resort features history, breathtaking views, and easy access to town. Beaches are literally minutes away so you can visit them all including easy ferry rides to St. John and the British Virgin Islands (Tortola and Virgin Gorda). You will see why owners at the resort are passionate about their units. It is this passion that will once again be the reason that Bluebeard's Castle will become a sought after destination resort. Many lucky RCI members will take advantage of this now! The resort is in the midst of a historic multi-million dollar remodel that will change all that you have heard. The proof is found in our regular maintenance reports as well as our news and picture sections. Also, schedules of on-resort dining are now posted in these reports. Owners are excited about what the future holds and you should be as well. Spread the word. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bluebeard's Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebeards Castle Charlotte Amalie
Hotel Bluebeards Castle
Bluebeards Castle St Thomas
Bluebeard's Castle Resort St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing