We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Charlotte
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Just returned from staying here before and after a BVI cruise. What a great find! Chris and Gail went out of their way to help us enjoy St. Thomas- recommending restaurants, lending an umbrella, setting up a taxi tour, cooking a great breakfast, making rum punch, loaning people books. What a great place. I would highly recommend, except when we want to go back. Don't take our room!

Room Tip: An inside room is an inside room! A shared bathroom is a shared bathroom! Read the fine print when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravelernc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    137
    61
    30
    37
See reviews for
36
205
55
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We only stayed a day and night but had a great time! There is a bunch of stairs but it is well worth the walk up. The hotel has a beautiful view of the city. Shops and places to eat are within walking distance. I loved the atmosphere of the hotel and the people working there were awesome! I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nightsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed one night after a week sailing in the BVI. I had read the reviews, and knew what to expect. Yes there are a lot of stairs, but it's not Mt. Everest. Our room was on the veranda level, was clean, the AC worked great, our only complaint was a lack of hot water in the shower, but having just spent a week on a sailboat with the same problem, we were used to it.
Now let's talk about Gale, what a gem she is! Great help on a resturant for dinner, transportation to the airport, and everything else. Her Rum Punch is wonderful! Breakfast was great!
Don't let the steps keep you from this neat B&B!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jake_159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Funky and Fun with Fabulous service! Ms. Gayle is a delight and made our stay at Galleon House delightful! From delivery of her famous rum punch pool side, her beautiful smile and helpful tips, to the perfect morning breakfast, we enjoyed our stay and her commitment to the guests!
We liked that the Galleon had an awesome view but was still close enough to talk in to town.
Clean room too!

Room Tip: The bay view room was worth the extra expense
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa Rene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albertslund, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I stayed at the galleon house for 3 nights With My 11 year old son and we liked the place. When you are at those beautiful Islands you Arent Much at home But when we where we couldn complain and the lady even gave us some beachtowels when we checked out. Great service.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjes74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed at the Galleon House Bed and Breakfast in Charlotte Amalie on St. Thomas in late March 2014. I found it to be the single most disappointing lodging experience I have ever had. The staff was rude and unaccommodating. There were three flights of outside stairs to get to the lobby and another three flights of stairs to get to the room. There was no staff to help with the luggage, nor was there a secure place to store that which one might not wish to carry up five or six flights of stairs. There was no parking for our car. We had to park on the street. The staff told us that walking to restaurants or off the property after dark might be dangerous.

One of the rooms that we were assigned to had no windows, the other had no working air conditioning. After complaining that the air conditioning didn't work I was moved to another room that was dirty and had no functioning lock. The room came with neither soap or shampoo. My traveling companions were finally moved to a room with a window, but were assessed an up charge for that room.

When we told the owner that we would like to cancel our reservation for the one night stay in 10 days from that date he simply refused. He told us that he had already charged our credit card and would not reverse the charge.

In a response to a previously written criticism of his property by someone else he responded that they had threatened him with a bad review. I, in fact told him that I would be writing a bad review depicting his property as the huge disappointment and terrible property that it is. I would further comment that it is clear that his only interest is in charging as much as possible for a substandard property, knowing that his guests have no recourse.

I own a hotel in California and am the past Chair of the California Lodging Industry Association. I know a little about hotel operations and am embarrassed to have the owner of the Galleon House as an industry associate, no matter how remotely.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joraddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalleonHouse, Owner at Galleon House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
This review is from the same group that wrote under the name andrew n. I have already addressed the issue of extortion in my response to that review. I would like to address the other inaccuracies in this response.

We do, in fact, have many stairs. We do not hide that fact. It is all over our reviews and website. We are proud of the historical aspect of our property and understand that it can be a limitation for some guests. We do, however, provide secure luggage storage that is only five stairs off the street level.

We do have only street parking. Again this is on our website and all booking engines and TripAdvisor.

We do have some interior rooms. Interior means there may be no window. This is what the guest booked and paid for. They wanted to upgrade to a room with a balcony overlooking the harbor.

We do not provide soap or shampoo in the rooms, or have bell service in order to keep costs down so that we may continue to be the best hotel on St Thomas in the budget price category.

Walking after dark in any big city in the world may be dangerous. We advise all our guests to use common sense when traveling anywhere after dark.

We have a 14 day cancellation policy, as do most hotels on St Thomas. This is clearly marked on all booking engines and our website. He told me he was fully aware of the cancellation policy, but didn't care. He wanted his money back.

I was never rude or unaccommodating, even when threatened by this guest. He did not tell me that my hotel was "a huge disappointment and terrible property," in fact, he complimented me on the hotel while enjoying rum punch on the verandah and said the delicious breakfast was fantastic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had booked two rooms for a before and after stay for a sailing adventure. We based the reservation on Trip Advisor recommendations. Do not stay at this hotel. First, it is on a hill above the town and there is no parking at all for the hotel...only on the street if you get lucky to find something within a few blocks. The surrounding area is quite dangerous and in fact the hotel warned us not to go even one block away at night. They have cut a back way into their "recommended" restaurant so guests "will be safe". It is at least three flights of stone stairs just to get to the "lobby" and there was no bell service or help from the hotel staff. The rooms are another three or four flights of outdoor stairs more. No elevator. We were initially shown to an "interior" room with no windows measuring about 10 feet in diameter that smelled strongly of disinfectant. After requesting a room change, we got another room but had to pay an additional charge. The air conditioner was feeble and barely worked. The AC in the other room was broken and the room was very hot. After negotiation, and after attempts at repair, we got yet another room. They had to know it was broken when we were given the room initially. The rooms were small and threadbare. Towels quite small and thin, no soap or shampoo, and no deadbolt on the doors. One of the rooms could not be locked at all. No safe in room. We were quite uncomfortable and decided not to stay there the following week. The manager was adamant that he would do nothing to help with the cancellation charge and we were at a negotiation disadvantage since we had prepaid using Priceline (no help by the way). We offered to split the difference but he refused. Clearly, he knew we had no recourse. Priceline called him but he still refused. We disliked the place so much we gave up the last night payment and stayed elsewhere. Do not ever stay here. I do not understand the positive reviews I have seen on this site. Manager was rude. Breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andrew n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalleonHouse, Owner at Galleon House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
This guest threatened me with the following "yes, I am aware of the cancellation policy, but you will refund all my money or I will CRUSH you on Tripadvisor! I will write the worst review you have ever had."
I did not give in to his extortion and this inaccurate review is the result. I'm sure savvy travelers will see the overwhelming number of excellent reviews we have and realize that some people are trying to get something for free or just can't be pleased.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.4 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
570 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
634 reviews
0.5 mi away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
4.3 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
714 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galleon House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleon House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 31 Kongens Gade | P.O. Box 6577, Charlotte Amalie 00804, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Galleon House Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galleon House is a quaint, small hotel on Government Hill in downtown Charlotte Amalie, St Thomas. Enjoy your complimentary home cooked breakfast on the verandah with gorgeous views of downtown and the harbor. We are walking distance to the ferries to St John and British Virgin Islands as well as all the bars, restaurants and fantastic shopping that St Thomas is known for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Galleon House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleon House Bed And Breakfast
Galleon House Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Galleon House St Thomas
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing