We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I ended up staying at this charming place by accident during a vacation gone awry. We ended up spending two days in St. Thomas and though it wasn't our favorite place to vacation, it certainly had its hidden charms away from the cruise-tourist-trap shops. The Galleon House was one of those charms.

Chris, the inkeeper, is really knowledgeable about how to get a less touristy experience and Gail, the manager, is just all around amazing! Talk to her about her travels and experiences, her jewelry and books or anything else in the world.

The property itself is very cool, set in the hills overlooking part of the port and the hills. It's got a really nice pool; clean, comfy rooms; a homemade, fresh breakfast, etc. It's within easy (As much as walking the hills and stairs of this island could be considered easy!) walking distance from lots of places to eat and things to see and do. I could go on. And you can't beat the price for all you get in that area.

Needless to say, if you ever find yourself in need of a good experience in St. Thomas, go check this place out.

Room Tip: They offer rooms with private baths and also public ones depending on your taste so be sure to speci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our 10 year wedding anniversary and stayed for 8 nights. My wife stayed here in November and said we had to stay here again for this trip for one simple reason...the staff! Gail who works as the manager is absolutely outstanding. I think we have fallen in love with her. Gail made our stay so special! I cannot say enough good things about her. She made us feel as though we were staying at her home and always had great suggestions for us for the day. We went places and ate at restaurants that we never would have thought to experience with out her. Chris, the innkeeper, was also very courteous. The price was very reasonable and it is centrally located. Cant wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We wanted a small hotel with the feel of the Caribbean. Small, clean, with a pool, and a great view. It's within walking distance of downtown and the Green House (favorite restaurant).
We didn't even mind the stairs (your welcome Chris).

Room Tip: Not the Ritz but clean, fresh paint and the owner cooks breakfast what more can I say.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerryandTerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 3 days. Gail was a wonderful host. Ask her about her secret painkillers. They are incredible. Nice room. View from our balcony was overlooking the entire harbor. Simple, clean, and cold AC at night. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for #104!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We used the Galleon House B&B to tie us over from a late flight in order to connect with the BVI water taxi the next day. Everyone must judge an experience based on their needs at the time, in this case our needs were satisfied. The location was interesting and the unit very basic. It was clean and the shower water was hot. We left early in the morning and missed the complementary breakfast. We had an interior rom without windows and knew that in advance.

Room Tip: I recommend selecting an room with windows if you are staying more than one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I had the great pleasure of staying at the Galleon House for 3 nights in May.
Chris was an amazing host and Gail made us feel right at home. We had a mix up in our plans for our boat out of Road Town and needed to stay an extra night, no problem for Gail, they were booked but she got us a reservation right next door at the Bunker Hill Hotel which was wonderful too. Gails rum punch was excellent and got us into vacation mode right away. We met some wonderful people there and can't wait to go back. You must check out Gail's beautiful sea glass jewelry that she makes and sells there. We were prepared for the stairs and they are not that bad, just think about what lies up them and you will be fine. The breakfast was perfect also. Thanks Chris and Gail for a great beginning and ending to our trip. John and Dianna

Room Tip: Go for the Harbor view rooms with the private balconys they are a great price. The view was amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doodlebugCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked Galleon House as our last stop after a week charter in teh BVI. We liked the cozniess of the accomodations and the historic nature of the location however we didn't love the dead and smeared mosquitoes along the walls of our room, #303.

Despite closing the window, sealing the gap along the exterior door with towels and turning off the air conditioner we still ended up with at least 5 mosquitoes in our room which was annoying and made for a fitful sleep.

Our host recommended the adjacent restaurant, Sugar Cane Grill, which was very nice. Possibly some of the best food we had on our holiday.

Overall, I wouldn't stay again but I do see the appeal for some guests - just not my cup of tea.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djrss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
2.6 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
638 reviews
5.2 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
0.4 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Midtown Guest House
Midtown Guest House
#12 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
25 reviews
0 mi away
Bunker Hill Hotel
Bunker Hill Hotel
#8 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galleon House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleon House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 31 Kongens Gade | P.O. Box 6577, Charlotte Amalie 00804, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: £52 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Galleon House Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galleon House is a quaint, small hotel on Government Hill in downtown Charlotte Amalie, St Thomas. Enjoy your complimentary home cooked breakfast on the verandah with gorgeous views of downtown and the harbor. We are walking distance to the ferries to St John and British Virgin Islands as well as all the bars, restaurants and fantastic shopping that St Thomas is known for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Galleon House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleon House Bed And Breakfast
Galleon House Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Galleon House St Thomas
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing