We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Windward Passage Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Mafolie Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)(Great Value!)
US$248
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emerald Beach Resort(Charlotte Amalie)
US$361
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort(South Coast)(Great Value!)
US$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove(Charlotte Amalie)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Island Beachcomber Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (725)
Filter reviews
725 results
Traveller rating
83
178
209
123
132
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
178
209
123
132
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
329 - 334 of 725 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed in a harbor view room on the fourth floor. The room was comfortable with great beds and clean. We treated the staff friendly and received the same back from them. This hotel is located downtown so it is very convenient to shopping, but expect the same downtown conditions you would in any city.

We loved our stay and will definitely be back to this hotel, it is comfortable and we were able to spend a fantastic week relaxing on a great island.

PS. Take the shuttle to Magens Bay it is a great deal and you can relax at one of the ten best beaches in the world.

Room Tip: If you stay on the harbor side you are near a main thoroughfare so you will hear some noise. It quiets down by 8 pm though so not much of a problem.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank C2CTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn M, Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear C2C Travels:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, and for your kind remarks. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are quite fortunate to have such a great location, within walking distance of so many fine attractions. I'm glad you took advantage of our complimentary shuttle to and from Magens Bay Beach; we are happy to offer that service.

Thank you for being our guest, we look forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I visited the Windward Passage with my family for a week, and it was not a good experience!! A sign in the reception said that maintenance work was being done from 10am to 4pm, but in reality they started the very loud work at 7am, and finished at 5pm. Not cool when you are on holiday and would like the opportunity to sleep in. On top of that, two of our rooms were located next to a generator room, that contributed to the noise throughout the night.
The staff was exceptionally unfriendly. We paid for breakfast from home, but the menu had prices on it, and unless we could each eat two full courses, they made a lot of money on us! Nobody knew what to do about it, and didn't care. The daily waitress rolled her eyes and shook her head at everything like a simple request for a refill of coffee, or cream cheese for our bagels. All in all a very bad experience!

The "gym" was a small room with two treadmills and no air-condition...

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Frederik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn M, Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Frederik N:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. All comments, both favorable and unfavorable provide valuable feedback so that we may continue to improve our quality and customer service. I regret that you were disturbed by our renovation efforts. We usually don't begin the "heavy" work until much later in the morning however, being in the direct path of an approaching tropical storm, we had to do all we could in securing the property; which involved either securing or removing the loose tile on the 2nd floor pool deck, and quickly. We were very fortunate that the storm passed to our south, but we had to be prepared for the worst; as these storm tracks can change course in an instant. There is nothing more important than the safety of our guests. We did have to utilize our emergency generators as a result of rolling power-outages after the storm, in order to sufficiently power the property for our guests' comfort.

Although we do not have a high demand for a large fitness facility, we try to provide the basics for our valued guests. In addition to the 2 treadmills in our small gym, we also provide 2 stationary bikes, sit-up chair. TV and shower. The lights and AC are motion activated, and turn on when someone enters the room.

I'm sorry you were displeased with the service in our dining room. There is certainly no reason your server should have rolled her eyes, or displayed anything but grace and courtesy. I will share your candid remarks with our Head of Food & Beverage so that we may work towards improvement in that area.

Thank you for being our guest, we hope you will visit us again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel needs a major renovation, and not the small changes they are slowly making. Checking in well after the appropriate time - we waited for a half hour in the lobby until we were allowed keys because house keeping wasn't answering their radio to tell the front desk if they were done in the room. Really, it was almost dinner time? We got to the room and found a sign outside saying they were in the midst of construction and there would be noise from 10am-7pm, this wasn't ideal but those seemed like ok hours. Let me say the construction started at 8am, but if you slept that late you're lucky. If you're given a room on the water-facing side of the hotel you won't be sleeping in because you'll be awoken by the sea planes. So up bright and early we took cold showers - cold because there was no hot water - and left. (oh and be warned - you won't be able to use the "gym" because it has 2 machines and no AC, unless you're a glutton for punishment).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 27coolbeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn M, Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear 27CoolBeans: Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. All comments, both favorable and unfavorable provide us with valuable feedback so that we may continue to improve our quality and customer service. I regret that you were unable to sleep-in late during your stay with us. Being centrally located in downtown Charlotte Amalie does put us right in the middle of all the activity of our bustling little port. We find most of our guests enjoy taking in the cruise ships, inter-island ferries and seaplanes which connect us to our neighboring islands, I'm so sorry you were disturbed.

While we have very little demand for a big sprawling fitness center, we try to provide at least the basics for the comfort of our guests. Our small gym is equipped with 2 stationary bikes, 2 treadmills, roman chair, step blocks, TV and shower. The lights and AC are motion activated and turn on when someone enters the facility.

Thank you for being our guest; I hope you will visit us again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Windward Passage Hotel is a decently-sized hotel located in Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas. Our rooms had a great view of the water where planes took off and cruises docked. The hotel also has a restaurant (overpiced), a pool, and a gift shop where you can get snorkel gear, surf shirts, and other beach-related items. Due to it's close proximity to shops and restaurants, you can easily walk, take a safari bus ($1 per person), or take a taxi ($6 - $10 per person) to whatever part of St. Thomas you want to explore. Each day the hotel offers a complimentary service to take you from the hotel to Magens Bay Beach. A bus comes to the hotel at 10:30 AM (Mon - Sat) or 11:00 AM (Sun) and takes you to the beach for an admittance fee of $4 per person. At 3:30 PM (Mon - Sat) or at 4:00 PM (Sun) the bus takes you back to the hotel. The maid-service is good, the bathrooms are clean (I still don't understand the point of the "peeping" window that allows you to see inside the bathroom), and the front-desk is very helpful and friendly. The A/C Unit did have a couple issues, but this is very typical in St. Thomas so don't expect to find better. Overall, I enjoyed staying at the Windward Passage, and want come again.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor, as it reduces the noise level
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ChristianSamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn M, Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear ChristianSamuel:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, and for your kind remarks. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you took advantage of several of our amenities. We are very fortunate to have such a great location within walking distance of so many fine attractions. Our complimentary shuttle to Magens Bay provides our valued guests reliable transportation to and from our island's most popular beach.

The purpose of the bathroom window is to create airflow throughout the room, thus reducing the steam in the bathroom. It also makes the entire room feel bigger. The window does close however, offering complete privacy. We find that most of our guests enjoy this feature, I hope it wasn't a hindrance for you.

Most importantly, I happy you found our staff friendly and helpful.. Our people are our most valuable asset. Thank you for being our guest, we look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a good stay at the Windward Passage Hotel. The staff were friendly and the room was clean. We had a nice view of the bay from our room - definitely worth the upgraded price. Shower was pretty outdated and the water pressure was less than ideal. Never could get the safe to work. Well located if you need to be downtown. Good value for your money.

Room Tip: Be sure to pay for an ocean view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ocean-Traveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn M, Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear BudDiver:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, and for your kind remarks. I'm so pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and you found our accommodations clean and comfortable. We are very fortunate to have such a great location, within walking distance of so many fine attractions. Our harbor view is certainly the preferred choice, our charming little port bustles with much activity. I regret the issue with your water pressure. Unfortunately that is not within our immediate control. Our property relies on Charlotte Amalie's municipal water system. When the main water system is not performing 100%, it results in weaker water pressure at the hotel.

Thank you for being our guest; we look forward to serving you again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews