We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just because it's close to the airport, don't take the bait. Cabs don't want to go there to or from the airport. It looked as if doors had been kicked in. Bathroom was gross. Not a place to stay even if for only 12 hours. We were going sailing the next day and needed a place to stay for the night. I'm thinking I would take my chances at the Bates Motel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bborland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCaribBeach, Manager at Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We read each review carefully, both good and bad, to know how to better serve our customers.

We are located close to the airport and are thrilled our guests don’t need to to take a cab getting to and from our hotel. Also, we are always looking at improving our hotel, and are currently doing some renovations.

Again, thank you for reviewing us.

Sincerely,
Alana Bredahl
Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel has gone down fast over the years. I have stayed at this hotel over the last 10 years maybe 6 times, and as recently as April 2014 twice. The hotel did not have hot water on either stay and the stays were a week apart. After the first night I made an inquiry that there was no hot water and the staff acted surprised but then said they are working on it. Yeah right. The second night which was at the end of my group's sailing trip was the worst. 1) NO in room internet. They said that a storm had taken out the in internet in the rooms but not in the lobby, and that they are working on it. Selective lightening I guess. The funny thing is that is the SAME THING they said a week before AND the previous year! 2) NO HOT WATER! "We're working on it", yeah ok. In the morning when everyone else in the hotel is taking a cold shower there is NO water pressure either. There is a water truck that pulls up to the back of the hotel from time to time and feeds water to the hotel so I suspect they have some real problems with either their well or normal water supply. 2) As I took my outside air temperature shower later in the day, the shower head fell off and hit the floor and came apart. Being a good trooper, I put it back together, and it's those huge 7" shower heads that are the dumbest things since politicians. With no water pressure the "They suck" meter goes way up! 3) The A/C in my room did not work at all. They have these wireless remote controls for them that have so many stupid buttons (labeled with some foreign language hieroglyphic symbols) that one would need a degree in International Space Station electronics to figure out. At least at first I had a fan running. So I went to the front desk (because I could not call them ... see later in this review) and asked for maintenance to look at it and she said, we don't have any maintenance people here now so she came down and started pushing buttons at random and when I asked her what the buttons meant she did not know but just kept hitting them. Now the fan doesn't even work and said she would let them know in the morning. I woke up at 1am in a sweat! Horrible night. The rooms are not clean, bring lysol and lice spray if you stay here. Clorox clean up wipes needed also. 4) The hotel phone did not work at all, just dead! I would advise people to find another location. Such a shame too, because you can walk to and from this hotel to the airport.

Room Tip: Not sure any room here is better than the other one. Maybe the second floor is better so you can a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCaribBeach, Manager at Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you Ronald for taking the time to write a review about us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate all your comments, even the negative, because they help us know what we need to work on for the future.

We are glad you are a frequent customer with us here at Carib Beach Resort. We are currently working on making our hot water more instantaneous. As for our water truck, we are forced to obtain better quality of water from other sources, and are keeping a close eye on our water supply. Most of the water on the island is collected by the rain, not wells, because it is the best way of gathering fresh water. Homes and businesses island-wide are forced to take these extra steps to obtaining all the water that is needed for daily use.

We know that WiFi is important to our guests. Currently, we are working on making a stronger connection, resort wide. It is something we have been diligently working on and we should be getting a stronger connection soon. As for right now, the lobby’s internet connection is great and there are a number of other spots throughout the resort that get a full connection.

The island does get hot and is more humid than most other places. Our A/C units were all recently installed, and the controls are very detailed. Since the island is so humid, the A/C units need to be turned a little colder than what they would normally be back in the states. I hope they were able to figure out the unit for you before your stay was over.

Our hotel is cleaned daily with the proper cleaning chemicals and linens are swapped out and cleaned as well. Also, some of our phones are currently getting repaired, and yours would be one of them. We are in the process of enhancing our resort’s overall quality.

Thank you again Ronald for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,
Alana Bredahl
Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Admittedly the rooms are little dated, but the location is fantastic and access to quick cab rides into Charlotte Amalie is easy. I stayed in the Villas out on the cliff and the views are great, the little pool for the villas is nice and it's quiet.
The real treat is the food at the bistro/bar. The manager/chef Maura (sp?) is amazing. The menu is solid and the fish tacos are GREAT (a must have), but if you can't make up your mind just tell Maura what you like and what you don't like and then let her feed you. She knocked it out of the park for me for three dinners.
Definitely would go back here to stay or just to drop in and have a few drinks and a great dinner (at a great price).

Room Tip: I'd recommend the villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCaribBeach, Manager at Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you Gary for reviewing us on TripAdvisor! Since we are a new business, we heavily depend on reviews from our guests so we know how we are doing. ]

All of our villas were recently built and all of our furniture and appliances are new as well. We are also thrilled about our location, both gorgeous and convenient. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed both the views and the location!

Oceanside Bistro is a wonderful restaurant and the chef/manager Maura is great as well. Thank you for your fantastic comments about your dining experience! We truly hope you can drop by in the future.

Thank you again, Gary!

Sincerely,

Alana Bredahl
Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Hotel is ok. A good choice for the airport (across the street) but not to spend your whole vacation. Rooms are clean, service is very good. The restaurant is located by the sea: nice food, drinks and view.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amblouin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCaribBeach, Manager at Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor and letting us know how your experience was.

We take pride in our location, and we are glad you were able to get to us easily. Our goal is to not only have a convenient location to and from the airport, but have great customer service and clean rooms. It’s great that you thought our service was very good and enjoyed our restaurant, Oceanside Bistro!

Again, thanks for your review on Carib Beach Resort.

Sincerely,

Alana Bredahl
Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed here for one night with family before ferrying over to St. John. My mother had the Agave room which was decent but we had Room 110 by the lounge which was disgusting. I actually wore flip flops in the shower it was so gross!I I paid about $200 for this disgusting (moldy) room and will say this place is nothing more than a dirty MOTEL that should cost no more than $75!! Seriously find somewhere else to stay if at all possible. I did not see the rooms in the actual hotel, I was located in an out-building area. Maybe they are better? Completely stay away from the block of rooms by the lounge!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mommy11837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCaribBeach, Manager at Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Carib Beach Resort. We believe in taking the time to read each review, both good and bad, to see what we need to do to make our guests experience better.

We do have a cleaning service that comes through daily to clean each and every room and we take cleaning our resort very seriously. All of the rooms use the proper cleaning materials, and are thoroughly cleaned. I’m sorry that you weren’t pleased with room 110, but we will address the discolored grout as soon as possible.

Again, thank you for reviewing us.

Sincerely,

Alana Bredahl
Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights before moving onto our rental house. Overall, it's convenient as it's steps away from the airport and more reasonably priced than most hotels--it was also VERY clean.

Positives: Clean, convenient to the airport for a short stay, free hourly shuttle to their sister location Best Western Emerald Beach, cheaper than most hotels, restaurant/bar, pool, COMFORTABLE bed

Negatives: The restaurant/bar is not open for lunch, a small man-made beach for lounging, did not provide extra towels when we asked housekeeping (she said we only get two), not walking distance to city center, did not accommodate ANY early check-ins, and the shower head pretty much had ZERO pressure (it took me SOOO long to walk my hair. it took a few minutes to feel like i was even wet).

If you're looking for a clean place to rest your head, this is a great choice. If you're looking to be walking distance to town, this may not be the best choice

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoriad1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCaribBeach, Manager at Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for reviewing Carib Beach Resort about your two night stay with us. We appreciate every review we receive and take the time to read each one and reply to as many as we can.

It’s great to hear you were comfortable in our beds and took advantage of our shuttle that runs hourly between resorts. We believe in making everyone’s stay as comfortable as possible and our location makes it easy for the traveler, being just a short walk from the airport. Our restaurant isn’t open for lunch, but the shuttle will give you a quick ride over to Emerald Beach Resort so you can dine at Caribbean Fusion and relax at the beautiful, white sand beach of Lindbergh Bay.

We try our best to accommodate all of our guests needs, so we give out one bath towel and one beach towel per guest. Because we are located on an island with minimal fresh water sources, our water pressure isn’t as high as most are accustom to. Also, our check-in process is based on cleaning the rooms. We want to insure that all the rooms are at the optimal cleanliness before we let our guests move their bags in.

It is always a pleasure to read and review comments, so thank you again for your time.

Sincerely,
Alana Bredahl
Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

One of the least expensive places on the island. Older, but clean property. Never busy for breakfast or at the bar. Very noisy at night when the nightclub across the bay stays open all night. Staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CobaltConnection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCaribBeach, Manager at Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for writing a review about Carib Beach Resort. We are always interested in what our guests have to say about their stay with us!

We do our very best on keeping our resort clean so all of our guests feel as comfortable as possible. Also, we believe that having top notch service is very important! It’s great to hear that everyone was friendly and helpful.

Again, thank you for your review.

Sincerely,
Alana Bredahl
Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
2.7 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
574 reviews
7.8 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
7.8 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,813 reviews
7.9 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#4 of 5 in East End
709 reviews
6.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas

Address: 8075 Lindbergh Bay, Charlotte Amalie 00802-5906, St. Thomas (Formerly BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: £119 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carib Beach Hotel St. Thomas
St Thomas Best Western
Lindbergh Bay Hotel And Villas St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing