We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful beach, good value, but next to airport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emerald Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Emerald Beach Resort
South Royalton, Vermont
Level Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach, good value, but next to airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

The best and worst this hotel has to offer comes from its location. The hotel is located on a gorgeous beach, with balconies in every room overlooking the sea. But the hotel is also literally across the road from the airport runway, and the planes take off right above the hotel.

To be fair, the rooms are well sound-proofed, and there is very little to no air traffic between 9 pm and 7 am.

Our room was clean and spacious. The bathroom was adequate. The food in the adjoining restaurant was mediocre, but the service was friendly and efficient. Wireless Internet works well in the bar area, and even close to it on the beach, as well as in the reception area. I could not get wireless service from our room.

Overall a good value, with the beach being the highlight of this location.

One more note on value and location, indirectly connected to this hotel. Transportation taxi is extremely expensive, with cabs working without meters and charging $6-8 per person for the trip, regardless of distance. You can find yourself spending $30 each way for a family of 4 going to a restaurant just 3 miles away. In hindsight this makes choosing the location of one's hotel on the island even more important...

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhugon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    590
    326
    158
    103
See reviews for
380
639
82
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

My boyfriend and i went here for a vacation get away and loved it!! Everyone was kind and the whole hotel was clean and beautiful! Only complaints was wish the breakfast was included and the food and drinks were a little cheaper. Oh and they claim to have a fitness center but hardly! Its smaller than most closets and 2 out of the 4 machines are broken! But besides the price of food and drinks and fitness center everything was great and i couldnt have asked for a better view of the bay! GORGEOUS!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heathern608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

We were only in St Thomas for 3 days after returning from a wedding in the BVI. After a very disappointing experience at our first hotel, we changed hotels to the Best Western Emerald Beach and I wish we had stayed there both nights.

We entered our room and the view of the beach was down right breathtaking. We didn't want to leave our room as we watched the sun set over the bay. Even though we didn't spend much time in our room, it was clean, spacious and very comfortable. Most of the time we spent on the beach, which was probably the best beach I visited on our trip. Also the hotel was an easy taxi ride to downtown and several taxi's were always waiting outside the hotel.

There were a few downsides to the hotel. First, it is located on the backside of the airport runway. For one night, this didn't bother me, but I could see how this could bother some people. The good thing is that the St Thomas airport isn't very busy and planes tend to fly only a few times a day. The other thing that was disappointing was The Palm restaurants. Since we stayed there on a Sunday night, we decided to eat at the hotel because St Thomas shuts down after 1pm on Sunday's. Our dinner was probably the worst dinner of our entire vacation. We were told the fish was fresh and we were fairly sure it was frozen. Who has frozen fish when you are right next to the ocean!

But overall, it was a great experience and I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMKr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

We only stayed one night before flying home but it was a great experience. Our room was huge and very clean with a balcony and beautiful view. We didn't have any issues with towels! The beach was right outside the window and was clean, with plenty of chairs and cute thatched umbrellas. We did hear a couple of planes overhead but it was not an issue. Overall the grounds are beautiful with a pool with a waterfall and an outdoor bar and restaurant right on the water. We didn't try the food in the restaurant as it was expensive and not too creative. Instead head down the beach to The Beachcomber which is an adorable beach motel with a great bar and good food at decent prices.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beach0924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

You will have a beautiful wedding, but only according to your wedding coordinator. So if you don't care about details or actually anything at all have your ceremony and reception at Emerald Beach. They will tell you that " it will be beautiful" every time you talk to any staff member, but they will not listen to you at all!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asiunia5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charlotte Amalie hotels

Menominee, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

Beautiful beach and convenient location. The rooms are comfortable and clean - same as shown on web site. Although the airport is right next to the hotel, the planes are not a distraction. The price was extremely reasonable making it a great value for the price. The food in the restraunt is mediocre at best.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JGB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutchinson Island, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

We just returned from a trip to Best Western Emerald Beach St Thomas. After reading several reviews good and bad. The good definetely outwayed the bad. The hotel had the most important thing to us, the cleanliness. Every room was on the spectacular beach with some boats mooring out in the water which added a really nice appearance Everyone was really laid back & very helpful especially Tamara at the front desk. Any question or help we needed she was right there with a smile & plenty of good information. Our room was very clean & the view was a dream. Everyday the room was cleaned spotless. The food was ok not bad and not excellent. We did take a trip to St John to Trunk Bay and since we don't snorkel we thought the beach at Best Western was just as nice, and you didn't have to pay to go on it. We got there early & they had no chairs for us to rent & the beach was not crowded. It was a beautiful beach don't get me wrong but we felt the beach at Best Western was comparable. Great time & beautiful Island St John, but if your not looking to Snorkel don't bother. Eat at Woody's excellent food, a hole in the wall but the best food we at the whole week on either island. I would highly recomend this hotel. Very close to the airport some people commented they planes were a bother, but we didn't think so at all kind of neat actually. Never heard them at night. The only thing the pool was cold never went in it, just stayed on the beach

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dgolding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
7.4 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
2.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Island Beachcomber Hotel
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
6.5 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Beach Resort

Property: Emerald Beach Resort
Address: 8070 Lindbergh Bay | West, Charlotte Amalie 00802-5901, St. Thomas (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerald Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 100% beachfront resort on St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands! Tucked into sun-splashed Lindbergh Bay on the Island of St. Thomas, the beautifully appointed Emerald Beach Resort welcomes guests with the gracious look, style and service of the Virgin Islands' rich heritage. BIG King Size Beds and Spectacular Views from EVERY ROOM! FREE High Speed Internet Access. Flat Screen TVs with Cable TV, 100% Beachfront Views with Balcony and Adjustable air-conditioning. Surrounded by landscaped gardens, cascading waterfalls and lush tropical settings, the Emerald Beach Resort offers a central, convenient location close to the airport, shopping, championship golf and all of St. Thomas's great activities and adventures. With the bounty of land and sea captured in stunning views, it's the perfect place for a memorable vacation. Or an unforgettable wedding, meeting or corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Emerald Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Emerald Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Best Western St Thomas
Best Western Emerald Beach Resort
St. Thomas Best Western
Emerald Beach Resort St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing