We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice in St Thomas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Emerald Beach Resort
Level Contributor
195 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Best choice in St Thomas”
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

When reading the reviews on this hotel and never having visited St Thomas before I was very skeptical about the booking and expected the worse. I was looking for a hotel that we could use as a base before departing on a yachting holiday.
What a pleasant surprise and excellent choice. I can't imagine that there can be another hotel on the island with a better location, a more beautiful beach and for such a good price.
The water is literally on your doorstep. Great beach and great view. You are 5 minutes from the airport but protected from the noise by a little hill.
The staff were very efficient and friendly when we booked in and could answer all our questions about the hotel and island.
Rooms are great. There is nothing that you want or expect that is not in the room including a nice large safe. You need however to be aware that the hotel has no lifts and it may be a problem for people with a disability.
Beach towels are available at the front desk, free parking and free WiFi (that actually works very well).
Great hotel. I have already booked for my next visit and will recommend this place to all my friends.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank JacoCl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    630
    347
    171
    115
See reviews for
415
676
86
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This Hotel is not a five star but it is close enough to the airport to walk and the amenities here are ample. Check in was a little slow but they were very nice and explained things very well. When checking in at 9:00PM we asked what time the bar closed and were told 10:00PM so we rushed to our room and then headed to the bar for some appetizers and drinks and before we knew it it was 1:30AM and he said he would'nt close the bar until everyone was done drinking, this is my kind of place. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable, had a flat screen TV and all the rooms have ocean veiw with balcony. The beach is nice with chairs and umbrellas, the pool was small but private and the restaurant was expensive, we only ate breakfast there twice and it was just OK. My suggestion for food is to order the pizza from the bar it was excellent. I would stay here again. Roosters will wake you up every morning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingAndy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Was recommended by our taxi driver to go to Emerald Beach when we arrived to Charlotte Amalie from the Celebrity Eclipse. It turned out to be an excellent choice. Although the beach is small, you can talk a fairly long walk. $20 gets you two beach chairs and an umbrella; with wifi access. I can only comment on the Best Western Plus beach restaurant - it was excellent. As far as the rest of the property goes, it looked cleaned and well kept.

I'm very tempted to try this resort!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hole_Hole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I traveled to this resort with my friend during the month of October. It's hard for me to make an accurate assessment of this property because it was slow season and not every feature of the resort was available for us to try (which Is why I subtracted a star). The location was perfect for the trip that I took, since it was a very short stay. I literally walked from the airport to the resort in less than 10 minutes, which made it extremely convenient. The reception staff were helpful, although not above-average in terms of friendliness. The rooms were pretty nice and all feature a perfect view of the beautiful bay. Nothing about the rooms was above average, but if you're vacationing, you shouldn't be spending time in the rooms anyway. The pool area was small, but very nice, and featured a tiki-style bar with friendly staff and unique [and delicious] food and drink options. The bay out front is absolutely perfect for swimming and average snorkeling.

Tips:

If you're interested in going to town, just walk down the street to the right until you reach the end of the airport runway, cross the street to the gas station, and wait for the cheap combined taxi. It would be foolish to take a full-fare taxi. (ask the receptionist for more information)

If you like night-life, remember that St. Thomas is not extremely safe in some places and also closes down relatively early (with the exception of a few bars).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frommichiganonward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Not sure where to even start, but if you are looking for a wonderful relaxing vacation in paradise do NOT come here.
First, I stayed one night at its sister property and transferred to this hotel the next day. Of course they did not bother to coordinate so despite checking out at 11:30 and arriving there before noon, I was told that I could not get early check in but they'll try. Then i had to check with the front desk 6 six times each time getting the answer "i don't know' when asking when the room was going to be ready. To add onto that, I couldn't have lunch and charge it to the room because I wasn't checked in year. It took me until 3;30pm to finally get my room. So basically wasted 3.5hrs hanging around the hotel doing nothing.
When I finally got my room, it smelled rank and mildewy. Requested another room and another half hour later was given what at first appeared to be a decent room. What I found out later, is that it was infested with MOSQUITOS. Every night and morning I'd come back to a bathroom with at least 10-12 mosquitos flying around, to the point where I had to run in and out of the bathroom and still got bitten. When I requested to be moved, they said they're full but they can fumigate. I thought that would take care of the problem. No. Still every evening I'd come back to mosquitos. This happened for about 3 days.
On top, the staff cannot care less. I ended up transferring to Marriott Frenchman's Reef, which was heaven compared to this. Here the staff can't be bothered. The attitude is that they're doing you a favor or you're bothering them. WIth the only exception, two very lovely older ladies at breakfast.
What's worse, the beach is a public beach and the staff makes NO effort to get the locals off the hotel property. One night as many as 8-10 local teens were playing around in the pool until 11pm and nothing was done about it. It's not wise to leave your belongings on the beach chairs with locals freely roaming about.
It's also literally right at the airport so you will hear planes taking off and landing.
I would recommend spending a little bit more money and going to Marriott or the Ritz, both of which are a world apart.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ckovalyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at Emerald Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
I do want to thank you for staying with us at Emerald Beach Resort and for taking the time to write your review. We pride ourselves on our lovely Beach front location and always strive to offer a quality stay with friendly customer service; all at a Great Value!

We do our best to accommodate early check ins (prior to 4:00 pm check in time), if our occupancy allows and clean rooms are available! We apologize that we could not honor your early check in request during your recent stay. We do offer to keep your luggage for you and allow you use of all the amenities at Emerald Beach while you are waiting for your room!

All of the Beaches on St. Thomas are public beaches, available for locals and tourists alike to enjoy. Our Swimming Pool is strictly for our Guest’s use and is regularly monitored to ensure our guests enjoyment.

Thank you again for your comments and we always do our best to continually make improvements to accommodate our guests!

Sincerely,

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charlotte Amalie hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed for one night between flights and really didn't expect much. I was very pleasantly surprised at what this resort is all about!

Big rooms, all with balcony facing the sea... The hotel seemed isolated (in a good way) even though it was beside an airport runway and town was just a quick $6 cab ride away. Met a lot of people who were staying a week... and I can see the appeal.

VERY lively beach bar.... rock on Jebediah... reasonably priced food.

All in all... Completely recommended for an overnighter (and possibly more) before a flight... 10 minute very easy walk to airport...

Room Tip: They all looked the same... just pick 1st floor (out door to beach) or 2nd, 3rd (bit of a view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinMan314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I got married here and it was the wedding of my dreams! Linda, the hotel coordinator, was very hands on and she made sure we had a wonderful day. The decorations were extremely beautiful and the hotel itself is gorgeous. The food was great, the rooms are clean, and the staff was friendly. I don't have any complaints and I would definitely stay here again. It's also reasonably priced. You can't beat that!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a nice view! Choose one higher up away from the palm trees, if possible to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsChallenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at Emerald Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
It was definitely my pleasure to welcome you and your guests to Emerald Beach Resort for your Recent Wedding! I enjoyed working with you and being a part of your Very Special Day! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your Wedding Day and staying at our wonderful Resort! Emerald Beach Resort can't be beat for location, quality, service and value! I look forward to welcoming you and your guests back to Emerald Beach Resort, maybe for your First Anniversary!!

Best Wishes

Linda Mason
Sales and Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
7.4 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
11.6 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
2.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
8.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
6.7 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Beach Resort

Property: Emerald Beach Resort
Address: 8070 Lindbergh Bay | West, Charlotte Amalie 00802-5901, St. Thomas (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerald Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 100% beachfront resort on St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands! Tucked into sun-splashed Lindbergh Bay on the Island of St. Thomas, the beautifully appointed Emerald Beach Resort welcomes guests with the gracious look, style and service of the Virgin Islands' rich heritage. BIG King Size Beds and Spectacular Views from EVERY ROOM! FREE High Speed Internet Access. Flat Screen TVs with Cable TV, 100% Beachfront Views with Balcony and Adjustable air-conditioning. Surrounded by landscaped gardens, cascading waterfalls and lush tropical settings, the Emerald Beach Resort offers a central, convenient location close to the airport, shopping, championship golf and all of St. Thomas's great activities and adventures. With the bounty of land and sea captured in stunning views, it's the perfect place for a memorable vacation. Or an unforgettable wedding, meeting or corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emerald Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Emerald Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Best Western St Thomas
Best Western Emerald Beach Resort
St. Thomas Best Western
Emerald Beach Resort St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing