We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plusses and minuses”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Emerald Beach Resort
Reviewed 28 April 2014

There are many pluses to this hotel, but it's hard to overlook the minuses. It's close to the airport on a pleasant bay with warm, clear water and a clean, sandy beach. The rooms are a good size with lovely views of the beach and bay. There is a small workout room. The staff is pleasant and tries to be helpful, Our room had a small refrigerator and a safe. The bathroom and the bar area appeared to have been upgraded recently, although the bathroom exhaust fan didn't work, and the soap tray in the bath was missing.

On the other side, they charge a 10% "resort fee," and like many people, I try to stay away from places with these deceptive, hidden charges. In this case, it was a business trip, and my host selected the hotel. My wife and I reserved a king size bed but got two double beds. I emphasize double beds, not queens. When we inquired, we were told that there were no kings available. The food at breakfast and dinner was okay, but we had the bad timing to have a wedding party at the same time - very loud. We asked about other palaces to eat nearby and were told that this was the only choice. Next day we learned that the hotel has a free shuttle to a nearby Best Western, and we could have gone there for dinner. So we planned to do that next night and were told that it ran every half hour after 5:00. So we arrived for the shuttle and were told that it wasn't running that night. No explanation. When we got back to our room, the message light was on, but when we pressed the message button - no result We called the front desk and were told that she would have to check with the manager. After half an hour, we called again, and the manage gave us a number to call for messages. The number didn't work. We called again and got a different number that did work.
I have been reminded that I need to have an "island attitude" when visiting the Virgin Islands. I think that means not to expect the mainland level of service or efficiency. I'll work on my attitude.

Room Tip: Try to reserve a king bed and check on its availability when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GregChapelHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,028 - 1,034 of 1,813 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

By far the best hotel near the airport. The beach is great but the restaurant was quite awful. Service, however, was absolutely professional.
For the price on St-Thomas, it's a very sage choice. Would go back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amblouin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Just came home from an insanely hectic four day trip to St. Thomas. I cannot fault anything about the quality of the customer service, the location or the food at this resort. All were outstanding. The problem was the room we were assigned. It was on the second floor with no elevator and located right next to the busy stairwell and the housekeeping closet. There was a large tree obscuring the spectacular view from the balcony. The newly renovated bathroom had an ecofriendly toilet that we couldn't get to flush. The bathroom window was jammed partially open letting insects in. Housekeeping wasn't good. One day my daughter came into the room and found the housekeeper taking a personal call on our phone. We had to ask for toilet paper. On the third night I had to raid the hotel laundry room because our towels were removed but not replaced. There were many times that I grumbled to myself "I'm paying $251 a night for this?" But after all is said and done, I want to strongly reiterate that if the itinerary of this trip had not been so frantic and I had taken the time to complain, I am reasonably confident that my issues would have been addressed while we were there. So my advice to each and every one of you coming behind us is to speak up immediately if you don't like your room assignment. Get your money's worth and have a great time. PS: There is not enough noise from the planes overhead to justify some of the comments made in other reviews. As for the roosters, they didn't crow or wake us up as described elsewhere. It was actually cute to see the little ones greet us at our table while dining outside!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank BuickMackane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My review is about their customer service ONLY. I had a flight scheduled to leave New York to St Thomas that ended up being delayed so I wasn't able to make the ferry to St. John's, so at the last minute booked a room at the Best Western since it was close to the airport. A few hours later, my flight was canceled so I called the hotel to try to cancel my room. I understand they have a cancellation policy, but despite my efforts to be respectful and inquire if they would do anything, the general manger was rude to me, accused me of trying to lie, and was generally incredibly unpleasant.

I cannot vouch for the hotel as the location actually looked pretty nice, but I would not recommend staying here solely because of my awful customer service experience with the manager of this hotel - there are much nicer hotels on the island for the same price, with staff that knows how to treat customers.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
6  Thank brand_trvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at Emerald Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

We do have a very generous cancellation policy at Emerald Beach Resort which allows guests to cancel their reservation within 72 hours to avoid any penalty. You did speak with our General Manager and he did offer to release you from your one night deposit if we were able to sell the room that night, which unfortunately did not happen. There were statements made by you that if you weren’t given a full refund for your deposit that you would display “everywhere” negative reviews about our Customer Service. We do try to work with our travel guests when extenuating circumstances do arise, but do have cancellation policies in effect that are explained to guests upon booking.

Sincerely,

Linda Mason
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at the Emerald Beach for 5 nights at the beginning of April 2014. From the very minute we arrived, we felt that we had arrived in paradise. Admittedly the staff might work at a slower pace than one is used to, but that actually helped us wind down and really start to relax. They were alle very kind and plesant.

The room was quite big and the view over the beach was stunning. It was very clean and was cleaned very well every day, Everything worked, both fridge and safe.

There was a lovely pool. However we did not try it, as it could not compete at all with the stunning beach which was just on the doorstep. White sand and plenty of space. Free sunbeds and plenty of them.Fantastic.

The restaurant served really nice breakfast with everything you could want. Sitting on the terrace for breakfast just a couple of meters from the water was heavenly. We had dinner twice in the restaurant in the evening. food was good although a little pricy. There was a beachbar which served really nice cocktails, also right at the water edge.

The close proximity to the airport was not a problem. the noise was not too bad. It was easy to walk 500meter from the hotel and then you could catch a dollarbus which would take you straight to downtown Charlotte Amalie for just 1 dollar. A taxi would take you to Frenchtown (nice restaurants, especially Twisted Cork) for 6 dollars per person

In all, a perfect holiday for us and we are seriously considering returning to same hotel another time.

Room Tip: all rooms have seaview so they are all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andersostergaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The view of Lindbergh bay was amazing from our third floor balcony, so serene. The room was clean and bright, bed was ok, enough towels provided. There was some minor confusion with our room when we checked in, so the staff give us free breakfast at the hotel restaurant for the length of our stay which saved us a lot of money. The restaurant is right on the beach. The hotel grounds are awesome, very jungle-like. The pool has a nice waterfall and a view of the beach as well. Only drawback is the neighborhood is a little sketchy so taxis are a must, however we did make the short walk to the airport with no problems. Hotel grounds seem safe. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank accote88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We were disappointed during our stay for 4 nights to celebrate our anniversary. We were deceived by our waiter over the cost of coffee and breakfast cost more than it should. When I confronted him he told me "you should get your wife to explain it to you". If they could charge you for the air you breath they would. They really know how to separate you from your money here and in St. Thomas.
The hotel was dated, the restaurant smelled, was dirty, had slow and poor service. The refrigerator did not work in our room and was told it would be replaced, but never was. Our friend's room was a mosquito breeding ground and nothing was done to correct it. Their solution was to spray chemicals.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeWebb219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at Emerald Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

All of our reviews are important to us at Emerald Beach Resort! We do read every review we receive and personally respond to many of them. I did reach out to you to discuss your recent stay. We do offer coffee makers with complimentary coffee in each guest room for our guest’s convenience and do apologize for any misunderstandings that may have occurred during your recent visit.

Customer Service and our guests’ experience are of great importance to us! It is our goal to offer a quality, memorable trip to our guests at a great value. We are proud to offer some of the most attractive room rates, the best quality food and menu pricing in St. Thomas.

We have a wonderful staff always ready to assist with anything our guests may need during their stay. We are always willing to offer our guests a change in rooms when our occupancy allows and unfortunately when you visited us recently we were unable to offer a room change to your friends. We did in fact take steps to accommodate them and alleviate the problem!

We do offer a wonderful beachfront location and all of our rooms have had recent upgrades. Bathrooms with marble floors and vessel sinks; updated modular furniture, larger flat screen televisions, upgraded and improved internet service are just of the few upgrades we have recently completed!

We also had the pleasure of serving you a wonderful 40th Anniversary Celebration for you and a few friends; a gift from your daughter! It is always our pleasure to serve our guests in any way that we can!

I believe that we covered each area of concern that was listed in your review during our recent conversation! We would love to have you visit us again in the future and please feel free to contact me should you need any further assistance.

Sincerely,

Linda Mason
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.4 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
636 reviews
7.4 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#4 of 5 in East End
709 reviews
6.5 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
732 reviews
4.7 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Beach Resort

Address: 8070 Lindbergh Bay | West, Charlotte Amalie 00802-5901, St. Thomas (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: £171 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerald Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 100% beachfront resort on St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands! Tucked into sun-splashed Lindbergh Bay on the Island of St. Thomas, the beautifully appointed Emerald Beach Resort welcomes guests with the gracious look, style and service of the Virgin Islands' rich heritage. BIG King Size Beds and Spectacular Views from EVERY ROOM! FREE High Speed Internet Access. Flat Screen TVs with Cable TV, 100% Beachfront Views with Balcony and Adjustable air-conditioning. Surrounded by landscaped gardens, cascading waterfalls and lush tropical settings, the Emerald Beach Resort offers a central, convenient location close to the airport, shopping, championship golf and all of St. Thomas's great activities and adventures. With the bounty of land and sea captured in stunning views, it's the perfect place for a memorable vacation. Or an unforgettable wedding, meeting or corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Emerald Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Emerald Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Best Western St Thomas
Best Western Emerald Beach Resort
St. Thomas Best Western
Emerald Beach Resort St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing