We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Emerald beach best western” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emerald Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Emerald Beach Resort
Sauk Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
“Emerald beach best western”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great view, nice people... I gave a big issue with someone from the hotel charging my credit card, and my trip was pre-paid through Apple vacations. This made my account negative over a 3 day weekend. I was on the phone and running back and forth to my bank, Best Western never offered me any type of compensation for a mistake made by their employee.
Karla Edwards

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Antwon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at Emerald Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you Karla for taking the time to write a review for us.
We pride ourselves on our outstanding customer service and our proximity to the beautiful Lindbergh Bay and we are glad you enjoyed both. We do apologize for the human error on our part. Since you did book through Apple Vacations, there were limitations as to what we could do to compensate for what had happened. We will look into this situation further so we can better understand how to deal with something like this in the future.

Again, thank you Karla Edwards for both staying at Emerald Beach and reviewing us on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,
Alana Bredahl
Social Media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    590
    326
    159
    103
See reviews for
380
639
82
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hvidovre
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Fantastic beach and fantastic view from the rooms. Sadly there is very much noise from the airport, because this hotel is at the end of the runway. And it is not small airplanes between the islands that use this airport. It is also big planes as Boing 737 to US.
Almost no service in the restaurant, and it was also very badly cleaned.
Queue at the only hot-drinks automat at the morning buffet.
Beachbar can be recommended, although the same kitchen is used, this is where you experience service while dining (waiting time for your menu is less then one hour, which cannot be expected in the restaurant). Super social entertainment.
We do not feel that we got what we expected according to descriptions. Think twice of noise and restaurant service before booking this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms has a fantastic ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VivianDinesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at Emerald Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor and staying with us at Emerald Beach Resort. We take each review seriously and like to hear everyone’s honest feedback.

We appreciate that you enjoyed both our beach and views from our rooms. The island’s beauty is very important to us and we want to make sure each guests gets a slice of paradise during their stay. Our resort is near the runway, which makes a short commute for everyone who just arrived to the island on plane. The noise is only in short bursts, because you can only hear it during the quick take offs.

On a daily basis, we clean the restaurant with all the proper cleaning materials. We are always looking to improve ourselves and we strive to have the best customer service. Our beach bar is always on their toes ready to serve whoever comes to their bar!

Thank you again for reviewing us and we hope that we can accommodate you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Alana Bredahl
Social Media Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charlotte Amalie hotels

Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We loved this hotel the pool & beach were great. The outdoor bar & eating area were great places to relax & the staff were so friendly. Our room was quiet & we could relax on the balcony after a busy day. There were a few areas in the room that could use some updating; but, these were minor compared to the wonderful overall atmosphere. When I asked for an extra towel one evening it was delivered about 1 minute after I got to the room. Can't ask for better than that. The beach towels were more absorbent than the bath towels. i would stay here if we are in St. Thomas again.

Room Tip: We were in bldg 4 3rd floor & it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelodeeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We really like this hotel - the gracious and welcoming staff; all rooms face the ocean; close proximity to the airport. The beach provides the wow factor here. Get off your airplane and in 5 mins by cab you are here. If your room is not ready - grab a rum punch at the beach front bar and jump into the beautiful water. Lindbergh bay is gorgeous. The rooms are spacious, simple and very clean. Beds are comfortable and the balcony provides outstanding views with seating. We like having a room away from the bar to avoid evening noise. The airplane noise stops after dark so you can sleep well. The manager and staff are always eager to please and friendly. No elevators in the 3 story buildings but the front desk can have your luggage brought to your room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar / restaurant for quiet. Also higher floors have the best views but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJaneSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

we really didn't expect much...it was a one night stay before heading home. No room till 5 Pm, no towels till 9 PM after calling 3 times. No one advised us there was a wedding going on..they booked us in a room right over the restaurant with loud dance music till 10 PM right. Very poor customer service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TessT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at Emerald Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you Tess for staying with us at Emerald Beach Resort and writing about your stay. We like to know how all of our guests stays were and how we can improve ourselves for the future.

It is unfortunate to hear that your stay didn’t meet your expectations. We like to make sure that all rooms are cleaned throughly before any of our guests enter and on rare occasions, that can be a little after the check out time. Also, we will have to look into the towel situation to make sure a delay like that wont happen in the future.

We have weddings a few times a month and we try our best to have that known to our guests. We also give rooms based on availability and we do our best to make sure our guests stay is as comfortable as possible. We are always looking to improve ourselves and we strive to have the best customer service.

Sincerely,
Alana Bredahl
Social Media Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

There are many pluses to this hotel, but it's hard to overlook the minuses. It's close to the airport on a pleasant bay with warm, clear water and a clean, sandy beach. The rooms are a good size with lovely views of the beach and bay. There is a small workout room. The staff is pleasant and tries to be helpful, Our room had a small refrigerator and a safe. The bathroom and the bar area appeared to have been upgraded recently, although the bathroom exhaust fan didn't work, and the soap tray in the bath was missing.

On the other side, they charge a 10% "resort fee," and like many people, I try to stay away from places with these deceptive, hidden charges. In this case, it was a business trip, and my host selected the hotel. My wife and I reserved a king size bed but got two double beds. I emphasize double beds, not queens. When we inquired, we were told that there were no kings available. The food at breakfast and dinner was okay, but we had the bad timing to have a wedding party at the same time - very loud. We asked about other palaces to eat nearby and were told that this was the only choice. Next day we learned that the hotel has a free shuttle to a nearby Best Western, and we could have gone there for dinner. So we planned to do that next night and were told that it ran every half hour after 5:00. So we arrived for the shuttle and were told that it wasn't running that night. No explanation. When we got back to our room, the message light was on, but when we pressed the message button - no result We called the front desk and were told that she would have to check with the manager. After half an hour, we called again, and the manage gave us a number to call for messages. The number didn't work. We called again and got a different number that did work.
I have been reminded that I need to have an "island attitude" when visiting the Virgin Islands. I think that means not to expect the mainland level of service or efficiency. I'll work on my attitude.

Room Tip: Try to reserve a king bed and check on its availability when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GregChapelHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

By far the best hotel near the airport. The beach is great but the restaurant was quite awful. Service, however, was absolutely professional.
For the price on St-Thomas, it's a very sage choice. Would go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amblouin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
7.4 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
2.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Island Beachcomber Hotel
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
6.5 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Beach Resort

Property: Emerald Beach Resort
Address: 8070 Lindbergh Bay | West, Charlotte Amalie 00802-5901, St. Thomas (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerald Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 100% beachfront resort on St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands! Tucked into sun-splashed Lindbergh Bay on the Island of St. Thomas, the beautifully appointed Emerald Beach Resort welcomes guests with the gracious look, style and service of the Virgin Islands' rich heritage. BIG King Size Beds and Spectacular Views from EVERY ROOM! FREE High Speed Internet Access. Flat Screen TVs with Cable TV, 100% Beachfront Views with Balcony and Adjustable air-conditioning. Surrounded by landscaped gardens, cascading waterfalls and lush tropical settings, the Emerald Beach Resort offers a central, convenient location close to the airport, shopping, championship golf and all of St. Thomas's great activities and adventures. With the bounty of land and sea captured in stunning views, it's the perfect place for a memorable vacation. Or an unforgettable wedding, meeting or corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Emerald Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Emerald Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Best Western St Thomas
Best Western Emerald Beach Resort
St. Thomas Best Western
Emerald Beach Resort St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing