We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to go wrong, as long as there's a beach.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Emerald Beach Resort
Lewistown, Montana
Level Contributor
194 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Hard to go wrong, as long as there's a beach.”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The saving grace to this place is it's location- right ON the beach and within walking distance from the international airport. The pool area was nice and the food was OK, but overpriced. The rooms were average but the up side is that they all faced the beach. As the rooms got further from the pool the garbage below the balconies mounted. On a walk around the property we even saw an old tire thrown off from the road above with a tree growing through it, showing that cleanliness and maintenance are not a top priority at this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    619
    338
    166
    110
See reviews for
399
664
85
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

If you are fond of live chickens in the bar, like crowing roosters at 3.30AM, if you want to share the pool with random guests from the beach and don't mind the ridiculos prize of continental breakfast then this is the right place for you.
We experienced a hotel with a very beautiful view of Lindbergh Bay. The beach is pretty neat and the water good. Our room, very close to the bar and the pool, was okay but not clean - and we missed towels the first couple of days....at the reception we were promised new towels several times before we got some. We also wanted our sheets changed - this did not happen during the week we stayed here!
The restaurant is overprized - 10.95 $ for Continental breakfast....and it is not very clean either. We found dead several dead insects by the shutters and they were still there when we left.....and thats why we did not want to inspect the kitchen.
We were not very amused by staying here - and we were somewhat concerned about the security. The hotel is open to everyone, you can walk in from the beach or the parking lot, no questions asked. Many of the locals used the pool and the restrooms - without any registration or payment.
But there is one thing you don't have to worry about, that is getting up in the morning. Every day at dawn the local roosters will wake you up - and that is free of charge!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank toftedalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at Emerald Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
We do look over all of our trip adviser reviews and respond directly to many of them. We are always looking for ways to improve our services and make Emerald Beach Resort the very best place it can be for all of our guests. We pride ourselves on our friendly “Customer Service”, our fun “Caribbean” atmosphere, the cleanliness of our Resort, and the value and services that we offer to each and every one of our guests!

One of the many wonderful things about St. Thomas is that all beaches are public so visitors and residents alike can enjoy all of the beautiful beaches located on our Island Paradise. Our swimming pool is for our registered guests use only and is monitored and supervised daily! Our Beach Bar is an open air bar and restaurant and is just a couple of steps from the Caribbean Sea. We do try to keep our unwanted “Island” Guests (hens, roosters, iguanas, etc.) away, but they always want to crash the party!

Our location on beautiful “Lindbergh Bay” offers a Beachfront hotel on a spectacular white sand beach with beautiful turquoise waters great for swimming and water sports! Our Beach is awarded the “Blue Flag” which is a voluntary eco-label awarded to more than 4000 beaches and marinas in 48 countries across Europe, South Africa, Morocco, Tunisia, New Zealand, Brazil, Canada and the Caribbean (www.blueflag.org for more information)!

As far as our menus, our goal is to offer great value and superb quality meals! Our Continental breakfast is priced at $10.95 per person and includes your choice of our fresh assorted pastries, fresh seasonal fruits, a variety of cereals with yogurt or milk, coffee, teas, assorted juices, and also our Signature Golden Malted Waffles with your choice of toppings. You can even go back for seconds or thirds!!! We feel this is a great value to our guests and offers a great selection at an affordable price!

Please let me know if I can offer you any further assistance.

Sincerely,

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charlotte Amalie hotels

The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our group spent one night at this hotel due to conflicts in flights and ferry times to Tortola, BVI. The check-in went well, with very friendly folks at the counter. The rooms were very comfortable and well appointed - much better than the price would suggest. The view of the bay was also quite nice, and we all enjoyed the beach while we were there. One of us found you could borrow beach towels from the front desk, but when the rest of our group tried to do the same, they were all being laundered. There was no beach-front shower that we could find, so we dipped our feet in the tubs provided, and jumped in the swimming pool to wash the salt off.
The menu at the restaurant showed $18 for lasagna, and, after reading other reviews, we decided to order pizza. Don't expect quick delivery from Dominoes, BTW.
Check out was also quite painless.
I would probably rate them more like 4.5. The hotel is more secluded than you might think, given the proximity to the airport, so walking to a restaurant isn't really feasible. If the restaurant was more flexible, they'd probably get a 5 from me.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glimfeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athol, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

If you are planning for an affordable vacation spot, this place is worth consideration. The rooms were comfortable and adequate. They were clean and not too "tired." The staff was fabulous. They made our stay very comfortable. Each room has a ocean view. Third floor is the best and most private. Early check-in is available if a room is open - it was for us. The gift shop is small and is open generally from 10 am and ranges to 3pm - 7pm or later. Again, the staff was great in the gift shop - all of them were super helpful. The restaurant is a bit pricey, but has good food. Would recommend dinner and late night at the bar. The all- american breakfast is a bit overpriced at 16.95 per person. Order off the menu and skip the buffet. The bartenders were super nice and offered a lot of information about the area and of course the rum! You receive a free rum punch per person when you arrive. It's a nice touch to welcome you. The hotel offered eco-friendly shampoo, conditioner and soap that was a bit over drying. There was also lotion. No need to bring any of these, except maybe body wash as we did not like the soap. The hotel is far from down town if you are considering walking. You can pick up the dollar safari ride at any of the bus stop pull offs. Just ask $1.00? or look for locals on the trucks. It will cost you $2.00 to ride the truck the entire loop which takes you from (near the airport ROAD) down to Red Hook, up to the center of the island - Tutu and then back around to downtown and the airport road. Take the taxi as least as possible as they will charge $6.00 base rate and then it goes up the farther you decide to go. We mixed it up and took the $1.00 safari to downtown and then a taxi to Megan's Bay ( $8.00 per person on way.) The taxi are regulated,but make sure to confirm the cost BEFORE you get on. You really don't need to rent a car - they also drive really crazy AND fast. Most of the cars are all damaged if that gives you any indication of how people drive there....!! You can walk to the hotel from the airport. Maybe a 10 minute walk. Super easy walk along the waterfront. DON'T TAKE A TAXI from the airport to the hotel if your luggage is on wheels. It will be a waste of money. The bed was comfortable and there were enough pillows and blankets to be comfortable in the AC room. Sometime the cleaning staff would forget to leave T.P. or coffee cups or the little room stuff, but the front staff was super helpful and got what we needed. There are no elevators so you will carry your bags up the stairs - they also have staff to help. Go shopping on cruise ship days otherwise the stores closed down around the island. The beach tended to be more crowed on cruise ship days, but was not overwhelming. The beach offered jet ski rentals, kayak rentals, snorkeling rentals and I think one other type of water rental. My husband and I would most definitely stay there again. It was the best affordable Caribbean vacation we have taken as of 6 years married.

Room Tip: Take the dollar safari. No need to rent a car or pay the high price of taxis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MassachusettsRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

my 4 day stay for a wedding was beautiful, beach front rooms, awesome staff, great bar! we had one hick up no water on day 2 but we were compensated and every effort was made to ensure it was resolved as quickly as possible. with the ocean right outside, the lack of shower was quickly forgotten. a mere 5 minute ride to the shopping areas this hotel gets 2 thumbs up from me!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 246gina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stay here every year a couple of nights before we spend a week on St. John and then spend one night on the tail end of our trip. The hotel seems to have improved some since last summer. The rooms seemed nicer but do have a dampness about them. The room fridge was not cold. The hotel staff has always been amazing; the restaurant staff...not so amazing. The bartenders at their beach bar are really nice and make excellent drinks. The bay is gorgeous and the snorkeling on the point is actually very good.

The food in the restaurant for dinners is ok. We usually end up eating there because we don't feel like going anywhere else, but are never impressed with the dinners. The breakfast from the menu is ok but the service at breakfast is VERY slow. The continental breakfast is VERY expensive.

It's perfect if you are not expecting The Ritz. Personally, it's a bit over-priced for it's quality, but the beach makes up for it.

Room Tip: We prefer first floor rooms due to the fact that they don't have elevators and we don't feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Waccamaw, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Daughter booked this Hotel for our trip. She made a great choice. All rooms are ocean front and the view was spectacular. All the staff, restaurant, bar, front desk and housekeeping, were very friendly and helpful. Pool is nice and big. Bar was fun although there was no music as advertised on the Friday night we were there. Food was very good. Cheaper to eat there then to catch a taxi somewhere. Overall we had a super time for it being our first time to St. Thomas.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a great view but its a pain hauling luggage up and down the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at Emerald Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you Charla for staying at Emerald Beach Resort and taking the time to review your stay. It’s great that you had a wonderful time with us and enjoyed our staff, bar, and restaurant! Our staff is always there to answer any questions you might have.

Sincerely,
Alana Bredahl
Social Media Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
7.4 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
7.4 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
2.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
6.5 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Beach Resort

Property: Emerald Beach Resort
Address: 8070 Lindbergh Bay | West, Charlotte Amalie 00802-5901, St. Thomas (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerald Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 100% beachfront resort on St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands! Tucked into sun-splashed Lindbergh Bay on the Island of St. Thomas, the beautifully appointed Emerald Beach Resort welcomes guests with the gracious look, style and service of the Virgin Islands' rich heritage. BIG King Size Beds and Spectacular Views from EVERY ROOM! FREE High Speed Internet Access. Flat Screen TVs with Cable TV, 100% Beachfront Views with Balcony and Adjustable air-conditioning. Surrounded by landscaped gardens, cascading waterfalls and lush tropical settings, the Emerald Beach Resort offers a central, convenient location close to the airport, shopping, championship golf and all of St. Thomas's great activities and adventures. With the bounty of land and sea captured in stunning views, it's the perfect place for a memorable vacation. Or an unforgettable wedding, meeting or corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emerald Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Emerald Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Best Western St Thomas
Best Western Emerald Beach Resort
St. Thomas Best Western
Emerald Beach Resort St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing