We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great, clean, safe place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emerald Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Emerald Beach Resort
mahwah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great, clean, safe place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

i went with friends and kids for 6 days. we had best time ever, this place is very clean, beach is nice and warm. food is excellent on the property. very safe place for kids and 5min. from the airport. staff was very friendly. i would love to go back. island is very beautiful and great shops. i would recommend to rent car, the taxi is very expensive to go around. they have sister property that has great mexican food and this property has italian food.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank romamahwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    590
    326
    158
    103
See reviews for
380
640
82
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Estonia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2009

It is a beautyful and cozy hotel. Every room has it`s own balcony and view on the sea!

The rooms were as clean as they possibly could be (every time we entered the room, we bound to carry a bit sand in with our shoes) - and every day there was a little something different done compared the day before (depending on the mood of cleaning ladys) There was one day, as they forgot to leave us towels, but we survived - no big deal, luckily we had one of our own.

As we drove around the island (with a rental car) we noticed that we couldn`t have choosed a better located hotel! We could walk from airport (~10 min) to hotel and from hotel to Charlotte (~25 min). The beach of this hotel was really beautyful and the beach bar was awesome! Maybe we were mistaken, but it seemed that on the south side of the island (where we stayed) was much more sunny than the north side of the island and it was definately much more clean than the south-east and east side of the island. So the location is absolutely great!

The stuff of the hotel seemed not too friendly with us - we noticed they don`t like it really when greeted "hello" or "hi", but when you say "good morning", "good day" or "good evening" and "have a nice day" they look at you with much more friendly face :) Unfortunately as much as we tried to be polite and friendly we didn`t get it back as much, but that didn`t bother that much eather.

A recommendation - when you check in, let the administrator know what kind of room you want! We are two people very much in love and they gave us a room with two sepparate beds :)))) Luckily we could change it on the next day.

In conclusion - it is a very clean and nice hotel with a great location!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moncito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2009

We spent the week sailing in the VI's and needed a place to stay for the last night before flying home. We chose the BW Emerald Beach because of it's proximity to the airport - wanting not to deal with cabbing across the island before our flight. It was the perfect hotel for this purpose. Less than a 5 minute cab ride to airport so we got to enjoy all day at the beach. The beach at the hotel was lovely. Very calm and I'd imagine great for kids. Plenty of beach chairs for everyone. The hotel staff was all very nice and our room was clean.
If you were staying for multiple days, you may get bored at this hotel as there is really nothing else within walking distance. If you had a car, probably not a big deal. The hotel did have a free shuttle to the other BW around the corner that had a Mexican restaurant. We went there for happy hour and dinner - it was great!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckles08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2009

My husband and I have been to the Emerald Beach Resort a dozen times since 2001 and have witnessed at least 20 weddings. This is the only place we now ever go, even though we used to travel the world. My husband and I were actually married there five years ago. We found the hotel staff to be courteous and helpful, especially Debra, the wedding coordinator from Fantasia Weddings. She was professional, courteous and really on top of her game. She was very responsive and eased our jitters with her calmness under pressure. We both felt we were in very good hands and the ceremony turned out absolutely beautiful. We have Debra to thank for that and we plan to go back soon to renew our vows with Debra's invaluable assistance. I'd also like to add that all of the weddings that we have witnessed at the resort have been beautiful and have gone off without a hitch. The Emerald Beach Resort is beyond compare.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mc6173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2009

not a very impressive lobby.
Rooms were clean and good sized. set up of the hotel is several different buildings along a path with stairs along the way. good luck with any heavy luggage. beach was nice overall, but crowded..
Avoid the restaurant for any reason.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank storm011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
234 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2009

Having no familiarity with St. Thomas at all (not even geography), we went online looking for a place to stay. We did find a nice list of hotels - which I can't find now - and after reviewing several of them online, there seemed to be a pretty distinct breakdown. There were a couple of fairly high-end spa-type places, and we were going to be running about and that just made no sense, so those were out. There were some places downtown, which isn't bad, but gave no place to really pull back and relax, so we put those into a "hold" status.

Then there was the Best Western Emerald Beach, which looks nice. As it turns out, it's also really close to the airport. I mean close. This isn't as bad as you might think, as the airport doesn't run much during the night, and if you're out all day, you won't hear that many flights. There is a nice, easily-sloping beach, a pool and an an unimpressive restaurant. The staff was not helpful in any way. So do your research before you go.

As a base of operations, it works well. The price is right. But if you want hand-holding, you're looking at the wrong place. I will say, however, that the staff that was there on Monday (we left on Monday) was vastly superior to the staff that was there on the other days that we were there. Also, Monday was a holiday. It's possible that these are the weekday folks, and they are generally better than the weekend staff. It's possible that these are the bottom-of-the-barrel who get stuck with holiday shifts. I don't know. I just know that even if you need directions to a relatively popular destination, you should get them before you arrive. Just in case.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayseae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2009

My son and I stayed at this beautiful resort over Spring Break and I was more than pleasantly surprised. The resort is located very close to the airport but with the airport closing around 9PM we hardlly noticed the planes. The rooms and service at the property were excellant. The whole staff was very friendly with plenty of suggestions on activites and restaurants. We had breakfast each morning sitting next to the beach watching the boats anchored out. The rooms were nicely done and were spotless along with all of the common areas. The resort is located at Lindberg Bay and the beach is fantastic, plenty of chairs, palm trees, and very close to your room. The room we were in on the third floor had the most gorgeous view from the private balcony and was tastefully decorated with a flat screen TV. The room also had a free electronic safe, coffee maker, and small refrigerator and included free high speed internet, the connection was hard wired and not wireless but there was an extra long cable provided, long enough to surf the internet from your balcony. I would strongly recommend this property for the value as we were curious and visited several other places on the island. I hope to return sometime in the future and look forward to the peaceful setting and views.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
7.4 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
7.4 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
2.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Island Beachcomber Hotel
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
3.0 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
6.5 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Beach Resort

Property: Emerald Beach Resort
Address: 8070 Lindbergh Bay | West, Charlotte Amalie 00802-5901, St. Thomas (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerald Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 100% beachfront resort on St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands! Tucked into sun-splashed Lindbergh Bay on the Island of St. Thomas, the beautifully appointed Emerald Beach Resort welcomes guests with the gracious look, style and service of the Virgin Islands' rich heritage. BIG King Size Beds and Spectacular Views from EVERY ROOM! FREE High Speed Internet Access. Flat Screen TVs with Cable TV, 100% Beachfront Views with Balcony and Adjustable air-conditioning. Surrounded by landscaped gardens, cascading waterfalls and lush tropical settings, the Emerald Beach Resort offers a central, convenient location close to the airport, shopping, championship golf and all of St. Thomas's great activities and adventures. With the bounty of land and sea captured in stunning views, it's the perfect place for a memorable vacation. Or an unforgettable wedding, meeting or corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and Kognitiv US Corp so you can book your Emerald Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Emerald Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Best Western St Thomas
Best Western Emerald Beach Resort
St. Thomas Best Western
Emerald Beach Resort St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing