We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, convenient location, beautiful beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Emerald Beach Resort
Reviewed 10 July 2009

Reason for trip:
My family and I stayed here for one night so we could be close to the airport for our early departure. We picked this location over Carib based on traveller reviews. Caneel Bay in St John called and arranged an early checkin for us so we could have time to shop in Charlotte Amalie. No problems with early checkin whatsoever.

First impressions:
We were all pleasantly surprised that the property was well-maintained, and very clean. The service was fine, no problems or rude behavior from the staff, very easy-going. Our room was tidy and clean, although we only had one towel in the bathroom and the shower/bath didn't work or we were unable to figure it out, so we had to bathe in the tub with the water running which was a bit inconvenient. The beds were comfy and we had plenty of linens and pillows and a GREAT AC!! which was nice, we were ready for some cold air.

Hanging out:
After our return from Charlotte Amalie, our daughter went to the pool and my husband and I went to the bar. I took a little dip in the bay and the water was pristine and calm, with little white fish I've grown fond of in the USVI shoreline waters. There were several families enjoying the beach and waters, with many snorkellers and many children playing in the waters. A small boy with arm-floaties told me of his skill of snorkelling, and his fisherman skills. He assured me he could catch one the baby fish for me if I wanted him to. :D
My husband and I were surprised and THRILLED to see Craig at the beach bar to tend to our drinks. We met him two years before in Drakes Passage at the harbor bar and had actually been looking for him again this trip, so we could update our family photo with him! To our delight the stars aligned and allowed us to cross paths again and he got us sufficiently tipsy again! One of the best bartenders and greatest personalities of our life!
He was relieved by Zach from Chicago, an equally skilled and friendly barkeep! He humored us by allowing us to call him "Woody" (due to his similar appearance), and he served us all a delicious dinner from Portofino. (Husband had Lobster, I had Ravioli, and the little one had Alfredo.) Really delicious and great value.

Little Extras:
Resident Iguanas are friendly and like to be fed fruit and veg from the patrons.
Great, great, great cab driver from new york was there at 0600 hrs when we went outside to hail a cab. Wish I got his name! But he wokrs in New york in the summers and St Thomas from Dec-May usually, this time later due to grandkids visiting...he had 26 grandkids!
Resident kitties, 2 that I could see. very sweet, very friendly, wanted some love...purrr

Overall:
Great, budget-friendly, no problems. Highly recommend for convenience, price, and experience.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindirita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,535 - 1,541 of 1,813 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2009

I stayed here one night before leaving St. Thomas. The hotel is a 10 to 15 minute walk to the airport. We decided to walk with our luggage rather than get a taxi. As long as its early in the morning and not really hot, the walk is doable. I think all rooms have a balcony and face the ocean. The beach has some waves and is mostly sandy, making a great swimming beach. I snorkeled by the rocks and not really much was there. There were a few small fish and barracuda. There aren't any restaurnats close by so we ate at the hotel's Italian restaurant. It was good. I got pan seared fish and creme brulee. Both were excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinkles200000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2009

We were supposed to have 15 rooms blocked out for our wedding party, and only 2 were reserved. Our guests were told they didn't have any reservations under this party etc etc. The front desk manager never showed up. We waited to talk to her for hours in the lobby when she called and told that she was gonna call in sick. Could never get a hold of her, and she never returned any calls.
Whenever people from our party called, their phone calls were not returned for weeks on out. They were always out of towels, the rooms were okay and the restaurant had very very slow service but okay food. The beach behind the hotel is quite nice..

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank metropilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

i went with friends and kids for 6 days. we had best time ever, this place is very clean, beach is nice and warm. food is excellent on the property. very safe place for kids and 5min. from the airport. staff was very friendly. i would love to go back. island is very beautiful and great shops. i would recommend to rent car, the taxi is very expensive to go around. they have sister property that has great mexican food and this property has italian food.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romamahwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

It is a beautyful and cozy hotel. Every room has it`s own balcony and view on the sea!

The rooms were as clean as they possibly could be (every time we entered the room, we bound to carry a bit sand in with our shoes) - and every day there was a little something different done compared the day before (depending on the mood of cleaning ladys) There was one day, as they forgot to leave us towels, but we survived - no big deal, luckily we had one of our own.

As we drove around the island (with a rental car) we noticed that we couldn`t have choosed a better located hotel! We could walk from airport (~10 min) to hotel and from hotel to Charlotte (~25 min). The beach of this hotel was really beautyful and the beach bar was awesome! Maybe we were mistaken, but it seemed that on the south side of the island (where we stayed) was much more sunny than the north side of the island and it was definately much more clean than the south-east and east side of the island. So the location is absolutely great!

The stuff of the hotel seemed not too friendly with us - we noticed they don`t like it really when greeted "hello" or "hi", but when you say "good morning", "good day" or "good evening" and "have a nice day" they look at you with much more friendly face :) Unfortunately as much as we tried to be polite and friendly we didn`t get it back as much, but that didn`t bother that much eather.

A recommendation - when you check in, let the administrator know what kind of room you want! We are two people very much in love and they gave us a room with two sepparate beds :)))) Luckily we could change it on the next day.

In conclusion - it is a very clean and nice hotel with a great location!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moncito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

We spent the week sailing in the VI's and needed a place to stay for the last night before flying home. We chose the BW Emerald Beach because of it's proximity to the airport - wanting not to deal with cabbing across the island before our flight. It was the perfect hotel for this purpose. Less than a 5 minute cab ride to airport so we got to enjoy all day at the beach. The beach at the hotel was lovely. Very calm and I'd imagine great for kids. Plenty of beach chairs for everyone. The hotel staff was all very nice and our room was clean.
If you were staying for multiple days, you may get bored at this hotel as there is really nothing else within walking distance. If you had a car, probably not a big deal. The hotel did have a free shuttle to the other BW around the corner that had a Mexican restaurant. We went there for happy hour and dinner - it was great!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuckles08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

My husband and I have been to the Emerald Beach Resort a dozen times since 2001 and have witnessed at least 20 weddings. This is the only place we now ever go, even though we used to travel the world. My husband and I were actually married there five years ago. We found the hotel staff to be courteous and helpful, especially Debra, the wedding coordinator from Fantasia Weddings. She was professional, courteous and really on top of her game. She was very responsive and eased our jitters with her calmness under pressure. We both felt we were in very good hands and the ceremony turned out absolutely beautiful. We have Debra to thank for that and we plan to go back soon to renew our vows with Debra's invaluable assistance. I'd also like to add that all of the weddings that we have witnessed at the resort have been beautiful and have gone off without a hitch. The Emerald Beach Resort is beyond compare.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mc6173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.4 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
636 reviews
7.4 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#4 of 5 in East End
709 reviews
6.5 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
732 reviews
4.7 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Beach Resort

Address: 8070 Lindbergh Bay | West, Charlotte Amalie 00802-5901, St. Thomas (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: £170 - £399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerald Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 100% beachfront resort on St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands! Tucked into sun-splashed Lindbergh Bay on the Island of St. Thomas, the beautifully appointed Emerald Beach Resort welcomes guests with the gracious look, style and service of the Virgin Islands' rich heritage. BIG King Size Beds and Spectacular Views from EVERY ROOM! FREE High Speed Internet Access. Flat Screen TVs with Cable TV, 100% Beachfront Views with Balcony and Adjustable air-conditioning. Surrounded by landscaped gardens, cascading waterfalls and lush tropical settings, the Emerald Beach Resort offers a central, convenient location close to the airport, shopping, championship golf and all of St. Thomas's great activities and adventures. With the bounty of land and sea captured in stunning views, it's the perfect place for a memorable vacation. Or an unforgettable wedding, meeting or corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Kognitiv US Corp, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Emerald Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Emerald Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Best Western St Thomas
Best Western Emerald Beach Resort
St. Thomas Best Western
Emerald Beach Resort St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing