We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view! Great Hotel!”
Review of Mafolie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mafolie Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful view! Great Hotel!”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

This is a great hotel with a magnificent view and terrific restaurant/bar! It is above the town of Charlotte Amalie about 5 minutes drive, so if you don't have a car you need to take a cab into town, which is neither a problem nor expensive. We did not feel that the rooms or facility were "dated" but if you are concerned about this they are about to undergo renovation this off season. Very good value and a definite "no-brainer" yes to book for your upcoming visit to St Thomas!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahottoddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    183
    83
    24
    34
See reviews for
83
303
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

View absolutely stunning. position a little on the side. Simple and a bit worn out place. Very scaled down breakfast menu. No WiFi in room, you must sit in the restaurant to be connected. No shuttle to town, you have to call a taxi.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr-Loupan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The view from the room was stunning, but it did not make up for the hard bed and pillows, extremely noisy window air conditioner (that they wanted turned off when you left the room), dusty surfaces and run-down bathroom. The shower was so stained (and dirty?) that I would not use it. It is so far from town or other restaurants that expensive taxis were the only method of transportation.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rimaSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

Perfect place for couples. Very convenient location to each side of island, better beaches on the north side. Great restaurant, very friendly and accommodating staff. Amazing views, that are just beautiful and very romantic. I have stayed here 3 times and will be again. Great value.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HunnyDaBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Even though it had a funny name we were excited about staying here for a girl’s only time in the islands. The staff was OK nice and the views are amazing (a huge plus for us) but the place is kind of run down. The restaurant is cool and food was great but avoid the bartender Tussler, he’s just too over the top, way too talkative for a bartender. And don’t think you’re going to walk around in this area as it is kind of sketchy but if you’re Ok with getting a taxi every time you want to go somewhere it’s not too bad. I’d recommend it and may return but would love to hear they have dome some improvements like some of the staff had mentioned they’re planning.

Room Tip: if you stay over the kitchen it will make you hungry all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Highly recommend. My wife and I honeymooned here and could not have picked a better place than this boutique hotel. The view is unmatched only by the service. Everyone made us feel so welcomed and made an effort to get to know us to the extent we were willing. The sunset was breathtaking every night, and you can watch it from the pool, the bar, or the restaurant. The pool was great. It wasn't olympic sized, no diving boards or slides, but it was well maintained and the pool area had chaise loungers, umbrellas, and was very relaxing. The snack bar had great lunch food and voodoo punch cocktails. The restaurant was fantastic too. The fresh catch was always delicious and prepared well, and they had plenty to offer for my wife who doesn't eat fish. The prices were comparable. When the restaurant was closed for staff christmas party, they invited all of the hotel guests to the party. DJ, buffet, drinks, the works, all on Mafolie. I've never experienced such great hospitality. Charlotte Amalie can be a little too fast paced, and it didn't offer much for night life anyway, so I'm glad we stayed above. Mafolie offered free shuttle to Magen's anyway.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We visited the Mafolie March 28-April 2, 2013. We were in St. Thomas for a family wedding. It was our first trip to St. Thomas. I titled this review "a mixed bag" because there were both good and not so good aspects to the hotel. For the good, the view is unsurpassed. The hotel is on a hill overlooking the bay at Charlotte Amalie. There is an open air restraunt and bar the are quit good. The pool also overlooks the bay. The price is price was low for the area.
The not so good is that the rooms are somewhat rustic. The shower in our room did not have "hot" water. The water was only warm at best. It was so tepid that you could not use the cold water faucet to get more water pressure or it was totally cold. There was not hair dryer in the rooms, so we had to bring our own hair dryer and unplug the TV to use it. Also, the room air conditioner was a very small wall unit that was not up to keeping the room comfortably cool during the day in the moderate conditions we faced. I would be concerned that it might be very hot in the room during summer.
The hotel is also too far for anything to walk. A taxi is required. The restaurant is not open for lunch. There is an out door grill that serves lunch, but it is not open if it rains or if the cook does not show up. It was open only one day during our stay.
The Mafolie is quirky, but the view may be worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiger061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
5.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
634 reviews
2.0 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
715 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mafolie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mafolie Hotel

Property: Mafolie Hotel
Address: 7091 Estate Mafolie | Mafolie Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00802-3419, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mafolie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mafolie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mafolie Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Mafolie Charlotte Amalie
Mafolie Hotel St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing