We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Stay”
Review of Mafolie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mafolie Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Mafolie from Feb.19-26
We could not believe the wonderful room with an outstanding view, that we had.
The staff was so so friendly. Everyone from the front desk, the cook in their restaurant, the bartender, and the maids were incredibly friendly and helpful.
When we were in our room we could leave the door open. The weather was absolutely perfect. We never even thought about putting on the air conditioner. The breeze wafted in trough the open windows and was great!

Room Tip: I will be asking for room 117 the next time we go there. It has it's own patio, The room is hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

My family could not have had a better experience. As soon as we arrived Chad made us feel at home and that the staff was there to help make our experience perfect. The view from our room was amazing. The food in the restaurant was far from a the typical hotel restaurant offering. The local lobster was great (even better than the Maine lobster I'm used to) Several of the staff had taken the time to remember my family's names which was a very nice touch and added to our experience. The hotel has a lot of character, beautiful stone steps, lots of unique passage ways connecting the different hotel locations, its a very non-typical layout. Steve- who was our waiter on several occasion had great recommendations for family activities and local island adventures. Adam the hotel manger was always busy making every guest was satisfied. The management and staff at the Mafolie are exceptionally approachable and always professional. If your looking for a great experience this is it. I would recommend this hotel and restaurant without reservation. If your going to St. Thomas make this a part of your trip.

Room Tip: The pool area is great for reading a book and getting a drink
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We came off long flight for 1 night. Room almost $300.00 booked through expedia. Room had locked outside date and plastic entry key. Went directly to restaurant for dinner and left passport pouch and checks next to bed. Next day realized passport was gone. Manager would not even listen to what happened. Chad was worse. Only Lisa acted human. Were it not for expedia there would be no help. Refused to give refund. Filed police report . I do not believe they wash the sheets and there are biting bugs. When told manager Adam he would regret not giving refund for huge inconvenience and aggravation. He told my husband I threatened him.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MafolieManagement, Owner at Mafolie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

When this guest told us of her alleged stolen passport we immediately took action. (The guest did not notify us of this until twelve hours after checkout). We can run a report of every key that was used to gain entry to the guests room. During the guests one night stay it was ONLY the guests key card who accessed her room. We also viewed the camera's and it was only the guest on video who accessed her room.

We were very interested in assisting the guest in filling a police report. We would either like to identify whomever is responsible for this or more likely clear our name. To this date we have never been contacted by the police about any report that this guest may have filed.

With out ANY evidence that this guest had her passport stolen out of our hotel room I could not offer a full discount as this guest demanded. We did offer to buy this guest dinner in our award winning restaurant.

Finally when the guest said I would regret not giving her a full refund I did take it as a threat. Again if there was any single shred of evidence that this passport was taken from the guests room we would have certainly refunded the guests stay. Even with that being said we still offered the guests dinner in our restaurant which they declined once they found out they could not "run up a huge tab on expensive wine".

I wish this guest luck in finding their passport. We will contact the police to provide all of our security footage and door lock audit to assist in the investigation.

Adam W. Israel
Owner
Mafolie HOtel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Amazing views all over the hotel, especially by the pool and from the room I got. Fantastic and extremely friendly staff throughout - from front desk to the crew at the restaurant. Special thanks to Chad for going out of his way and ensuring I had a great stay in STT

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dane3500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

The Mafolie Hotel and Restaurant was perfect for our 1st trip to St Thomas! The view is awesome and it was very quiet and relaxing. The restaurant was good. The view was great but a bit overpriced but you'll find out quickly that everything seems to be that way vs the states. We definitely go back it is a beautiful and quiet place to relax.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank vette13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed with the folks at the Mafolie from March 3 through March 10 and it was amazing. The staff are incredible and attend to every need. They make you feel like family. From Miss Ella at breakfast to Chad, Paul, Steve, Aaron, Duncan, and Jen in the restaurant, the office, and the bar.
We couldn't have asked for a better vacation. This was our fourth time staying at the Mafolie and we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.
Thanks guys.
The Morris family!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise757Sail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MafolieManagement, Owner at Mafolie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Morris Family,
In a boutique hotel like ours it is not uncommon for the staff to really get to know the guests. . When guests truly enjoy themselves and their experience (like your family did) it validates all the hard work these guys and gals put in every day. I will speak for Miss Ella, Steve, Aaron, Duncan, Jen and the entire Mafolie family to say Thank You. Bon Voyage and until we meet again.

Adam W. Israel
The Mafolie Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

okay, here's the deal, the view from this hotel is absolutely stunning. The view from this hotel's pool is absolutely stunning. The view from this hotel's restaurant is absolutely stunning. That's where the stunning and. The rooms are old and dated, the air conditioners are pre set to 73 degrees. And the maid services about is average as it gets. If the rooms were better this would be a five star hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ralphie4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
5.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
712 reviews
2.1 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
731 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mafolie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mafolie Hotel

Address: 7091 Estate Mafolie | Mafolie Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00802-3419, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: £165 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mafolie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mafolie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mafolie Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Mafolie Charlotte Amalie
Mafolie Hotel St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing