We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dated”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Great location for everything with only short taxi ride to anywhere. Beach is lovely with selection of good priced bars.

Room not the best. Needs some tlc and new linens. Shame as with its location it could be beautiful.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank benjluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    102
    69
    47
    49
See reviews for
74
113
26
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bemont, New Hampshire, United States
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My husband and I came here as non-guests so to speak, so I can only tell you what I have seen as we are currently residents of St Thomas. If you wish to have a beach that is comfortable for lounging on and swimming in, with a bar and restaurant (actually two, if you count the Best Western Plus next door), this is your place to check out. Not only that, but it is right next to the airport and a 15 minute walk to the Marina and Water Island Ferry.

We were treated very well and I was shown a room with 2 full beds on the first floor, which looked clean enough. This particular day it was very busy. Guests from local cruise ships are brought to this beach so it looks more crowded than it is.

Taxis arrive to bring you where you need to go to discover more of the island. If you wish to stock your small fridge with groceries, I would suggest Fruit Bowl, Cost U Less or K Mart trips to stock up for a visit of a week.

Room Tip: Bottom floor, Room 109 was a good choice for proximity to the restaurant, bar and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The staff and help are first class. The food is average at best. The physical surroundings are something else entirely. The resort, if you can call it that, is in a total state of decay. Maintenance has been a forgotten subject for a long time and it is certainly taking its toll.

The main thing this place has going for it are the plant life on the grounds an being just a few steps from the beach which ims very nice.

For me...out dated is fine, as long as things are kept up; and this is not

Room Tip: Try the Island view guesthouse. Continental breakfast every morning. Restaurant only Thursday thru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 860PhillipE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charlotte Amalie hotels

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We (family of 4) were stuck due to the storm in St. Thomas and our only option with available rooms was the Island Beachcomber hotel.
the price was super expensive (325 $ per night) for two semi-double beds and a bathroom that seemed to be falling apart. also, the room was dirty with hair everywhere and a weird yellow color coming out of the toilet!

except some sweet girls in the reception and bar, the rest of the staff wasnt so polite nor welcoming.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thalia_pap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calais, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We arrived in St. Thomas after a vacation on Tortola with no place to stay and after looking around near the airport stumbled upon this gem of a place. It is very affordable, clean, on the beach with a nice bar and gorgeous gardens. It is one of the older places around which we love to find as they have character. If you enjoy simplicity and comfort all in one package this is it . Thank you for a quiet and enjoyable stay with 1 last day of beach time before flying out . By the way one can also walk to the airport from here which is a huge plus. A charming older hotel with amazing beach front and lush gardens offering a change from the standard hotel experience.

Room Tip: We had a 1st floor room facing the gardens near the beach on the back of the hotel which we found ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vermontliskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Another nice stay at the beachcomber. We arrived Thanksgiving day to 2 oceanfront king rooms. The rooms are clean and the beds comfy and the A/C ice cold. This is not the ritz or a marriott folks, so if you're looking for that then don't book here. This is a small, family owned resort with great employees on a beautiful beach. I definitely recommend the oceanfront rooms, you are literally 5 steps from the sand. We were here two nights and then moved to the Castle. I wish we had stayed here instead!! The restaurant is awesome, the bar is great and the rooms are a fine place to sleep and shower. If you're worried about the location by the airport, know that flights stop early, and start late, we had no issue having our sleep disturbed by the flights, and we actually enjoyed watching the planes as we floated in our tubes in the crystal clear, zero rock, zero ledge beach steps from our door. We WILL stay here again next year. Recommendations? if you like fluffy towels, then bring them, I definitely recommend the beach front rooms, even when it rained we enjoyed watching the water.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rx7suzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

(I did not stay overnight at this hotel.)
This place is a 10 minute WALK from the airport. Beach is fantastic!

We had several hour layover between ferry ride and our flight home. From ferry landing we took a taxi to the airport + checked in for our flight. If you talk to the baggage porters, they will store your bag at the airport for the day - $3/bag. (The hotel will also store your bag, but they you have to lug it to the hotel)

We then walked to hotel + swam on the beach for last 4 hours in the VI!. There is a great restaurant/bar right on the beach. There were very few people around, and bar looks right out to beach, so we felt pretty safe leaving our daybag on the beach while we went for a swim.

Directly to the right of the hotel (if you are facing the ocean) are public bathrooms with outdoor shower to rinse off.

The hotel also offers 'day rates' on hotel rooms when available.

Room Tip: Beach is beautiful!
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank walkersarahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.3 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
632 reviews
1.8 mi away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
701 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,775 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Beachcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Beachcomber Hotel

Property: Island Beachcomber Hotel
Address: 8071 Lindberg Bay, Charlotte Amalie 00802-5901, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Beachcomber Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Island Beachcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Island Beachcomber
Island Beachcomber Charlotte Amalie
Island Beachcomber Hotel St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing