We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An inexpenseive option for a one night stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Beachcomber Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Island Beachcomber Hotel
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An inexpenseive option for a one night stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed at the Beachcomber the night before catching the ferry to Tortola to begin our week long sail boat charter. The hotel is a three minute drive from the airport, so be sure to secure a good price before catching a cab from the airport. When we arrived the lady at the front desk was incredibly pleasant and gave us rooms right on the beach...which was great. We tried to eat at the restaurant twice, but both times the restaurant was closed, so we ended up walking down the beach to the Best Western. The drinks at the bar were reasonably priced, but the bar food was definitely not something to write home about. The rooms are also below average in terms of cleanliness, but for the price and the beach location you just can't beat it.

Now for the good...the staff was very friendly and helpful, the price was awesome compared to other alternatives in Charlotte Amelie, the fact that I could actually jump from my rooms doorway into the sand was unbeatable, and the beach only has two resorts so it was very nice and quiet (aside from the departing airplanes).

I wouldn't recommend staying more than a night or two, but definitely worth a short-term stop over.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank araino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    98
    65
    47
    45
See reviews for
68
108
24
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mountain, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We missed our cruise ship in Miami and flew to St. Thomas to catch the ship there. Got off the plane and walked from the airport to this Diamond in the ruff. The family owned resort met our every need. We left our room and were immediately stepping onto the white sand beach for sunbathing, swimming,real good snorkeling, and strolling along the quaint bay. The bar had local beers and popular drink selections. We ate all our meals at the Beachcomber in an open air dining area looking out at the ocean. Had such a wonderful time there that if my parents were not on the cruise ship already we might have just stayed there and not gotten on the ship.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Spanky andChris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

I have been staying at The Island Beachcomber since the late 1970's. A little dated now but always clean and functional with beautiful grounds, friendly and helpful staff and a location that suits my needs. Restaurant and Bar convenient, I always have a wonderful visit here. Will continue to stay at Island Beachcomber every chance I get.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
148 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed one night and it was one night too many. The beach was gorgeous and the beers at the beach side bar were very affordable. Staff was very friendly and polite. Easy access from the airport. The landscaping was beautiful.

The room was in terrible conditions. Box springs on the beds were exposed and the first one appeared to have old blood stains on it. We opted not to sleep in that bed. Room was very moldy triggering our allergies. Water was yellow. Bathroom had old plastic shower that was peeling and stained orangey yellow from the water. Toilet was on a concrete square painted white which showed plenty of dirt. The corners of the floors all had accumulated crude in them. The room was poorly lit, making reading in bed difficult.

Our restaurant experience in the morning was being greeted by an extremely large cockroach that sauntered out of the kitchen before our slow moving waitress. We decided to have coffee only.

The beach really was wonderful, however, and if you drank enough of their reasonably priced beers I suppose the room conditions wouldn't matter. Sleeping on the beach would have been a trade up for me.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charlotte Amalie hotels

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed for a weekend and with my boyfriend from Jan.25-27,2014. The location is great! The hotel is quiet, clean, and comfy. Literally ON the beach. The front desk staff were wonderful and very helpful. Could the hotel itself be a bit more modern? Well yes, there's always room for improvement but for the price we paid and the easy access to everything nearby, it wasn't bad at all. There isn't an actual restaurant in the hotel but there is one right next door in the Best Western. It's a bit pricey but if you don't feel like leaving the hotel, it's perfect. Taxi rides are also easily accessable. Two most common places to see and shop are 1.downtown - where the cruises pull in and all you see are tourists such as yourself and about 500 jewelry shops every 5 feet you walk. 2.Frenchtown - VERY nice place to find good restaurants to eat in. If you're not looking for something too fancy to eat in Frenchtown, there's a "classy" pizzeria called the Pie Whole and the food is delicious with reasonable prices!

But back to the hotel itself.. I definitely see myself booking another weekend and staying there again. You can even ask the front desk staff if you could print your boarding pass to save you time at the airport. Clean room, functional a/c, tv, mini fridge, we had no issues whatsoever.

Room Tip: You dont hear any noise from the bar on the second floor - if what you're looking for is a more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Firstly if you think this a posh resort or even a plain old resort you are mistaken !
outdated & showing her age ? Yes ...
We have been visiting her for 7 years ( 1st year due to weather delays at STT ) and ever since we call it the start of our vacation - Please NOTE - we do 1 day in STT and 8 over on STJ.....
We always start our vacation off in STT and stay at the Island Beachcomber- can we stay at a newer or nicer hotel ? yes, but you wither get this place or dont - For us it is what it is - A PLACE to stay for one night before heading to STJ.
Sure rooms are old and probs not redecorarted since the Love Boat on TV cancelled but they are clean , in 7 years never had a dirty sheet pillowcase etc, A/C works, hot water and room was clean - oh yes staff very very friendly...... Its sits 20 feet from one of the best beaches on STT .............

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontheheynow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Great location for everything with only short taxi ride to anywhere. Beach is lovely with selection of good priced bars.

Room not the best. Needs some tlc and new linens. Shame as with its location it could be beautiful.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank benjluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.5 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
2.0 mi away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
7.3 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
3.0 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Beachcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Beachcomber Hotel

Property: Island Beachcomber Hotel
Address: 8071 Lindberg Bay, Charlotte Amalie 00802-5901, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Beachcomber Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Island Beachcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Island Beachcomber
Island Beachcomber Charlotte Amalie
Island Beachcomber Hotel St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing