We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, Relaxing, and Comfortable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Miller Manor Guest House
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We enjoyed the historic stone/brick building--from the 1800s--that is built on the hillside above Charlotte Amalie. Open air deck and bar and a fabulous view of the red roofed buildings below and the port. We were welcomed with an evening Rum Punch and our hosts' (Harry and Marge) conversation; Advice: get directions; can be difficult to find since not all streets have signs. Our room was clean and comfortable; pricing is moderate, so don't expect high-end elegant--we had microwave and refrigerator. Bed and Breakfast atmosphere (no breakfast, though!) and good help with where to go and restaurants. Marge and Harry are from Colorado--we really enjoyed our stay here! (Bill and Debbi)

Room Tip: Look for coupon online to upgrade your room at NC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillnDebbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2011

The couple who run the place are really nice.

It's not far from the airport, but it's not in a great neighborhood. They even said they don't recommend walking outside after dark. We looked over the balcony at night and saw prostitutes on the main street.

There was no breakfast, but they did have good recommendations of places to eat. The room was basic but we got a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ekawika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

My husband, son and girlfriend, and I stayed at Miller Manor one night in April en route to pick up our sailboat charter in Tortola. The property is perched on a hillside offering a spectacular view of the St Thomas harbor. Before long we were at the balcony bar looking out at the view, being served complimentary rum punches. and chatting with another group of sailors and a young couple from California there for a wedding. Marj and Harry gave us dinner suggestions (all within walking distance, but be prepared for the uphill return trip!) and even re-opened the bar later that evening to give our late-arriving son and girlfriend their rum punches. They are truly generous, honest people who want their guests to enjoy their stay. The next morning, sipping our complimentary tea and coffee on the same balcony, we watched irridescent hummingbirds feed at the feeders and iguanas, draped on a tree, snooze in the sun. Harry called us a cab and we were off, but we will certainly return next time we go sailing in the BVIs (note: it was cheaper to fly into St Thomas and ferry over to Tortola than to fly into Tortola via San Juan). As noted, rooms are clean and comfortable with a/c , TV, refrig and microwave, but are somewhat dated. Ours opened out to a patio and our son's opened out to a private deck, both with that wonderful view. Computers with internet access are available in the lobby area. Go to the Ritz Carlton and pay $400 if you need extra amenities! Also, I always am looking for the quietest accommodations, and Miller Manor fit the bill in that department too.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HMF58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

If you want to stay in a hotel that is different than a chain this may be your place. Marj and Harry are the proprietors and are very friendly and accommodating. The manor is old but rooms are clean and sufficient, with air conditioning, refrigerator and microwave oven. We stayed over night on two occasions for one night on each visit and were completely satisfied.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sargent_donald_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

I recently was awarded a trip to St. Thomas and needed an upfront one night stay...after searching trip advisor I settled on Miller Manor...before our arrival (myself and 2 friends) Marj and Harry were very responsive to my reservation request and to later emailed questions...after a long day of delayed and missed flights we made it to the island all be it 3 hrs late...while waiting in line for my rental car I dialed up Miller Manor and talked to Marj...Marj said she would stay by the phone in case we had any trouble finding our way to the Hotel...after one missed turn I made a call, Marj answered and guided us to the Hotel only to find Marj and Harry wating for us out front of the Hotel...after introductions and check in we were walked to our rooms by Marj and Harry...the amazing thing is, by this point we felt like we had known our Host for years but had only been 20 minutes.

I could go on and on but will hopefully let you, a potential guest, have as great of an experience as we did...oh, and one other thing, we scheduled our departure from the island on Saturday...we got to the airport and found out we would not make our connecting flight home through Charlotte NC due to a 6 hour delay in St Thomas...we decided to ring up Marj and Harry to see if we could spend the night at Miller Manor instead of some airport Hotel in Charlotte...again, it was like old friends saying "sure, come on back"...we couldn't have been more happy we got to spend a little more time at the Manor.

I plan on going back to St Thomas in the near future and will skip the big resort for the warm friendly old world charm of the Miller Manor...I would highly recommend Miller Manor for my european friends or for those who like european travel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eyebeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We stayed at Miller Manor pre & post our Seabourn cruise arriving on the last flight into St Thomas we were welcomed by Marge & Harry with drinks, which was a nice surprise as we had been flying all day from LAX.
Not much time to enjoy Marge & Harry's hospitality on the first day as we headed off to the Port after a relaxing night.
On our return we stayed 2 nights, we enjoyed sitting on the veranda taking in the wonderful views and watching the Hummingbirds feed from the feeders.
Marge & Harry advised of places to eat and we were not disappointed with their recommendations.
Miller Manor is within walking distance of Town and Frenchtown but we chose to use taxis at night.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPA52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We came down to get married and we ended up the right place! Everyone was soooo friendly! Marj & Harry were the best people ever! The animals were friendly as well! We cannot wait to come back and visit! The room was spacious and had BEAUTIFUL VIEWS! WE WOULD COME BACK 1000 TIMES IF WE COULD! BEST EXPERIENCE AT A MANOR EVER! LOVE YOU GUYS!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colvards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte Amalie hotels
0.6 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
575 reviews
0.4 mi away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Olga's Fancy
Olga's Fancy
#4 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,815 reviews
0.5 mi away
Midtown Guest House
Midtown Guest House
#12 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
25 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miller Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miller Manor Guest House

Address: 2527 Prindsesse Gade | Usvi, Charlotte Amalie 00802-5502, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: £54 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our casual accommodations are conveniently located within walking distance to ferries to other islands, historic sites, great duty free shopping, and easy transportation to some of the island's best beaches. We have fantastic views of the harbor and town from our hillside location. We offer clean and comfortable air conditioned rooms, a terrace bar for conversation and watching the activity in Charlotte Amalie's busy harbor, and complimentary continental breakfast. The Miller Manor offers a true family guesthouse atmosphere for a relaxing visit to St. Thomas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Miller Manor Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Miller Manor Guest House St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing