We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hosts !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Miller Manor Guest House
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Marj and Harry (our hosts, with the help of Scott) were our wonderful hosts at the Miller Manor, a well located B&B in the heart of town. The place is very nice, well maintained, comfortable and safe. It has beautiful views of the harbor and the various ships, boats and even seaplane. I could stare at that view all day. There are excellent views from the many balconies on the property and a pleasant breeze almost all the time. We would definitely go back and look forward to visiting our new friends and hosts. Thank you!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank kensk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mm1942, Owner at Miller Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Miller Manor and felt comfortable with us. It's one of our goals to create that kind of atmosphere for our guests..and our gallery is a good place to start unwinding from the faster pace of the work-a-day world and for getting into vacation mode.

Thanks for mentioning Scott, who is a great help for guests, with many suggestions for getting around St. Thomas.

We really appreciate your kind words, and for taking the time to write about us. We enjoyed hosting you and your family. We hope we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

I never want to stay anywhere else in my life.

There is no location more beautiful, affordable, and friendly than here.

Miller Manor is situated on a bit of a hill that can be a pain to climb, but it allows Miller Manor's bar and breakfast area to have an incredible view. As much as there is to do on the island, I could lounge at Miller Manor for days and days. Island time indeed.

The rooms are clean and well-kept in spite of the location's age. The smallest room does unfortunately share a public bathroom, but all the larger rooms will have private ones. WiFi access is limited, but honestly, you can access internet anywhere, but the view is only available here.

OH, THE PEOPLE! Miller Manor's proprietors are the nicest couple! I spent so long just shooting the breeze with them and shooting shots of their numerous pets (if you're scared of dogs, this might be a bad place to stay actually). As busy as they are maintaining this gorgeous locale, they always have time to chat and entertain. Their friendliness is infectious; the long-term residence and short-term visitors all feel like a happy family and the warmth they show to guests is unparalleled.

I cannot speak highly enough of Miller Manor Guest House. If you are ever visiting the Virgin Islands, STAY HERE.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mm1942, Owner at Miller Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thanks so much for your warm words. We are indeed fortunate to be blessed with such lovely views, and happy that we can share them with appreciative guests! We can't do anything about the climb to get here, except suggest arriving via taxi or rental car, but the view from the gallery is worth the exertion.

Because of our hurricane-proof construction (this building withstood a number of them in its long history--the Manor proper is probably 150-160 years old) wifi works more effectively in outdoor areas, but we're working to improve the coverage. Perhaps the next time you come, it will be better. Your attitude is great, though, and you're right. You can only get these wonderful panoramas on St. Thomas!

Our guests do feel like family, and many have become friends. We're glad you were happy with your experience with us, and hope we will be your choice again when you return to St. Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

I was on my way to a BVI sailing class and stayed for a night on recommendation of the school. I went back after the class for 4 more days. The people who own, work at, and the longer term guests are all some of the nicest people you will meet in your travels. The view from the deck is stunning. Visit here SOON.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank gmeddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mm1942, Owner at Miller Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Sailors are great folks!! Thanks for choosing us for your stopover before your sail, and thanks for taking the time to write such a kind review. it is greatly appreciated. We hope we will see you before and after many more sails!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My two children and I spent 3 days at Miller Manor in early January as we flew into St. Thomas airport and missed the ferry to the BVI, where we planned to sail. Our only mistake was not spending a few more days in St. Thomas at Miller Manor, a beautiful, old Danish mansion re-modeled to function as a hotel. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and each one had its own unique style. The restaurant/bar is very convenient to access from the rooms and has an absolutely stunning view of the harbor. We spent hours just watching ships and seaplanes come and go. The staff at Miller Manor is extremely hospitable -- after 30 minutes you feel like you've come home as they treat you like family. The service was exceptional, from baggage handling, calling taxis, logistical help of all kinds, trip planning, and bar service! They do it all! We so enjoyed our stay at the Manor that we are considering coming down to St. Thomas again later this winter to spend a long weekend there while exploring St. Thomas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony to catch the great views of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MatthewTOKeefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mm1942, Owner at Miller Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

It was a pleasure to host you and your family. When guests are pleasant and appreciative-- it's easy to be hospitable! Thanks for taking the time to write your kind review. We look forward to your return!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We lucked into Miller Manor resulting from a referral from Bunker Hill when they were full.

Marge and Harry were outstanding hosts, making us feel very comfortable. Our party used several rooms, and they accommodated a very late check out from one room so we could shower right before going to the airport.

The setting is excellent on the edge of the hill above the harbor (just up from the BVI ferry and St. Croix Seaplane docks). The public areas include an entry courtyard with trees, a lower level broad patio with picnic tables that was great in the late evening, and an upper level covered patio where Marge and Harry served simple breakfast items, and (with the help of Scott) early evening drinks. The early evening on the covered patio felt wonderfully convivial with other guests, hummingbirds flitting around, and views across the harbor, while the hosting cats and dogs were sitting on the floor. It was walkable to downtown or to Frenchtown for dinner, but one should note that it is an uphill climb to get back. The rooms were all quite comfortable, but the common space and the hosting was extraordinary.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cbr_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mm1942, Owner at Miller Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

We greatly appreciate your kind words. You and your group made it very easy to be good hosts! if I were to write a review for you, I would say that you were kind, courteous, interesting and fun!
Thanks, and come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This review is really just to confirm what others have said: Miller Manor is a great find and if you have the opportunity, it is a great choice of a place to stay in Charlotte Amalie.

The way we found Miller Manor was a bit round-about. We originally booked with Bunker Hill (which looked nice as well), but just before we were to leave to go sailing (we were staying at Bunker Hill on our return), they wrote to say they did not have rooms. They found us alternatives at Miller Manor.

We were greeted by Marge on our arrival, who got us immediately settled in to four rooms, including one of what I would rate as a premier room (105) that had a private balcony overseeing the bay. We also had another room with a private balcony and two that opened on to a joint, very large balcony with tables and chairs. All of the rooms were quite comfortable and as much as might be expected. They are well air conditioned, have moderate sized (but compact) refrigerators that worked well, ceiling fans and closet space.

The public area includes another large balcony where drinks and breakfast foods are served, reading areas (with lots of books), a shelf of toys (snorkels/masks/fins, etc.), a computer w/ printer, and a few friendly dogs and cats.

In addition to the physical niceties, the place is made just that much better by Marge, Harry and Scott who all go out of their way to help out. Indeed, they may be the highlight to staying there.

Oh... the location is also very convenient if you come in by ferry as it would be quite walkable if you were going by backpack. in fact, you can walk down to the ferry just about as fast as you can drive down. The airport is a 10 minute drive away. You can walk to restaurants and the shops. We parked outside (though you park on the side of the streets, which makes it tight. The locals turn their outside mirrors in).

Room Tip: Room 105 probably has about the best view and is quite comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anonymous-Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mm1942, Owner at Miller Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thanks for taking some of your valuable time to write a review for us. We are so fortunate to have this lovely place to be--and when our guests appreciate our efforts--it's icing on the cake!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Miller Manor has a true homey atmosphere. Set into a hillside above Charlotte Amalie's harbor, Miller Manor is unpretentious, and very welcoming. Harry and Marge go TOTALLY OUT OF THEIR WAY to ensure their guest's comfort. There is a fabulous view from the deck of the harbor and the cruise ships, with a rooftop bar,and resident Scott mixing up a killer Zombie. There's a snack menu for most times of the day, and Harry would brew coffee for me every morning. Light breakfast comes with most rooms, and was perfect for the early mornings. There's a washer/dryer, detergent in vending machine etc.They have a HUGE library on site, as well as internet access. We stayed in a smaller unit, and all was fine. Many units have lovely views, and private terraces. It's kind of like your best friend's parent's beach house- but on St. Thomas. All the taxi drivers at the airport know where Miller Manor is located, and I think I got more respect, staying at such a local place. Love resident cats, Bob, Homer, and Phoebe! Lots of local nightlife around, and roosters crowing from 4am, so earplugs help, if you wish to sleep early or late. :-)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mm1942, Owner at Miller Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Thanks so much for your kind words! We will try to live up to them, and pass the warm feelings you have created with them on to our future guests. We appreciate it so much when someone takes time from their busy schedules to write a review about us. Come back and see us soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte Amalie hotels
0.1 mi away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
712 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Olga's Fancy
Olga's Fancy
#4 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
428 reviews
1.8 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,811 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bluebeard's Castle Resort
Bluebeard's Castle Resort
#1 of 6 in Charlotte Amalie
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miller Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miller Manor Guest House

Address: 2527 Prindsesse Gade | Usvi, Charlotte Amalie 00802-5502, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: £57 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our casual accommodations are conveniently located within walking distance to ferries to other islands, historic sites, great duty free shopping, and easy transportation to some of the island's best beaches. We have fantastic views of the harbor and town from our hillside location. We offer clean and comfortable air conditioned rooms, a terrace bar for conversation and watching the activity in Charlotte Amalie's busy harbor, and complimentary continental breakfast. The Miller Manor offers a true family guesthouse atmosphere for a relaxing visit to St. Thomas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Miller Manor Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Miller Manor Guest House St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing