We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoroughly enjoyed our visit!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Miller Manor Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
LEWISBERRY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thoroughly enjoyed our visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

The view from the porch is spectacular! Enjoyed watching the hummingbirds at the feeders-- and meeting all of the people! The owners are very helpful with information -- we would stay again!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDHPAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    47
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
87
17
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

My friends and I fell in love with Miller Manor a nanosecond after we walked through the front gate. It has so much charm, history and a unique atmosphere. Great views, too. There are playful critters to entertain the animal lovers. Wonderful nooks to sit back and take in the water views, enjoy a chapter of a book or write postcards. A bar area with entertainment topped off our evening. The rooms were clean and accommodating. You'd really miss something special if you pass up the chance to stay in this one-of-a-kind hotel/guest house. It's also convenient to Main Street shops and the airport. And check out the old stone walls. Very cool!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anchordiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

My husband, daughter and I spent two nights at Miller Manor while traveling to St. John. The property is centrally located between the airport and the cruise terminal. The Manor is situated on the hillside overlooking Charlotte Amalie Habor. The rooms were very comfortable and well equipped. The friendly personal service provided by the hosts Marge and Harry was wonderful. The views of Charlotte Amalie harbor were fantastic and the historical charm of the property is evident throughout. The common balcony is a great place to relax, read, enjoy a drink at the bar, watch the humming birds feeding or strike up a conversation with other travelers. We would definitely recommend Miller Manor for families and couples.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cervelochic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

The Miller Manor is a lovely inn with great customer service in a really odd location. It's perched high on a high in a somewhat sketchy neighborhood. The views were great, but I would've preferred to be a bit closer to the action for my first visit to St. Thomas.

The rooms were clean - although I was greeted by a tarantula. (Thank goodness one of the innkeepers was there to delicately move the furry guy!) It seemed a bit pricey - but it's St. Thomas.

The bar is great for hanging out with the innkeepers and their ex-pat friends.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimCurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colesburg
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

What a wonderful place to stay. Very home like atmosphere and very accommodating. We traveled on to another island and they kept our winter gear at the hotel until we returned. The drinks at the bar were authentic island drinks and very tasty. Everyone knew where Miller Manor was. It has a great reputation in the area. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
466 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 774 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2011

My wife and I stayed here three nights during January and were very pleased with our stay. We stayed in a balcony room and our view was of the town of Charlotte Amalie and the harbor below was spectacular. It really was a lot of fun just to watch the cruise ships come in the morning and leave during the evening.

The room itself was very clean and contained a microwave, couch, refrigerator, and A/C unit. The bathroom, while not large, was quite adequate and we did think it was a nice touch that they provided beach towels.

The owners could not have been nicer and offered us directions and suggestions of where to eat. They even gave us a welcoming drink when we checked in.

The only downside to his place is location. While it does have a great view, you are far from the touristy areas in town. I am glad we had a car when we stayed here. I am not an expert in what areas of Charlotte Amalie are "safe" or "unsafe." All I know is we did not feel comfortable walking around the area at night.

Although I believe a car is helpful, the hotel does not have a private parking lot. Instead, you have to park on the street surrounding this hotel. We never had a problem finding a parking spot, so it wasn't too stressful. I was a little worried about my rental car overnight because it was obvious it was a rental car but nothing happened to it.

If you are driving, make sure you get directions from the airport to the hotel before you go. DO NOT USE GOOGLE MAPS. If you follow the directions from the hotel, you will be able to find it. If you try to figure it out on your own, forget it. Charlotte Amalie is a jumble of narrow streets and there are no street signs once you get off the main street. After you find this place the first time, it's really kind of easy.

By giving this place a "5" rating, I don't want to mislead people into thinking this is the Ritz Carlton. You are not going to be pampered here and it is not a full fledged resort hotel. This is a place for independent travelers, who want something different than your typical resort hotel room.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anacortes
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

We stayed in Miller Manor January 8-12, 2011 and had a great time. The managers, Harry and Marj are a delightful couple that do everything to try to make your stay most enjoyable. Listen to Harry’s advice on where to eat. He is quite knowledgeable about the quality and cost of many different restaurants and the only place we had trouble was when we forgot to ask his advice first and went to a terrible place downtown.
The rooms are NOT standard, but are definitely “Caribbean” in their character. If you need a Westin Hotel, go to a Westin Hotel…..otherwise, if you want to save a LOT of money and enjoy it on more important aspects of the trip then this is your place. The rooms are very clean and the view is fantastic from the central gathering area. The stairs are a bit steep and long to the different rooms, but Harry will help you with your luggage if you have difficulty or are elderly.
When we get back to St. Thomas, there will be no other choice for us. The hotel is great, the neighborhood is safe, and they even have a nice bar to whisk away the exhaustion from flying there from wherever.
Jay and Vernessa H.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelguyAnacortes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte Amalie hotels
0.1 mi away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Island Beachcomber Hotel
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.7 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Olga's Fancy
Olga's Fancy
#4 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miller Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miller Manor Guest House

Property: Miller Manor Guest House
Address: 2527 Prindsesse Gade | Usvi, Charlotte Amalie 00802-5502, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our casual accommodations are conveniently located within walking distance to ferries to other islands, historic sites, great duty free shopping, and easy transportation to some of the island's best beaches. We have fantastic views of the harbor and town from our hillside location. We offer clean and comfortable air conditioned rooms, a terrace bar for conversation and watching the activity in Charlotte Amalie's busy harbor, and complimentary continental breakfast. The Miller Manor offers a true family guesthouse atmosphere for a relaxing visit to St. Thomas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Miller Manor Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Miller Manor Guest House St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing