We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to the harbor, businesses and court house. Best run and friendliest small hotel ever visited.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Green Iguana Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Convenient to the harbor, businesses and court house. Best run and friendliest small hotel ever visited.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

I have stayed at the Green Iguana three times in the past two years. It is perfect for my typical short business trips as it is a short walk to the courthouses, businesses and to several nice restaurants. Parking is no problem when you stay here. Bill and Susie are very gracious, helpful and pleasant. They do a great job of making you feel at home. The rooms have always been very clean, well furnished and each has a very nice view. If you have time after work to take in the sights, Bill and Susie can give you some great tips on where to visit. You will want to rent a car in order to see the rest of the island or to enjoy the water sports. Extremely good pricing leaves you with more money to spend having fun. Although there isn't a restaurant on the property, they do have some snacks and refreshments for sale in the office.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are great for relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigfishlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    114
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
54
187
33
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
114 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Green Iguana both before and after our sailing trip in the BVI. The hotel is just lovely. The views are great and the on site management is terrific. We definitely will stay again. We even encountered a large and beautiful iguana, just as you might expect.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joycesnorkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleishmanns, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

More like staying with friends than staying at a tourist hotel. If you are active and enjoy choosing your own pleasures this is good place for you. If you want full service, pool, bar and restaurant this is not for you.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okeydok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitt Meadows, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

I was in Green Iguana for only 2 nights as I sailed away after that -much too short time to learn much about the island of St Thomas. I can definitely recommend the hotel to any peace and comfort loving person. The rooms are very clean, the beds are very comfortable and location is good although if you do not have a car you need to be a little fit to walk up all the steps up from the downtown.
I enjoyed my "up the steps" walks and I enjoyed my stay in Green Iguana.
Pentti

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesignerPentti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

Pack your hiking shoes and your sense of adventure! You'll be climbing more than 99 steps to get to this sweet boutique hotel with the nicest hosts I have ever had the pleasure of meeting.
I love the hotel. It's the right mix of quirky and charming. Nothing cookie-cutter about The Green Iguana.
Bill and Susie are fantastic, very caring and knowledgable. Count on them for suggestions for things to do during your stay.
Look for Igor the iguana. He will make an appearance in the afternoon.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveljunky88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

The hotel managers were said to be gracious and very helpful - we did not find that to be the case. In fact, the husband of the husband/wife team was downright rude. There was not really enjoyable outdoor sitting area, the location was said to be dangerous after dark, the air conditioner roared, the furnishings were outdated, etc, etc. Fortunately, we were only there for two nights. I had picked the place for my husband and I and another couple we were traveling with - I was embarrassed that it was so bad.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHTraveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seasidesusie, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2011
These guests wrote a vindictive review. We had to ask them to leave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

HIGHLY RECOMMEND! A husband and wife Susie and Bill own and operate this hotel. Both were helpful, but we happened to check in while Susie was there and she did an amazing job of getting us situated and giving us directions and suggestions on where to go in st. thomas to walk around and then have dinner. she even accompanied the directions with photos. when i realized i left one of my bags in the taxi, she gave me the number of the taxi dispatch to call and try to get it back. when i got back from dinner that night it had been returned to the hotel and she took care of getting it into my room and tipping the driver for bringing it back. what service! this could have been lost forever.
Our room was clean and a good price. There are some security concerns in st. thomas but we felt very safe at this hotel as they had cameras and multiple locked doors between the main entrance and the individual guest entrances. this hotel is a good location, not too far from the airport, walking distance to food, shops & the ferry.
I would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvanliere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte Amalie hotels
0.6 mi away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
2.3 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Iguana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Iguana Hotel

Property: The Green Iguana Hotel
Address: 1002 Blackbeards Hl, Charlotte Amalie 00802-6732, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Iguana Hotel offers superb amenities with the comforts of home. The Hotel is centrally located within a 5 minute walk to the Town Charlotte Amalie, and 15 minutes by taxi from the airport. The Hotel has the perfect combination of harbor views, downtown shopping, museums, and great restaurants, ferry transit and beautiful Caribbean Sunsets! Enhanced by the service of the resident managers to answer questions, guests are treated like family. In October 2013, The Green Iguana Hotel began operating on Renewable Solar Energy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Green Iguana Hotel St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing