We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View--Great Accomodations- Great Hosts!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Green Iguana Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 April 2011

The Green Iguana is a great hotel within walking distance to downtown Charlotte Amalie but sits high on a high for incredible panoramic views-
There are a variety of room styles to fit every kind of group from families to individual business travelers. The rooms are clean and well maintained.
Best of all, Bill & Susie are the most friendly and helpful hotel managers you will ever meet.
All in all, a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Just ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EnglishSeaDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2011

I have stayed at the Green Iguana three times in the past two years. It is perfect for my typical short business trips as it is a short walk to the courthouses, businesses and to several nice restaurants. Parking is no problem when you stay here. Bill and Susie are very gracious, helpful and pleasant. They do a great job of making you feel at home. The rooms have always been very clean, well furnished and each has a very nice view. If you have time after work to take in the sights, Bill and Susie can give you some great tips on where to visit. You will want to rent a car in order to see the rest of the island or to enjoy the water sports. Extremely good pricing leaves you with more money to spend having fun. Although there isn't a restaurant on the property, they do have some snacks and refreshments for sale in the office.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are great for relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigfishlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Green Iguana both before and after our sailing trip in the BVI. The hotel is just lovely. The views are great and the on site management is terrific. We definitely will stay again. We even encountered a large and beautiful iguana, just as you might expect.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joycesnorkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

More like staying with friends than staying at a tourist hotel. If you are active and enjoy choosing your own pleasures this is good place for you. If you want full service, pool, bar and restaurant this is not for you.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank okeydok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

I was in Green Iguana for only 2 nights as I sailed away after that -much too short time to learn much about the island of St Thomas. I can definitely recommend the hotel to any peace and comfort loving person. The rooms are very clean, the beds are very comfortable and location is good although if you do not have a car you need to be a little fit to walk up all the steps up from the downtown.
I enjoyed my "up the steps" walks and I enjoyed my stay in Green Iguana.
Pentti

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DesignerPentti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Pack your hiking shoes and your sense of adventure! You'll be climbing more than 99 steps to get to this sweet boutique hotel with the nicest hosts I have ever had the pleasure of meeting.
I love the hotel. It's the right mix of quirky and charming. Nothing cookie-cutter about The Green Iguana.
Bill and Susie are fantastic, very caring and knowledgable. Count on them for suggestions for things to do during your stay.
Look for Igor the iguana. He will make an appearance in the afternoon.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveljunky88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

The hotel managers were said to be gracious and very helpful - we did not find that to be the case. In fact, the husband of the husband/wife team was downright rude. There was not really enjoyable outdoor sitting area, the location was said to be dangerous after dark, the air conditioner roared, the furnishings were outdated, etc, etc. Fortunately, we were only there for two nights. I had picked the place for my husband and I and another couple we were traveling with - I was embarrassed that it was so bad.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CHTraveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seasidesusie, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2011

These guests wrote a vindictive review. We had to ask them to leave.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte Amalie hotels
0.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
574 reviews
0.9 mi away
Olga's Fancy
Olga's Fancy
#4 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
72 reviews
2.3 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
429 reviews
1.7 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Iguana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Iguana Hotel

Address: 1002 Blackbeards Hl, Charlotte Amalie 00802-6732, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: £128 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Iguana Hotel offers superb amenities with the comforts of home. The Hotel is centrally located within a 5 minute walk to the Town Charlotte Amalie, and 15 minutes by taxi from the airport. The Hotel has the perfect combination of harbor views, downtown shopping, museums, and great restaurants, ferry transit and beautiful Caribbean Sunsets! Enhanced by the service of the resident managers to answer questions, guests are treated like family. In October 2013, The Green Iguana Hotel began operating on Renewable Solar Energy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Green Iguana Hotel St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing