We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel in a Great Location - Managers Are Superb!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Green Iguana Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hotel in a Great Location - Managers Are Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

My boyfriend and I just returned from our trip to USVI. We stayed at The Green Iguana and really enjoyed our time there! Susie and Bill were very kind and very knowledgeable about the area! After we discovered that our newly found favorite local spot was closed on New Year's Eve, we were unsure where else to go. Discouraged, we retreated to the hotel where we ended up meeting up with Bill and Susie. They invited us to join them and some other guests at another bar to ring in the new year. Bill even gave us a ride! It was really so sweet and it meant a lot to us! On our last morning at the hotel, we woke up to find a book about St. Thomas with a personal note from Bill and Susie outside our door - very thoughtful! For those who are on a budget looking to stay somewhere that is clean, near the center of town, and managed by top-notch folks - this is the place to book!

Room Tip: We stayed in A-1, which had a beautiful view of the harbor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmilingTravelerDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    114
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
54
187
33
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bountiful,Ut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

ok hotel foe a quick stay. Rooms are clean, not in the best neighborhood but security seems good. Fun bar next door at Blackbeards Castle. We rented 4 rooms and all were pleasant, not luxurious.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

Stayed here for one night on our way to St. John. Very convenient location and great views overlooking the town and harbor. You can walk to downtown in less than 10 minutes. Blackbeard's Castle is right next door. The hosts, Susie and Bill, are very friendly and extremely accommodating. They graciously offerred us late check out to fit our schedule at no additional charge.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RobtC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We spent part of our trip to St. Thomas at the Green Iguana Hotel. It was great to spend a few nights in more of the historic part of the Island. At the top of the 99 steps, we enjoyed the proximity to the shopping and local sites. The managers, Bill and Suzie, really take the effort to make sure we were having a great time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

I travel to St Thomas every quarter for work and really enjoyed my first stay at The Green Iguana. As other reviews have stated, Bill and Susie are wonderful! The room was very clean and the AC worked well (a must for me to get a good nights rest). The views from the balcony are excellent and I enjoyed that the property was very peaceful and quiet. I have stayed all over the island pending on the location needed for work, but when I need to be close to Charlotte Amalie, will definitely stay here again. Also for business travelers, the internet worked the entire time I was there and speed was great. Looking forward to my return....

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largo, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

I was at the green aguana for ten days and rued the fact that I could not stay longer. The management,Susie and Bill were very helpful.The units are kept clean and sanitary.The view from the rooms overlooking town and harbor can not be equaled anywhere on the eastern seaboard of the U.S. I enjoyed sitting in the porch looking at the scene.and relax with a rum coke. I do hope to return and chit chat with Bill and Susie again. Jim MacLachlan.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james m M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed at The Green Iguana in May of 2011. Susie and Bill were very helpful and friendly hosts. The grounds were pretty and the room was clean and complete with a small fridge, microwave, in-room safe and tv. I was surpised at the large size of the balcony to our room which overlooked Charlotte Amalie. A great view! You can buy beverages, breakfast sandwiches and snacks in the office. You can walk to downtown Charlotte Amalie using the 99 steps. There are a variety of places to eat within walking distance as well as tons of shopping on the historic alleyways. You must stop at Glady's for breakfast! We did not rent a car as the roads can be narrow with some hairpin turns in the mountains. We used a taxi service recommended by Susie and Bill (very reliable). We often called the same driver who showed us around the island for photos as we went from beach to beach. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cartoman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte Amalie hotels
0.6 mi away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
2.3 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Iguana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Iguana Hotel

Property: The Green Iguana Hotel
Address: 1002 Blackbeards Hl, Charlotte Amalie 00802-6732, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Iguana Hotel offers superb amenities with the comforts of home. The Hotel is centrally located within a 5 minute walk to the Town Charlotte Amalie, and 15 minutes by taxi from the airport. The Hotel has the perfect combination of harbor views, downtown shopping, museums, and great restaurants, ferry transit and beautiful Caribbean Sunsets! Enhanced by the service of the resident managers to answer questions, guests are treated like family. In October 2013, The Green Iguana Hotel began operating on Renewable Solar Energy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Green Iguana Hotel St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing