We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming small hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Green Iguana Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I have stayed at The Green Iguana twice, both time for only one night, but still found it amazingly pleasant. It is small and charming with very personal service. The rooms are very nice with great views of Charlotte Amalie. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cppmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Charming and Quaint are words often used to describe The Green Iguana Hotel! Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

We had a great time staying here - the garden is really pretty and the hotel managers were very friendly and helpful. We stayed for 1 night only but should have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will_M_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

We wish you could have stayed longer too! The Historic District at Charlotte Amalie has so much to offer! Perhaps on your next adventure to St. Thomas you will be able to take advantage of our 3, 4 and 5 Night Specials, stay longer, and explore St. Thomas's Historical District!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I've been coming to the Green Iguana often for a couple years now on business, and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else on St. Thomas. The hotel is clean. The internet works great. There's DirecTV in every room. Some reviews might mention it being near a not so great neighborhood, but once you turn off the road and up their driveway, the location itself is quite nice, right at the top of the "100 steps' next to Blackbeard's Castle, and is quite secure. I've always felt 100% safe. John & Gwen are great hosts, too. Great people, and more than willing to help in any way they can. You won't regret staying here...and probably, you'll end up coming back again and again, like me! :-)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoxWin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

It is ALWAYS good to see you! So, tell us, exactly HOW many of our 9 rooms have you stayed in? We would love for you to sample all of them during your business trips to St. Thomas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

If you are looking for a clean, beautiful hotel with a "like home" feel, the Green Iguana is the place for you! I stayed there in early May 2012 on vacation with my mother. In researching hotels before my trip, hands down John and Gwen were always so warm and professional on the phone more so than any other big name-big price hotel or resort. Upon arrival, they even had cupcakes and a Mother's Day sash as a welcome present for my mother. The room was comfy, clean, and they have great prices. But above all, the staff at the Green Iguana went above and beyond what we were expecting. If you like friendly customer service during convenient hours, coupons to the best restaraunts and activities on the island, loads of tips and advice, and the comfort of knowing you can call the staff for help when you get lost on the island and need a ride (:p), the Green Iguana is the place for you! John and Gwen also bought us drinks our first night and served us delicious homemade banana bread, (though those perks aren't necessarily included in the room price haha). From my perspective the location is good if you don't mind a lovely, short walk down to the waterfront and shopping centers. Lastly, I think it's wonderful that laundry service is available at no additional fee. The Green Iguana is a must stay! Gwen will keep you smiling and John will keep you laughing!

Room Tip: From the balconies of rooms H1 or H2, you can spot the famous Green Iguana sunbathing in a tree; and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renae E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Renae, we got to know you before you arrived! All those phone calls with questions and requests! We are happy we were able to help you celebrate your Mother and your graduation! Best wishes in your Masters Degree quest! We know you will be great! I am certain we will see you when you complete your degree!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We had a wonderful stay at The Green Iguana this past week. The rooms were clean, we had a beautiful view off our balcony, and most importantly, John & Gwen made us feel like family! They were so helpful! It was our first trip to St Thomas and they made our stay amazing! We will definately go back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whit76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

We have awesome guests at The Green Iguana! You guys left as friends! Keep in touch and come back as often as you can! It was fun hanging out with you after hours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I recently stayed at The Green Iguana Hotel May 4 and then again on May 12 and 13. My husband and I and two other couples were going on a sailboat trip in the British Virgin Islands. We flew into St. Thomas and stayed the 1st night at this delightful hotel. Then again 2 more nights at the end of our vacation.

The Managers - Gwen and John were so warm and helpful. Could not have been nicer. The room A6 was spacious, inviting and a breathtaking view of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Large bedroom, bath and wonderful sitting area with awning windows.

We loved the location. So close to town with restaurants and shopping. Just a really lovely small unique hotel. I love the Virgin islands and this hotel was a real fine. Be back soon I hope. Kathy Willis, Indianapolis, IN

Room Tip: A5 and A6 because of the outstanding view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scecina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

We really enjoyed your stay with us! Bookending a BVI Adventure at The Green Iguana Hotel is a great way to get into the vacation mode and to wind down after your vacation before you begin your journey home. When you do it in groups such as yours, we feel it makes the vacations even more special! Loved having you here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We had a really nice stay at The Green Iguana Hotel. The owners, Gwen and John, were very helpful recommending beaches, restaurants, other places to see. It was possible to borrow equipment for snorkeling and the atmosphere was nice and relaxed. The hotel is placed very close to Charlotte Amalie harbor and the small city and is only a 5 minute walk down the historic 99 steps. The rooms were clean, contained everything we need and with a wonderful view over the bay. And everything to a very fair price. This place is definitely worth recommending - and visiting.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlotteCph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

John and I loved helping you enjoy your holiday on St. Thomas! You guys moved around the islands like you had been here many times! We enjoyed meeting you and hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
572 reviews
0.9 mi away
Olga's Fancy
Olga's Fancy
#4 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
72 reviews
1.7 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
428 reviews
4.2 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
731 reviews
2.3 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Iguana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Iguana Hotel

Address: 1002 Blackbeards Hl, Charlotte Amalie 00802-6732, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: £96 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Iguana Hotel offers superb amenities with the comforts of home. The Hotel is centrally located within a 5 minute walk to the Town Charlotte Amalie, and 15 minutes by taxi from the airport. The Hotel has the perfect combination of harbor views, downtown shopping, museums, and great restaurants, ferry transit and beautiful Caribbean Sunsets! Enhanced by the service of the resident managers to answer questions, guests are treated like family. In October 2013, The Green Iguana Hotel began operating on Renewable Solar Energy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Green Iguana Hotel St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing