We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Vacation Experience EVER!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Green Iguana Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Vacation Experience EVER!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

It all started with an idea: To celebrate my friend's B'Day in a different way. It ended up being the BEST Vacation I've ever had, from the minute we decided on the place (US Virgin Islands) and choose "The Green Iguana" as where to stay, to our last night in the Islands... As soon as we arrived, it was clear we made the best Hotel choice! The place is cozy, peaceful and quiet, well taken care of, clean and has reasonable pricings. We were greeted by John and Gwen, the Resident Managers, the instant we got there. Everything was setup by them and their Staff upon our arrival. From a Welcoming Gift Bag, Brochures on the Island and Discount Coupons, to the beautiful Room we were asigned (even with a "Happy Birthday" sign hanging at the wall for my Friend's Special Ocassion!). They served also as an amazing 'Travel Guide', answering all of our questions, giving us advice as to how to get everywhere, where to go, places to visit, where to eat... But, most importantly, they made us feel safe and AT HOME! Staying at "The Green Iguana" made our trip really easy and most enoyable, since its location is ideal and its view's amazingly beautiful. Just minutes away from the Historic Sites, Downtown Charlotte Amalie and Main Street Shopping. A really short and interesting walk from the Hotel, down the famous 99 Steps and you were exactly where everything happens in Saint Thomas. It all was what we were hoping for and more!!! I will definitely be back and recommend it to all my Friends and Family!

Room Tip: If you're a couple, try Room A-6. The view is amazing from that cozy 2nd Floor mini-studio.If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMAS1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
We are amazed that two people who work at an all inclusive resort enjoyed this little boutique hotel so much! You had so much fun! We love celebrations of all types, birthdays included! We are happy to have been at your service and hope you will celebrate many occations with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    114
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
54
187
33
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

I found this hotel at the St. Thomas airport hotel info kiosk. I was mainly looking for a clean, quiet and air conditioned place at a reasonable price. The Green Iguana fit the bill. The place was not sexy or luxurious... but it was nice, quiet, well equipped, very comfortable, and well located (10 minutes' walk down hill to town center). And priced right too.

But what made my 3 nights' stay truly enjoyable was the husband-and-wife team working there: John and Gwenn. Very professional and also genuinely warm and friendly!

The one thing that prevented a perfect 5-star rating was the uphill climb when returning to the hotel at the end of each day. 108 steps up, I believe. But I may be quibbling a bit here -- the steps were not all that steep... still, something to consider for those who are not used to walking.

Would I stay at the Green Iguana again? Most definitely!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank readandshare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
We are so thrilled you found us! Remember you can DRIVE up to the Hotel as well as walk! We have plenty of FREE Off Street Parking just outside our entry door! However the 99 Steps must be climbed, at least once! We really enjoyed your stay with us! We have learned so much about travel from you! What amazing experiences you had! We will differently look into ocean travel your way! We sincerely wish that our paths do cross again, in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We booked room H-2 for two nights. We loved that we could walk down 99 steps to eat and shop without going broke taking taxis! It was a bit on the noisy side in the mornings because of roosters and dogs (as other reviewers mentioned), not the fault of Gwen and John of course, who are wonderful hosts; very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. By our last vacation day we were happy to be able to sit out on the balcony while enjoying the view. Since we had a early flight it was great that checkout was so easy, taxi came on time, and we made to the airport without a hitch. We will definitely make Green Iguana the place we stay when we are in St. Thomas.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMPMINFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Thank you for finding us! We enjoyed having you stay with us! I make it no secret that H2 is my favorite room, mainly due to the great balcony! The view is AMAZING! As guests (before we became Resident Managers") we ALWAYS stayed in H2 for our yearly trips to STT. We are looking forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We went off the beaten path (our group stayed at Windward) because we wanted to see a little bit more of the island. Wow! We definitely got a more beautiful and twice as much fun experience.
Gwen and John were really nice and the place was exactly what we needed to begin our vacation. If we make it back with our kids, we'll definitely be staying here again. Gwen and John were so much fun to be around and had great recommendations. Even though we only got to stay one night (off to the catamaran the next day) it was a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thanks for the wonderful comments Amanda! We are happy to hear your Caribbean Adventure, and your time on St. Thomas, was memorable, in the best way possible! Next time you venture off to Virgin Gorda or one of the other BVI's, you must take a few extra days to enjoy St. Thomas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We were so pleased we found this local hotel at the top of the 99 steps. Our extended family of 10 felt quite at home with the welcome provided by Gwen and John. The area was quiet and the parking was great. Thanks for making our short stay on St. Thomas memorable. Gwen made us so comfortable we were not worried about a sight unseen choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Karen your entire family is so nice! We are happy you found us too! Booking a one night stay on St. Thomas for a large party such as yours can be exasperating! We try our very best to accommodate parties of all sizes! The Historic 99 Steps is a nice walk even if you have a rental car! Parking right outside our main entrance is a real convenience for those who drive. It's nice to have the option of doing either! Please bring your family again! We would love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

We loved the Green Iguana! We were married at Magen's Bay and stayed at the Green Iguana a few days before and after going to St John. The grounds were lovely and the hotel is very quiet with a beautiful view. For our wedding, Gwen recommended someone to do my hair and she recommended a great photographer who took several beautiful shots with us on the grounds of the Green Iguana/Blackbeard's Hill overlooking the harbor. It is close to town, very clean & very secure. Gwen and John were the perfect hosts! Would recommend to my family & friends! (I also recommend "Perfect Weddings of St. Thomas" with Leslie Dawson.)

Room Tip: H2 was very cute with a beautiful balcony & view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
P&P.....we were excited to help in every way possible for your Wedding-Moon! Ms. Dawson does a wonderful job decorating the beach for a ceremony! You both were so excited to become married! Thank you for allowing us to be a part of it! Now, can we be a part of your anniversary celebrations too? Best wishes for a long and happy life together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

The Green Iguana is a great place to stay!! From the friendly welcome and local info that Gwen & John provide, to the great view from Blackbeard's Hill; Green Iguana is excellent. The bed was comfy and the AC worked great. It was also nice to have in-room coffee and a microwave. We also appreciated that the hotel can provide travel items that might have been forgotten. On top of that, being up on Blackbeard's Hill provided a nice buffer from the traffic down in Charlotte Amalie. It is an easy walk down the 99 Steps to town.

Hope to get back to The Green Iguana in the future. I do not hesitate to recommend it as an excellent hotel choice while in St. Thomas!!!

Room Tip: Room H-2 has a great balcony with an excellent view of the Charlotte Amalie harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
John and I were happy your stay was so comfortable! Being "up" on Blackbeard's Hill is a nice buffer from the hustle and bustle of Town (Charlotte Amalie)! But it IS fun to go to Town to people watch, isn't it?! We are looking forward to your next visit! Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte Amalie hotels
0.6 mi away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
2.3 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Iguana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Iguana Hotel

Property: The Green Iguana Hotel
Address: 1002 Blackbeards Hl, Charlotte Amalie 00802-6732, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Iguana Hotel offers superb amenities with the comforts of home. The Hotel is centrally located within a 5 minute walk to the Town Charlotte Amalie, and 15 minutes by taxi from the airport. The Hotel has the perfect combination of harbor views, downtown shopping, museums, and great restaurants, ferry transit and beautiful Caribbean Sunsets! Enhanced by the service of the resident managers to answer questions, guests are treated like family. In October 2013, The Green Iguana Hotel began operating on Renewable Solar Energy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Green Iguana Hotel St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing