We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Green Iguana Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
Knoxville, Tn
18
Reviewed 1 November 2003

Stayed at a nice little hotel called The Green Iguana. Very clean, cheerful, and run by lovely people. It's atop Blackbeards Hill. The resturant at Blackbeards Castle is wonderful. The Banana Tree Grill and The Old Stone Mill were also great. There are some fun things to do in St. Thomas, but be prepared for non stop hard sell in town. Don't stray too far from the waterfront if you're walking around. For the most part the locals treat you with everything from indifference to outright contempt. Treating them with kindness and respect did little to improve this. Kept trying though. Seeing all those unhappy faces and angry cab drivers at the airport when we arrived made me want to turn around and get back on the plane. Should I mention the filth in the streets and the smell of the sewers after a rain? Seems odd for a place that makes it's living on tourism. St. Thomas, are you listening??

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

414 - 418 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank giannser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012
Google Translation

Room Tip: Tiene Aire Acondionado y Agua Caliente jajajajaja. La mejores A6 o H4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Acosta05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dicky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
574 reviews
0.9 mi away
Olga's Fancy
Olga's Fancy
#4 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
72 reviews
2.3 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Two Sandals by the Sea Inn - Bed & Breakfast
1.7 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Iguana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Iguana Hotel

Address: 1002 Blackbeards Hl, Charlotte Amalie 00802-6732, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: £129 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Iguana Hotel offers superb amenities with the comforts of home. The Hotel is centrally located within a 5 minute walk to the Town Charlotte Amalie, and 15 minutes by taxi from the airport. The Hotel has the perfect combination of harbor views, downtown shopping, museums, and great restaurants, ferry transit and beautiful Caribbean Sunsets! Enhanced by the service of the resident managers to answer questions, guests are treated like family. In October 2013, The Green Iguana Hotel began operating on Renewable Solar Energy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Green Iguana Hotel St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing