We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect escape to Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Green Iguana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Green Iguana Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Lorain, Ohio
1 review
“Perfect escape to Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

My girlfriend and I had an amazing time in St. Thomas. The Green Iguana hotel had all of the accommodations we needed and John and Gwen really made our first trip to the island an unforgettable one. Their knowledge of the beaches, restaurants and shops helped us to quickly start relaxing and took all of the stress out of trying to plan where to go. The rooms were clean and the location made it easy to get anywhere. If you are not familiar with the island John and Gwen are the people you should see!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
Drew, you and Kelly have GOT to be the cutest couple around! Not that being from our home state of Ohio has anything to do with it! We enjoyed your company and are glad you had a great time! We know you are working on your dates to come back to your island home! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    112
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
53
185
33
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Green Iguana for two nights either side of a 7 day sailing trip and it was fantastic. Both John and Gwen were extremely welcoming and ensured we had a pleasant stay. They even allowed us to take an extra late checkout to align with our flight out of St. Thomas.

The rooms are very clean and have all of your typical amenities - frideg, coffee, safe, etc. The location is also wonderful, literally at the top of the famous 99 steps. A 5 min walk has you in the center of town.

Overall we had a lovely stay and would high;y recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a rustic, relaxed place to stay while in St. Thomas.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
We are happy you enjoyed your stay on either end of your sailing adventure! Lots of our Guests enjoy "detoxing" from everyday life at the beginning and then as a "vacation after the vacation" before heading home! We hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

This was my first trip to the islands, didn't know where to stay, and counted on the experiences of others on Trip Advisor. The reviews of The Green Iguana looked like what we needed, so yes when we arrived John and Gwen were there and they gave us a practical introduction to the island and made extra arrangements at the hotel that fit our needs. Then throughout our stay they gave practical suggestions and solved problems for us such as how to access the beaches, find good snorkeling areas, avoiding crowds from cruise ships, etc.

The hotel itself is beautiful, secure and clean, and John and Gwen have thought of numerous items that travelers and vacationers need (beach towels provided free, chairs, etc). It's close enough to downtown to walk there, yet has great view of the harbour and surrounding hills.

Making the initial arrangements to stay there was clear and simple - the internet site had detailed info, then a phone call to Gwen answered my questions, and subsequent emails gave more info and details of the reservation. Thanks so much - we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacques N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
We must say you guys were GREAT Guests! It was fun to hang out with you when our schedules allowed. Thank you so much for introducing us to bbq'd ribs that didn't take all day to cook! They were delicious! (We think the Boss like them too!) We know you will return as soon as you can. Stay warm up there in Canada and make your way back to your Caribbean Home soon! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

The morning of December 12, 2012 began terribly wrong, after being left behind with what was supposed to be an Epic cruise, we were, sad,stressed and feeling hopeless with barley any money and no way to get back home to SEA, we were brought to the airport only to find airline tickets were outrageous, we began to feel worse, no flights home either as the day was coming to an end. As we stood in a little booth we ran across a flyer for the Green Iguana Hotel. My husband called a few but when he called this one you could see a sign of relive as he got a very pleasant Gwen and said this is the one! ! We told them we were on our way, we arrived about 25 minutes later and they were so kind, warm welcoming and invited us down to a local favorite spot The Green House for some refreshments and then were driven to the most amazing Sushi place ever! John and Gwen provided us with excellent rates and allowed us to pay them daily as we were waiting for our funds to be put in to our bank account, they were more than willing to work with us for the 3 nights we stayed, as they showed trust in us we did the same for them. Talk about good souls that place is so clean and homey, amazing landscaping it’s like being in a tree house, and John and Gwen truly love being the management team and it shows, Sometimes you meet the most amazing people who will rescue you in your time of need!

John and Gwen we Thank you from the bottom of our Hearts, we will never forget you both and all that you did for us!
God Bless and hope to see you in the future, Happy New Years!!!!
Love Nikki and Jason Cook, Seattle WA

Room Tip: They will pick you just what you need, they air that GOOD !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zebragirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Jason and Nikki.... we are happy we could help you turn a bad experience into a good one! We understood your unique situation. You cannot always get a last minute flight out of St. Thomas. We thank YOU from the bottom of our hearts for your kind words and for the awesome Christmas Tree ornament! (That will probably go into our private collection!) John and I are thrilled you were able to enjoy St. Thomas a little longer than a cruise ship stop. We know you had fun from the time we opened the door for you until you left for the airport! We have a strong feeling we will see you again very soon! Take Care and Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

We recently spent one night in Charlotte Amalie before heading out on a sailing trip. When researching places to stay The Green Iguana stood head and shoulders above every place else based on the reviews I read. The place did not disappoint. This is a great little hotel located conveniently to the downton area and all of the shopping and dining in Charlotte Amalie. John and Gwen are great hosts and very knowledgable and accommodating. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkphoto212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Thank you so much for finding us! We have awesome reviews because we have awesome Guests who make our job as resident managers very easy! Charlotte Amalie is a great location! Easy access to the airport, ferries, sea planes and beaches, plus the shopping and restaurants! It is our pleasure offer information and suggestions to be sure you get the most of your Caribbean Adventure! Next trip stay a few more days to allow time to see all Charlotte Amalie has to offer! Roll Tide!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fletcher, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

Our flight was over sold and we didn't get on the plane. I started searching for a room and was referred to The Green Iquana. I called and didn't get an anwser so I left a message and kept looking for another room. With in no time Gwen called me back and left me a message with ALL the details about the rooms that were available and said come on over they would take care of us. We chose a room over the phone not knowing what to expect. When we arrived Gwen met us at the door and showed us to our room. It was GREAT! wonderful view and great balcony. Very quiet which is a biggy for me.
They had everything in there, microwave, coffee maker, refridgerator and so on. The grounds are wonderful, tropical and lush. They have supplies in the office that are well priced so you do not have to go wandering around to get drinks and snacks.
Our flight didn't leave till late the next day and Gwen allowed us to check out late so we could go into town and have lunch and enjoy the day. My husband and I would absolutely recommend The Green Iguana Hotel to anyone looking for a great place to stay in St. Thomas. PS it is very close to town.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
Thank you! We love the times we can take stranded Island Visitors and give them safe and comfortable accommodations! We know what it's like to be stranded in a strange town and how nice it is to have a great room available to us at the last minute! Late check-outs are not always possible, however we can always keep your luggage for you until it's time to go to the airport. We are happy you were able to finally make it home safe and sound! We wish you a Happy New Year and hope to see you again in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

I was sailing in the Virgin Islands the first part of Dec, 2012, and needed a room in St Thomas for just one night. Trip Advisor recommended the Green Iguana Hotel, currently managed by John and Gwen Pittman. Gwen was very responsive and informative, and since I was arriving close to midnight, she arranged to have a taxi driver they know and trust to pick me up at the airport. He was most courteous and very knowledgeable about St Thomas. The room and service were just the best. I slept well, and awoke to fabulous views of the bay and Charlotte Amalie area to enjoy with my coffee. I went to the office and visited with John and Gwen, and found them to be most pleasant and accommodating. They arranged to have their taxi friend pick me up and get me to the ferry on time--I did not need to do anything! A short visit, but one that convinced me the Green Iguana is the place for me when I return to St Thomas!!

Room Tip: I stayed in 1A, which had a great view of the town and the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capnscotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Hey Cap't Scotty! Congratulations on completing the next faze of your sailing school! That means you will be visiting more often? It was a pleasure to chat with you as well! We are happy the taxi driver was able to provide you with your ground transportation and also to make late night dinner suggestions for you! Thank you for your kind words! John and I really enjoy hearing about our Guests adventures in the Caribbean! See you soon?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte Amalie hotels
0.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
2.3 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Iguana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Iguana Hotel

Property: The Green Iguana Hotel
Address: 1002 Blackbeards Hl, Charlotte Amalie 00802-6732, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Iguana Hotel offers superb amenities with the comforts of home. The Hotel is centrally located within a 5 minute walk to the Town Charlotte Amalie, and 15 minutes by taxi from the airport. The Hotel has the perfect combination of harbor views, downtown shopping, museums, and great restaurants, ferry transit and beautiful Caribbean Sunsets! Enhanced by the service of the resident managers to answer questions, guests are treated like family. In October 2013, The Green Iguana Hotel began operating on Renewable Solar Energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp so you can book your The Green Iguana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Iguana Hotel St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing