We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Green Iguana Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Burlington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Saved!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I showed up at The Green Iguana running away from another hotel, and luckily John and Gwen "rescued" me! The hotel was nice, I liked that there was a locked entrance, so you had to be a guest in order to gain access to the rooms. I felt very safe and comfortable there. The room was very nice and comfortable and even had a kitchen. The hotel doesn't have some of the amenities that other hotels have, like a pool or bar and restaurant. BUT, they make up for all of that by having John and Gwen as their hotel managers. They are super friendly, took me with them to dinner when we discovered that we were going to dine at the same restaurant. They helped me feel safe and comfortable, which is exactly what I needed after fleeing another hotel! I would absolutely stay there again, and recommend it to others!

Room Tip: I had a room above the office, and it had a breathtaking view as well as a kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HereWeG02013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
We are so sorry (NOT) that your first hotel didn't measure up to your standards! We were happy to have a room available for you! We just couldn't allow you to spend your last night on St. Thomas alone! We were happy to have your company at dinner! AND we are happy you could enjoy the view from your balcony! (It's a view we never get tired of!) We are looking forward to your "next time!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    115
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
57
192
34
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed here for only one night after a sailing trip in the BVIs, in room H2. After meeting John and Gwen, we wish we could have stayed longer! They were so friendly as to invite us to one of their favorite places for dinner, drinks, and music by a local musician, and so thoughtful as to offer to help us print our boarding passes.

Room H2 had a lovely balcony overlooking the harbor and did not involve more than three or so stairs to reach the hotel's exterior entrance. We could see how much thought had gone into furnishing the room, including helpful signs and lots of informational brochures. The room includes its own safe, for which you can retrieve a key from the office, a small fridge, microwave, a few dishes, a small dining table, beach towels, toiletries, WiFi, remote controlled air conditioner - everything we would need for a comfortable longer stay, if it were possible.

The hotel is really well located, just next to Blackbeard's Castle and not far from the 99 Steps down to the waterfront. We took the steps both down and up, and if you are a city dweller used to walk up apartments you will be fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sambagrrl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
We often tell our Guests to "snoop around the room" until they find everything they did! And you did! Not that we are making it a scavenger hunt however! Many Guests will "bookend" a stay with us in transit from the States to BVI. "A vacation after the vacation" some say! We were happy to have you enjoy one of our favorite evening getaways with us! See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I was impressed with the reviewes that I read online prior to our vacation in St. Thomas. The Green Iguana is conviniently located close to the 99-steps and is about a 10 minute leisurely walk to Charlotte Amalie.

John & Gwen (hotel managers) are the BEST! We felt safe & comfortable throughout our stay because of their hospitality. I thank them so much for being a wonderful part of our vacation!!!

-Nelly

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msafiriniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Nelly, what can we say about you girls! You hade the time of your lives while you were here! We were happy you were able to enjoy the jazz in the park concert during your visit. John and I had had a chance to walk to the park and enjoy the music! We loved that you became acquainted with the island so quickly and knew exactly what you wanted to do, and filled each day to the brim with fun and excitement! PLEASE come see your Island Aunt and Uncle anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2013

From arrival to departure, we found The Green Iguana to be a neat, relaxing experience enhanced by John and Gwen, the resident managers. Their knowledge of the island and its features added to our enjoyable 5-day vacation. The hotel was clean, the view of the harbor was interesting, and the managers accommodated all our needs. We would recommend it to anyone wishing for a quiet, relaxing get-away.

Room Tip: Call John and Gwen for suggestions for your vacation style. Rooms can be viewed on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Robert B, we really enjoyed having you and your lovely wife stay a week with us! You really took to the driving on the left and saw the island your way! John and I have found many great activities, attractions and restaurants that are off the beaten path in the 12 years we have been enjoying the islands and are happy to be able to pass along our findings with our Guests! We do hope you two will return again! You two are a charm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2013

You will love the friendliness of this place. We stayed there one night and enjoyed ourselves so much!, the staff were so kind and we were treated like royalty. It was situated in the area that was close to the ferry docks where we were meeting other family to head to virgin gorda. Please stay here and walk the 99 steps to the area of town that has lots of history.

Room Tip: You won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nibog40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
We love that we are right in the heart of the Historic 99 Steps and all the other historic buildings, step streets and museums! The Danish architecture is just beautiful! Next visit we will have to show you the "other" step street to walk to the waterfront! There are many beautiful gardens and statues to photograph and show your family and friends! Sometimes you just feel as though you are taking a step back in time. Thanks you for taking the time to let fellow travelers about your time here! Have a great year and we hope to see you again in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at the Green Iguana. The managers Gwen and John were so kind and accommodating. We really loved it. I wish they had their own pool but other than that small thing, we loved it and will make a point to stay any time we return to St Thomas.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amak808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
We would love to put in a pool however on this small property, I don't know where we would put it! With the beach just 10 minutes away we feel makes up for it! Thank you for your kind words! We appreciate knowing you were comfortable here at The Green Iguana Hotel and hope to see you again over the winter! Enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The Green Iguana is well-situated in Charlotte Amelie, just next to Blackbeard's Castle and is within walking distance to town. There a good views of the harbor from here too.

The rooms are basic and it's a pretty no-frills place to stay, but it's clean and the managers are very friendly. We stayed here two nights before leaving on a sailing yacht charter.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
"A No Frills Place" is a good way to describe The Green Iguana Hotel. Clean, quiet and comfortable sleeping rooms at a reasonable price is what we offer. Along with a small refrigerator, microwave and morning coffee in your room, Dish Network TV, A/C, FREE Wi-Fi and more are the frills we offer! That and the friendliest service you can find on the Island! Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the review! Enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
570 reviews
1.7 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Olga's Fancy
Olga's Fancy
#4 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
69 reviews
4.2 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
712 reviews
2.3 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Iguana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Iguana Hotel

Property: The Green Iguana Hotel
Address: 1002 Blackbeards Hl, Charlotte Amalie 00802-6732, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Iguana Hotel offers superb amenities with the comforts of home. The Hotel is centrally located within a 5 minute walk to the Town Charlotte Amalie, and 15 minutes by taxi from the airport. The Hotel has the perfect combination of harbor views, downtown shopping, museums, and great restaurants, ferry transit and beautiful Caribbean Sunsets! Enhanced by the service of the resident managers to answer questions, guests are treated like family. In October 2013, The Green Iguana Hotel began operating on Renewable Solar Energy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Green Iguana Hotel St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing