We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best time at St Thomas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Green Iguana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Green Iguana Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta,GA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best time at St Thomas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

The Green Iguana is a small hotel overlooking Charlotte Amalie. You can walk into town in less than five minutes. What sets this hotel apart from many, many B&B's and hotels is the amazing customer service offered by the resident mangers, John and Gwen. What a wonderful couple! Gwen always had great ideas about dining, drinking, shopping and snorkeling. It rained while we were there and Gwen even had suggestions about activities that could be done in the rain. It is like having your own personal guide to the island. Our room was immaculate. There was a ready supply of free insect spray and sun screen. Everything was done to insure we had a wonderful time. Gwen even took some professional-quality photos of us and travel companions. That really exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: Ask Gwen to pick you out a room with a great view. Ours overlooked the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HAHMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
John and I were very happy to meet you two! And to be invited to your family event at the beach was incredible! (I do enjoy photography as a hobby!) You are correct that there are many activities and events that happen in close proximity to The Green Iguana Hotel! And with our free parking, your options are wide open with your own vehicle! Thank you for finding us and for offering to include us in your excursions and discussing your day's events in the gardens in the evenings! We hope when you return, your stay will be longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    112
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
53
185
33
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

I had a wonderful experience at the Green Iguana.....stayed here in May and will definitely go back. John and Gwen did anything possible to make my stay enjoyable and comfortable. The room was perfect for me and i really appreciated the 24/7 locked gate. I would love to be able to go back and take my girlfriends....they would love this place!!!.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hello again! It's nice to know that you are still thinking about us since your stay in May! We are happy to know you felt safe and secure with us, especially since you were traveling solo! We would love to welcome you and your friends back to The Green Iguana Hotel for another stay! Now that YOU know your way around, you can show your friends all that you have found! Thank you Cathie! We can't wait for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

I was fortunate to find this place. The managers John and Gwen are very welcoming, and seemingly go out of their way to make sure their guests are taken care of. I say seemingly, because it is really what they live for, and enjoy ensuring that you are satisfied with your stay. I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to anyone going to the USVI. I plan to return soon and enjoy some rum punch with them!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for the telephone call a few days ago! John and I truly love what we do at The Green Iguana Hotel, and having actually been in your place, visitors with very welcoming Hosts, we are just carrying on the tradition of friendly resident managers! We are happy you are coming back so soon and we will have an ice cold glass of punch ready for you! Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redford, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Recently returned from an 8 day stay here. The room was clean, everything functioned well, the hotel itself is locked up 24/7 in addition to your private rooms, and the managers were very hospitable. Any issues or hiccups that we brought up was immediately addressed (pleasantly surprising when everyone else within 100 miles are all operating on "island time") without a fuss. John & Gwen try very hard to keep up a communal feel at the Green Iguana, reminiscent of staying with distant relatives. This hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Hello again Sam! You two were like niece and nephew to us! We are so happy you were able to make your way around St. Thomas AND St. John, knowing you had a great place to call "home" during your 8 Night Adventure! Summer, or Off-Season, is a great time to visit St. Thomas! the beaches are not as crowded and for those who love to shop, prices are very reasonable, and excursions and activities can be a great bargain too! We are happy your trip turned out well after that little bumpy start, if there is anything we can do for you, please let us know! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We were spending just one night in St. Thomas, so we wanted something near town and affordable. I originally was looking only at hotels with pools, but decided to book Green Iguana due to the great reviews. I’m so glad I did! It really is more like staying with friends than checking into a hotel. Gwen and John booked us a taxi pickup from the airport, helped us find beach items we needed to buy, and gave us a ride to town. We even joined them for happy hour.

Our room was basic but had everything we needed and plenty of counter space. The bed was exceptionally cozy. Some reviewers have remarked about the sign asking guests to not put luggage on the bed. The cover is white, so I can appreciate the m not wanting to take chances with dirty luggage wheels. Our room’s balcony overlooked the hillside and town, with some ocean view as well. (Yes, there are powerlines that other reviewers mention. But for the price, I can't complain.) Being animal nerds, we enjoyed watching birds and lizards in the courtyard.

The Green Iguana’s location was perfect for us – very close to “99 Steps” and Charlotte Amalie. Everyone talks about the steep steps, but if you’re in reasonable shape, it’s no problem at all. Plus, it’s a pretty walk. We liked browsing the farmer’s market and lunch at Cuzzin’s. Being able to walk to town is a big advantage since taxi rates are insane. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kay p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for finding us on Trip Advisor! Because of TA, we attract the best Guests in the world! Including you! Yes we are a basic hotel, clean, comfortable and convenient to lots of places around St. Thomas and the surrounding islands! The sign about luggage on the beds does help to keep the comforters clean, AND it helps us keep unwanted pests out as well. After all, your luggage does go in the cargo hold of airplanes!
We must admit the walk to Town is easier than the walk back, but just do like the locals do! WALK SLOW! Unless you plan to use it as your cardio workout each day! For the faint of heart, a taxi back to the hotel is just $5 per person! And taxis are plentiful in Town! (Charlotte Amalie)
We are looking forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have just returned from a week in St.John and needed to stay over in St.Thomas for one night. We picked the Green Iguana because we have stayed there before and loved it. The managers ( Gwen and John) are wonderful. We were tired when we got there and did not want to go out to dinner. We were going to have PB and crackers in the room and mentioned it to them. After their dinner they brought us delicious fish tacos to our room. We were totally surprised--that is the kind of people they are. Sweet and considerate. The rooms are freshly painted and very clean. The garden and grounds are lovely. We will definitely stay there again on a future trip to the Virgin Islands. Thanks Gwen and John for your hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovelycotinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
It was so good to see you two again! We are happy you had a relaxing night before your day of travel! We had "extras" after making fish tacos for dinner, so I guess Thanks for helping us eat all that mahi mahi! Thanks for being a Great Guest! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

I loved Staying at the green iguana, its close to everything in downtown. John and Gwen were most welcoming, would not have chosen a better place to stay. The hotel is safe, there is a locked entrance. John and Gwen are always a phone call away, they have very good recommendation of things to do and places to visit. Its has a very homey feeling to it, feels like you are staying with family or friends! Will definitely be going there for a second visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
We LOVED having you for a Girls Getaway! We know you had the best time not only on the beaches but at the nightclubs too! Study hard this school year and we'll see you again next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte Amalie hotels
0.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
2.3 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Iguana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Iguana Hotel

Property: The Green Iguana Hotel
Address: 1002 Blackbeards Hl, Charlotte Amalie 00802-6732, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Iguana Hotel offers superb amenities with the comforts of home. The Hotel is centrally located within a 5 minute walk to the Town Charlotte Amalie, and 15 minutes by taxi from the airport. The Hotel has the perfect combination of harbor views, downtown shopping, museums, and great restaurants, ferry transit and beautiful Caribbean Sunsets! Enhanced by the service of the resident managers to answer questions, guests are treated like family. In October 2013, The Green Iguana Hotel began operating on Renewable Solar Energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp so you can book your The Green Iguana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Iguana Hotel St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing