We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Hospitality at its best!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Green Iguana Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My wife and I had the great pleasure of staying with John and Gwen at the Green Iguana and it was a wonderful time. Our only regret was that we had to leave too soon. The view is exceptional, or room was spacious and clean and had everything we needed. However, that's not why you would stay here...you stay here because John and Gwen make you feel at home. We had a very late flight into St Thomas, arrived from the states around 10:30PM, Gwen arranged for Warren to meets us at the airport, whisked us to the Iguana and then we got a late check out the next day because our plane for St. Maarten didn't leave until early evening. Truly above and beyond what we expected. Another bonus is that you are very close to the 99 steps into town and there are interesting spots right next to the Iguana. I highly recommend this place, they are the best!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tdiddy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

The object of our job is to help our Guests have the most enjoyable, stress free vacation imaginable! Late night arrivals are NEVER a problem with us! Even though we do not have a 24 hour front desk! We are happy we had the opportunity to offer you a late check out! We understand flights and ferries don't always coordinate with hotel check in and check out times. If we cannot offer an early check in, or a late check out, we will be happy to hold your luggage for you! Thank you for finding us! Now you are one of the many Iguana Fans world-wide!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

After meeting John and Gwen on a day trip last year, we decided to stay downtown two days before going to our resort on the East End. The hotel was clean, awesome harbor view and still easy to get downtown. John and Gwen were awesome hosts, they treated us like we were guests in their home not at their business. We flew in on Thanksgiving evening, John and Gwen and other guests, had a tasty homemade Turkey dinner waiting for us at the hotel and welcomed us in....Awesome, John and Gwen thanks for getting our vacation started perfectly.....Steve n Penni

Room Tip: Our room was H-2, awesome view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PenniMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

We were so surprised when you called to make your reservation! When you reminded us we met you on the ferry to Jost Van Dyke last year, we were excited you decided to extend your time share vacation and spend a couple of days in Town with us! Thank you for joining us for Thanksgiving Dinner and for your friendship! We can't wait to see you again in November 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed at the Green Iguana for 5 days in October 2013. The facilities are quite lovely; a great location at a great price. Loved my room and had a great view. Loved the owers who were very friendly and extemely accomodating. Was very close to town. Would highly recommend staying here; would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwenm485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

I loved having another "Gwen" in the Hotel! You were part of the previous post of ladies here to celebrate your friend's happiness! The bride is very blessed to have such good friends and family support her marriage! We are looking forward to seeing you all again for the "annual girl's getaway!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The Green Iguana was the ideal location!! I visited for 6 days in October 2013 and it was a great trip!! The price was fantastic, the room was clean and the owners were accommodating, friendly and helpful! Everything worked very well and the view from the room was outstanding!!! The air conditioning worked well and was relief from the hot and humid weather. We had a refrigerator and microwave in the room that came in handy when we wanted to reheat some food and make a quick snack. We were a large party of 18 visiting St. Thomas for my cousin's bachelorette party and everyone was accommodated nicely. The location was perfect!!, walking distance to town and a taxi drive away to the beach. We had an amazing taxi driver, Leroy, who drove us EVERYWHERE we needed to go and was very reasonably priced and helpful. It is definitely necessary to have a taxi in St. Thomas! Our taxi driver Leroy even gave us a tour on St John. It was such a great trip I'm definitely going back next year and staying at the Green Iguana.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

You 17 ladies were absolutely the BEST! The Bride was so excited so many of her family and friends and friends of friends came to help celebrate in her happiness! We are looking forward to all of you returning for a "girls vacation" as a yearly trip! You all made John and me smile everyday know you were all having "girl fun"! Happy New Year! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My only regret in this review is that there is NO rating beyond EXELLENT. My wife, Marilyn & I were treated to an unforgettable vacation experience at The Green Iguana Hotel in St. Thomas USVI. The resident managers, John & Gwen Pittman, are certainly to be commended for their hospilality and attention to every detail to make their guest feel at home and able to enjoy all the nuances of "Island Living". We were directed and accompanied to some of the "Native" events and restaurants as well as the wonderful "Touristy" points of interest.
While there; St. Thomas experienced some of the worst weather and heaviest rains they had seen in years, The upside of that was we were able to relax, nap, get some reading in, and enjoy some unbelievable lightning shows and views of the bay and harbor from our balcony, for a couple of days, that very few guests have the opportunity to see.
A couple of days before we had to leave the Pittmans arranged for us to take a day cruise with one of their friends at "Oh Be Joyful Sailing" under the direction of Capt. Dave Parker with 1st Mate Jocelyn, and 2nd Mate Sophia (an absolutely delightful sea dog). We were treated to a great tour of the waterways around St.Thomas and the surrounding islands, we anchored in the shelter of a gorgeous island and snorkeled in asure blue water while Capt. Dave and Jocelyn prepared a gourmet meal of grilled salmon and 2 in thick pork chops, local "island"salad
and decident dessert.
All in all I cannot think of anything that could have made our visit to The Green Iguana Hotel any more enjoyable......it will be fondly remembered until our next visit to "The Islands".
Ron & Marilyn Langenheder
Ovilla, Texas

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room with a balcony to enjoy morning coffee with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RonLangenheder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Awww... your comments make our smiles very big! Ear to Ear! Enjoying the beautiful views is only part of the fun here on St. Thomas. There's even fun OFF St. Thomas, in the beautiful waters and what is beneath the surface! We enjoy snorkeling from the beaches, but most of all we enjoy snorkeling from the boats! Cap't Dave knows all the great places to snorkel and Jocelyn is by far one of the best cooks on the island! We have been out with them and would only suggest the sails and other activities we have experienced. We hope you will return soon for more fun in the sun and relaxing on your balcony should the rains come! Please keep in touch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

It's been 35 yrs since our last visit to St Thomas, the hotel we stayed at then was no longer there thanks to hurricane hugo. We stayed closer to town this time at The Green Iguana Hotel, thanks to the hotel managers Gwen and John we had a wonderful stay, just not long enough! They were able to help us see a lot more of the island then when we were there last time. Would love to go back sooner than the 35 yrs gap of this trip and would love to stay at The Green Iguana Hotel again!

Room Tip: They have pictures of all their rooms on the website, and they all have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmcgee58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

You are right, 35 years is too long to stay away from St. Thomas and the Virgin Islands! We DID find exactly where your hotel was, and will be sending you a photo of the location as it is now. Thanks for joining us on the snorkel day to BVI! We don't often get to enjoy activities like that with our Guests, thanks to our great relief managers for allowing us the time away with you! There is so much more to see and do, we hope you will celebrate many many more anniversaries here with us in the beautiful Caribbean! Happy Anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I've been reviewing this hotel for years now, and all I can say is it it's a great place that somehow manages to keep getting better!

John and Gwen are probably the nicest people you could hope to encounter on-island. They'll go completely out of their way to make you feel at home, and you can tell they they really enjoy connecting with the people that stay there. They're more like family than hotel managers, and I'm happy to count them among my friends.

As far as the hotel itself, in my opinion it's the best value on-island. For a third of the price of staying at the mega-resorts on the beach, you can have a room that once you're inside is just as nice if not nicer, and because all VI beaches are public, you can go use the mega-hotels' beaches for free. It's a secure location, I've never felt unsafe inside. And if you're traveling on business, the wifi at the Green Iguana is awesome. I'm able to do all my work, including a VPN connection, with no problem.

Oh, and if you're into going green, they're just about done with the process of switching over to solar power! Pretty cool, especially if you know anything about WAPA down on-island and the stranglehold they place on the residents there. Kudos to John & Gwen for breaking free from that!

This is the best place to stay on St. Thomas, trust me. I've been here at least 10 times now, and I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoxWin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Hello again SoxFan! (Congrats on the '13 World Series win!) Thank you so much for continuing to trust The Green Iguana Hotel for your frequent trips to St. Thomas! the wireless internet connections in our Guest Rooms are high on our priority list, and we have one of the best IT Techs on-island! We know how important the internet is to conduct business when you are away from your office. We always look forward to your visits! It is like having an old friend come to spend a few days with us! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte Amalie hotels
0.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
574 reviews
0.9 mi away
Olga's Fancy
Olga's Fancy
#4 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
72 reviews
2.3 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
429 reviews
1.7 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Iguana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Iguana Hotel

Address: 1002 Blackbeards Hl, Charlotte Amalie 00802-6732, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: £128 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Iguana Hotel offers superb amenities with the comforts of home. The Hotel is centrally located within a 5 minute walk to the Town Charlotte Amalie, and 15 minutes by taxi from the airport. The Hotel has the perfect combination of harbor views, downtown shopping, museums, and great restaurants, ferry transit and beautiful Caribbean Sunsets! Enhanced by the service of the resident managers to answer questions, guests are treated like family. In October 2013, The Green Iguana Hotel began operating on Renewable Solar Energy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Green Iguana Hotel St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing