We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy without a pool”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Green Iguana Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 February 2014

As stated in other reviews, the Green Iguana has great views from its rooms and is steps away from downtown. The host was very helpful in providing local recommendations to local restaurants. Due to the absence of an air conditioner; we kept our sliding door open for ventilation and then had trouble sleeping over the noises from town.

We were also disappointed that they have no access to the beautiful pool next door. If I were to come to St Thomas again, I would consider investigating the Inn at Blackbirds castle, the property next door.

Stayed: February 2014
3  Thank ZionHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Do you have us confused with another property? ALL 9 of our Guest Rooms have A/C units! The one in your room, A1, is located next to the sliding glass door you spoke of! Some of our rooms have windows and doors (with screens) that may be opened to enjoy the fresh Caribbean breezes, such as the one you were in, however I assure you they all have air conditioners! In many hotels you don't always have a choice, however you DO at The Green Iguana. Should the outside sounds annoy you, you do have the choice to turn on the air conditioner and use it as "white noise".
As for the pool at the attraction next door to us, we do have an arrangement with the manager that allows our Guests to use the pools during their tour hours. We appreciate their generosity and we are happy to share that information with our Guests who inquire.
As you can see from most reviews, The Green Iguana Hotel offers a great alternative to the resort hotels. We apologize if we weren't the right hotel for you. As always, when something isn't right in your room, please contact us immediately so we may make your stay more comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

This was a last min. stay as we came back from the BVIs and were taking a chance on finding a place. Very clean and they are well on their way to being a very green, water safe to drink and just over all reasonally priced. Gwen and John were great with information and Gwen was able to give us a ride to the airport, nice touch!

Can't go wrong with the Green Iguana.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickandlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thank you for finding us! While it is always best to make reservations this time of the season, we do occasionally have a room available for adventurous travels! Since we were going to the airport for other reasons, we were happy to give you a ride!
We ARE doing everything we can to become a "green property"! With the addition of the solar panels in 2013, and connecting the proper equipment to recover our clean rainwater into cisterns, filter the rainwater though our filters, we do believe we have the best tasting water on St. Thomas! Thank you for enjoying your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

John and Gwen were the perfect hosts - always available, helpful, friendly, etc etc etc!! The hotel is easy to get to from downtown and is VERY VERY clean (which I greatly appreciate) and reasonably priced. No complaints at all. If you're looking for a 5 star resort this is NOT the place for you. If you want to save your money to spend on FUN on the island, this IS the place for you.

Room Tip: Stayed in A1. No complaints. I think they're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CousinElmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Even though we do not have a "24 Hour Front Desk" like the mega resorts, we are available to our Guests around the clock! Should you accidently lock yourself out of your room, we are here to help. We love to share our experiences with our Guests! As former visitors (since 2001) and full time residents since 2012, we have been to many of the islands beaches, activities and restaurants! We will give you our most candid review of the places we love the best! We only hope you enjoy them as much as we do! We can help you enjoy a stress free vacation on any budget!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

This was our 3rd weekly stay. Really informal and relaxed small hotel on hillside. We love being able to cook some meals in our very clean unit, and drink our morning coffee on the balcony overlooking the town and seeing the sea plane landing in the harbor. Good WiFi and thick towels. Hotel managers Gwen and John so helpful with recommendations for great local beaches and restaurants. Nice garden area to relax in. Be prepared for the morning church bells and roosters crowing!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mer105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Guests such as yourself, returning year after year, are like welcoming old friends to The Green Iguana Hotel! Many of our Guests choose to stay with us because we are a short walk or a safari ride from all the great shopping areas! Havensight, Charlotte Amalie, and Crown Bay Marina. We also love watching the sea planes take off and land in the Harbor! I'm sure with boat traffic in the inner harbor, the pilots have to stay on their toes! Aren't the church bells beautiful? On Sunday mornings you can hear the choir singing! Much nicer than the island birds! Thank you for staying with us again and again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at The Green Iguana for a night in Dec. 2013 on our way to St. John. The hotel is a unique and eclectic place with the perfect cure for the big chain hotel blues.

Located a short walk or 2 minute cab ride from the center of CA's center, the hotel sits on a hill side with beautiful vistas of town and the harbor. Close enough to be convenient but far enough away for some privacy.

The caretakers are wonderful people and I can't say enough about their friendliness and hospitality. We really enjoyed the laid back vibe they created, as well as their company.

Highly recommended for those looking for a unique experience.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank jrhuddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Unique is a great word for The Green Iguana Hotel! Many of our Guests enjoy the "work out" they get from walking The Historic 99 Steps! Other prefer to rent a car or use the taxi services. Still other do both! When you look out from any room you will see "Step Streets" on the hillsides everywhere! Many are hundreds of years old! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you on your next Caribbean Adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Green Iguana in late October and November 2013. We made a reservation to stay 3 nights before a one week sailing trip and again 3 nights when the sailing trip ended. We enjoyed staying at the Green Iguana so much we extended our stay for an additional 3 nights. Gwen and John made us feel right at home and went above and beyond to meet all of our needs. We had room H2 and loved it. It has a great balcony with a wonderful view of the harbor and Charlotte Amalie. The 99 step made it convenient to walk to town. We do not anticipate taking another sailing trip. We would much rather return to the Green Iguana and stay.

Steven & Sedonna Jordan

Room Tip: We fell in love with H2. The room is vey nice and the balcony was added bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sedonna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

S&S.... We were simply humbled by this review of The Green Iguana Hotel and the service we provide to our Guests. We hope Sedonna's fingers healed completely after taking a fall at that restaurant and we were so happy the taxi driver KNEW to return the camera to the place you left it! We were only too happy to get it back to you with all the photos intact. A Note to Future Guests: When hiring a taxi to transport you from point A to point B, it's always a good idea to get the taxi's license plate number AND the name of the driver, just in case you accidently leave something behind. It's very easy for us to track your left behind item and return it to you when we have that number. It should be on a little "plaque" on their passenger door as well. We know you will be back and we know what room you will again choose! The question is when?
Happy New Year from John Gwen and the Iguanas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My wife and I had the great pleasure of staying with John and Gwen at the Green Iguana and it was a wonderful time. Our only regret was that we had to leave too soon. The view is exceptional, or room was spacious and clean and had everything we needed. However, that's not why you would stay here...you stay here because John and Gwen make you feel at home. We had a very late flight into St Thomas, arrived from the states around 10:30PM, Gwen arranged for Warren to meets us at the airport, whisked us to the Iguana and then we got a late check out the next day because our plane for St. Maarten didn't leave until early evening. Truly above and beyond what we expected. Another bonus is that you are very close to the 99 steps into town and there are interesting spots right next to the Iguana. I highly recommend this place, they are the best!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tdiddy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

The object of our job is to help our Guests have the most enjoyable, stress free vacation imaginable! Late night arrivals are NEVER a problem with us! Even though we do not have a 24 hour front desk! We are happy we had the opportunity to offer you a late check out! We understand flights and ferries don't always coordinate with hotel check in and check out times. If we cannot offer an early check in, or a late check out, we will be happy to hold your luggage for you! Thank you for finding us! Now you are one of the many Iguana Fans world-wide!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
1.6 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
429 reviews
0.9 mi away
Olga's Fancy
Olga's Fancy
#4 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,813 reviews
4.2 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
732 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bunker Hill Hotel
Bunker Hill Hotel
#8 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Iguana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Iguana Hotel

Address: 1002 Blackbeards Hl, Charlotte Amalie 00802-6732, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: £86 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Iguana Hotel offers superb amenities with the comforts of home. The Hotel is centrally located within a 5 minute walk to the Town Charlotte Amalie, and 15 minutes by taxi from the airport. The Hotel has the perfect combination of harbor views, downtown shopping, museums, and great restaurants, ferry transit and beautiful Caribbean Sunsets! Enhanced by the service of the resident managers to answer questions, guests are treated like family. In October 2013, The Green Iguana Hotel began operating on Renewable Solar Energy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Green Iguana Hotel St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing