We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Effortless to work with!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Green Iguana Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 November 2008

The Green Iguana is basic. But it is clean, well-maintained, well-located, and of course, affordable.
Nice to have air conditioning and the mini kitchenette.

We used this little inn as a place to stay after a late night arrival on STT (St. Thomas) before taking the car barge over to STJ (St. John) the following morning. We used it again at the end of our stay since we had a very early flight out.

It definitely served the purpose. Sue made it EFFORTLESS to book the room and even with our late arrival, I felt like I didn't have to do anything but show up! How nice is THAT?

If you are going to STT, we definitely recommend a day trip to STJ and even Water Island, which is a tiny island right off the coast of STT. (On STJ, we really liked Cinnamon Bay & Maho Bay. For hidden little out-of-the-way beaches try Gibney & Jumbie. Bring sandwich & sodas as, of these, only Cinnamon has facilities.)

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mazmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2008

My wife, Stepdaughter and I enjoyed our 14 night stay at this hotel. I won't go overboard and say it's the best hotel in the world, even though I feel compelled.

What I will say: All descriptions in my Travel guides were on target: This hotel is very clean, all around nice. We rented an efficiency(A-4). It helped having all cooking and eating utensils we needed. Also, the harbor view from our balcony was very beautiful.

If someone wants an affordable hotel, with good security this hotel is a very "smart" choice.

After visiting to St. Thomas, I'd not want a hotel downtown. This hotel's location on top of Blackbird's Hill is a better choice (safer, and more pretty). The walk downtown via 99 steps is very quick and easy.

The main reason someone should want to stay there is: Both managers Sue and Buddy are every bit as Friendly, Warm and Helpful as reported in the guides. We especially liked how they loaned us a cooler for use to go on picnics at the most beautiful beaches in the world. My wife and stepdaughter __LOVED__ the fact the managers gave them fresh bananas right off of the tree in their front yard, they were delicious.

Staying at the Green Iguana hotel is a very good choice,

Thomas Bonnes
Wilmington, Delaware, USA

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Thomcatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2008

There were 6 of us traveling through St Thomas on our way to Tortola, BVI. We were able to book rooms for one night during high season, which was nice. Sue & Buddy are managers and they were friendly and helpful. Room was clean and very adequate for our overnight stay.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank islandexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2008

We stayed at the Green Iguana for one night after taking a liveaboard sailing class in St. Thomas. I based the booking from reviews on this site. We were not disappointed. It was a lovely room with a great view. We did the Blackbeard's tour next door and walked down the 99 steps in to town for some shopping and for dinner. The owners are so helpful and they helped us with recommendations for dinner and calling us a cab for the airport. A lovely place located conveniently to town and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Cada51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2008

We stayed at The Green Iguana for one night before we picked up a sailboat charter. For a night it was a very nice room in a good location at a great price. We checked in and walked into Charlotte Amalie for shopping and dinner. The hotel was clean, Sue was friendly and helpful and the experience more than met our expectations. For a longer stay it would not have worked for us, I would have wanted to be closer to the beach,. However, they have guests who stay longer. My recommendation would be for for a night or two, as part of a vacation vs. the destination of your vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SherryinChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2008

The hotel was fine. We didn't think we could walk to town, but found that it is possible (if you're willing to walk up and down a steep hill) . There was cable and a view of the city. The room was large enough, with the balcony. However, the bed, sheets, and towels weren't soft/comfortable. The bathroom could definitely use some updating.

We didn't get to see the green iguana, but I probably would have been terrified, anyway!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AllyLuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2007

The Green Iguana is a great little hotel that feel much more like a B&B than a Holiday Inn. The rooms are pretty spacious and clean but the balconies are definately the best part. Big comfy chairs and an ocean view! There were some bugs in our room but chalk that up to the climate. The owners of the Green Iguana were very friendly and accomodating. They had fresh banana bread when we checked in, they let us keep our bags in the room after we had checked out, and they even gave us aspirin and a coke after my fiance had too much to drink the night before.

The only reason I wouldn't rate this hotel higher is the location. The hotel does everything possible to be accomadating- leaving taxi numbers and tips for walking at night, etc., but it still impacts your trip.

The hotel is situated at the top of the "99 steps"- but what they don't tell you is the 99 steps is really 103 steps, followed by about 20 more steps, followed by a hill, followed by another 15 steps, followed by another hill. We're only 24 so it didn't bother us too much, but it may really effect others particularly with the humidity.

Also you should never do this walk at night, as you are walking right through a park where many locals gather. We were even followed in the middle of broad daylight up the secluded stairs. We ducked into a restaurant and waited for the guy to get frusterated and leave.

And again, this has nothing to do with the hotel, but there are just more exciting places to stay around the island. Try Red Hook or Frenchtown, or Yacht Haven Grande. There is not much night life around town and all shops are closed around 6.

Again, The Green Iguana is a great budget choice, but all of that kind of goes out the window when your paying for taxis every night.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank bounciekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
1.6 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
429 reviews
0.9 mi away
Olga's Fancy
Olga's Fancy
#4 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,813 reviews
4.2 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
732 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bunker Hill Hotel
Bunker Hill Hotel
#8 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Iguana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Iguana Hotel

Address: 1002 Blackbeards Hl, Charlotte Amalie 00802-6732, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: £88 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Iguana Hotel offers superb amenities with the comforts of home. The Hotel is centrally located within a 5 minute walk to the Town Charlotte Amalie, and 15 minutes by taxi from the airport. The Hotel has the perfect combination of harbor views, downtown shopping, museums, and great restaurants, ferry transit and beautiful Caribbean Sunsets! Enhanced by the service of the resident managers to answer questions, guests are treated like family. In October 2013, The Green Iguana Hotel began operating on Renewable Solar Energy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Green Iguana Hotel St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing