We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Green Iguana Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kamloops
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We'll be back”
Reviewed 5 October 2009

This 9 room hotel is centrally located just above the main part of the city. To get to town, you can take a taxi ride for less than $10 or a short scenic walk down the 100+ stairs. The managers are what makes this hotel a very welcoming spot. They are the best hosts I have ever encountered in over 30 years of travelling. The view is fantastic, and with the locked breezeway to the rooms, and the security cameras we felt extremely safe here. There is housekeeping rooms, as well as washer/dryer availability. Our hosts know the island well, including the best beaches & restaurants. If we had stayed at any other place we would not have known or had the pleasure of visiting several of the local haunts that truly make the Island unique and our trip fantastic. Susie & Bill are the best ever, and we love you. Our room was always clean, and had all the amenities that we needed.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaskFarmGirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    115
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
55
192
33
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

We stayed at the Green Iguana at the beginning and end of a sailboat charter out of St. Thomas and found it convenient and welcoming. The hotel has new managers who tried hard to please. This can be a bit of a challenge, because it is an older building in a somewhat strange location on the side of Blackbeard's Hill. Each room is different, but they all seem to be well cared-for. Several people cautioned us about walking around at night. The hotel is at the top of the "99 steps," and we were told that it was not a safe area at night. We walked down for breakfast and dinner and took a cab back at night. The cab fare would make anyone rethink the odds of danger walking back. It's $5/person for a 3 minute cab ride. Eventually, we concluded that the cabbies were the most dangerous part of town and walked back without problem..

The "99 steps" provide plenty of exercise, but it's a very worthwhile walk if your destination is Gladys' Cafe for breakfast. Very welcoming and a great menu. Our delightful waitress sang as she delivered orders.

On the whole, the Green Iguana and other nearby hotels (e.g., 1829 or Hotel at Blackbeard's Castle, which are owned by the same people) offer an alternative to the large resort hotels. They are close to downtown restaurants, shopping, and ferries to the other islands. Enjoy the hotel, and if you must take a taxi, negotiate or compare prices, and ALWAYS agree on a price before you get in.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregChapelHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Somewhere
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2009

Room was small. Step down for shower and toilet dangerous. Nice to have in-room safe. Bill and Sue are new to the island and do not have the best advice to share. Do NOT take 99 Steps after dark. Stayed at Inn at Blackbeard's Castle next door after our sailing trip, and found those rooms spacious, the grounds beautiful, and the staff helpful and friendly; the price in shoulder season was worth the stay. Would recommend it over Green Iguana to friends.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YouBetchaPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2009

Close to the center of town but also far enough away for a quiet sit in the lush courtyard. View from the balcony was like a postcard! Room was fine; and the kitchen came in handy.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave5nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2009

I loved everything about The Green Iguana Hotel. The rooms were charming, the surroundings tranquil, and the managers Susie and Bill treated me as if no one was more important. This place gives you more than expected for the price.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlhMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2009

This is our third visit to the Green Iguana. Stayed one night again as we left a charter sailboat. Rooms have always been ready. The breezeway to the hotel is locked with a security code and that makes us feel safe and allows us to leave our luggage in the breezeway after checking out and we are walking around before our flight out.

The staff is very helpful. The grounds are nicely planted and the staff promised they will get better. Its nice to sit in the open middle area in the morning and evening. Rooms are clean and all the appliances, TV worked.

Its a good laid back place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baberuth324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2009

The island's best kept secret! Tucked away under the arm of Blackbeard's Castle, close to town, ample parking, quiet, great gardens, complete with iguanas.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebaOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte Amalie hotels
0.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
560 reviews
0.6 mi away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
690 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
At Home In The Tropics Bed and Breakfast Inn
At Home In The Tropics Bed and B...
#1 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Iguana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Iguana Hotel

Property: The Green Iguana Hotel
Address: 1002 Blackbeards Hl, Charlotte Amalie 00802-6732, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Iguana Hotel offers superb amenities with the comforts of home. The Hotel is centrally located within a 5 minute walk to the Town Charlotte Amalie, and 15 minutes by taxi from the airport. The Hotel has the perfect combination of harbor views, downtown shopping, museums, and great restaurants, ferry transit and beautiful Caribbean Sunsets! Enhanced by the service of the resident managers to answer questions, guests are treated like family. In October 2013, The Green Iguana Hotel began operating on Renewable Solar Energy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Green Iguana Hotel St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing