We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good times at the Green Iguana”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Green Iguana Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Good times at the Green Iguana”
Reviewed 2 July 2006

Great location, felt relatively secluded and peaceful especially for being in the middle of town, also only a short walk to the downtown area, and a beautiful view of the harbor. The innkeepers were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were nicely furnished and very clean. Very well-maintained overall, we would definately stay again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    115
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
55
192
33
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
196 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2006

We enjoyed every minute at this little hideaway on St. Thomas. Our room was spacious, clean, with a great view of the harbor. We were given helpful tips on beaches, resturants, sights to see, etc. by the managers. We had no problem finding our way home after a day of sightseeing, we just looked for Blackbeard's Tower, The Green Iguana is right next door.
We felt the location was conveinent and parking was always avaiable for our rent car.
We hope to return someday soon!

Helpful?
5 Thank gayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felton, California
Level Contributor
184 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2006

We chose The Green Iguana based on reviews at several sites and, while the hotel was smaller than we expected, we enjoyed our stay all the same. First of all, "grounds" were not for strolling ... merely for sitting beside and watching the iguanas and lizards chasing one another. The rooms were of average size and all had great views of the harbor (ours had a balcony which was very nice). The rooms were clean and had everything we needed (including lots of towels!). The Green Iguana sits next to Blackbeard's Castle (in fact, was once part of the Castle), and, for $12/day, you can use Blackbeard's three pools, bar, etc. and get a tour of the three beautiful homes on the property (ask if you can re-use your ticket the next day). However, be warned that they do not keep 'regular' hours and may close at any time so ask what their hours are before you buy.

The 99 steps going in to town are really more like 150+ steps (give or a take a few)but it's a pleasant enough walk (as long as it's not too hot) and they really do drop you right downtown!

Mike and Linda (the hotel managers) are wonderful hosts and made our visit that much more pleasant. They had some great ideas for dinner and for touring (we did get a car ... thank goodness). Some great places to eat: Cuzzin's Caribbean Restaurant & Bar, Gladys' Café (breakfast), Tavern on the Waterfront, Hook Line & Sinker, and Oceana (expensive, but great food and wonderful oceanside setting). If possible, be sure and check out the Ritz Carlton to see what several hundred dollars more a night will get you ...

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CADreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2006

We have relied on Trip Advisor postings for years and for the most part found them quite reliable. Unfortunately the Green Iguana does not live up to the hype.

My wife & I stayed at the G.I. 4 nights...2 before a cruise & 2 after. We reserved what was described as the nicest room (6A). The decor was fine & there is a nice view of the harbour. However the main reason we were here was for good nights' sleep. Unfortunately this was not possible. The AC unit was right next to the bed and quite noisy so we only used the overhead fan which would have probably been fine, except you also need to keep the windows open. Then you hear the noisy AC unit running in the next unit, barking dogs, crowing roosters...all night long & a weed eater at 7AM. The bed and bedding is also mediocre quality...not what one would expect when paying $175/nt.

No balcony or patio with lounges so if you want to get some sun you need to go elsewhere. Blackbeards, next door is no longer an operating inn and their pool is no longer available to G.I. guests. If you want a meal you need to go to town. We arrived at night and had hoped to get something to eat close by but there is nothing...and you do not walk to town at night! Every one says it's very dangerous to walk this neighborhood at night. In town we found the Green House restaurant to offer good food at reasonable prices (at least for St Thomas).

We spoke with several people who had stayed at 1829 Hotel and they said it was very quiet, plus they have onsite restaurant and ammenities plus it is closer to town. When we compared notes it was obvious we had made the wrong choice.

Although we do not always post to Trip Advisor, I felt it was important in this case as it is apparent many prior postings are either minimizing the problems or conditions have changed. I recommend to anyone planning on staying at the Green Iguana that they bring earplugs and extra cash for taxis!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank rockodile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 February 2006

We found this hotel thru tripadvisor(-) and are so glad we went with it. This hotel offers a significant amount of privacy, the views from the rooms are breath-taking.

Hotel is within walking distance to downtown charlotte amalie and all the shopping. If you are planning on staying in st. thomas for a few days, renting a car is a must to go around the island, not to mention you can take the car ferry if you plan on going to St. John.

Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
110 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2006

We stayed here one night prior to our 5-day vacation on St. John. We had no problems with the late check-in plan. I was very happy with the e-mail/telephone response time in making the reservation. The bed wan't extremely comfortable and I don't think it is a place I'd be happy staying in for more than a day, but it suited our needs.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LSBurdett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2006

We planed a last minute getaway to St Thomas over New Years and found this quaint little guest house to be charming. We have stayed at some 5 star hotels but generally perfer something off the beatten path which this is. We arrived late and found a note posted on the door instucting us on how to get our keys and find the room. We were more then happy with the room, we found it cosy, and spacious, and it had a great view of Charlotte Amalie. Mike and Linda made us feel right at home, they invited us out for a lovely dinner, we enjoyed our stay at the Green Iguana, and would stay here again in a hartbeat. The one negitive thing that I must comment on was the annoying morning wake-up calls from the rooster down the hill, but by the second morning I was expecting him so I closed the window and put a pillow over my head.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vangogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte Amalie hotels
0.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
562 reviews
0.6 mi away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
692 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
At Home In The Tropics Bed and Breakfast Inn
At Home In The Tropics Bed and B...
#1 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Iguana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Iguana Hotel

Property: The Green Iguana Hotel
Address: 1002 Blackbeards Hl, Charlotte Amalie 00802-6732, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Iguana Hotel offers superb amenities with the comforts of home. The Hotel is centrally located within a 5 minute walk to the Town Charlotte Amalie, and 15 minutes by taxi from the airport. The Hotel has the perfect combination of harbor views, downtown shopping, museums, and great restaurants, ferry transit and beautiful Caribbean Sunsets! Enhanced by the service of the resident managers to answer questions, guests are treated like family. In October 2013, The Green Iguana Hotel began operating on Renewable Solar Energy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Green Iguana Hotel St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing