We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing customer service, clean, safe, good price, great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Green Iguana Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing customer service, clean, safe, good price, great location”
Reviewed 12 February 2011

HIGHLY RECOMMEND! A husband and wife Susie and Bill own and operate this hotel. Both were helpful, but we happened to check in while Susie was there and she did an amazing job of getting us situated and giving us directions and suggestions on where to go in st. thomas to walk around and then have dinner. she even accompanied the directions with photos. when i realized i left one of my bags in the taxi, she gave me the number of the taxi dispatch to call and try to get it back. when i got back from dinner that night it had been returned to the hotel and she took care of getting it into my room and tipping the driver for bringing it back. what service! this could have been lost forever.
Our room was clean and a good price. There are some security concerns in st. thomas but we felt very safe at this hotel as they had cameras and multiple locked doors between the main entrance and the individual guest entrances. this hotel is a good location, not too far from the airport, walking distance to food, shops & the ferry.
I would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvanliere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    115
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
55
192
33
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2011

After an extended search for rooms for my wife, myself and a couple we travel with, we decided to stay at the Green Iguana. We stayed for two nights, then went on a sailing week and then stayed one more night before we flew back home. The couple who own and manage the business are two very good and personable individuals. The rooms were very clean, spacious, colorful and the beds comfortable to sleep in. I would not say they were of a class of 5 star but everything we desired. Great view, everything we needed, clean and working properly. There is a beautiful walk thru plants and scenery to town, takes approximately 15 minutes if you don't spend time taking pictures. The rooms are totally enclosed for privacy and protection. After we left, we realized we left a map of the Virgin Islands and without saying a word, a couple of days later, Coach and his wife mailed this back to us. I totally recommend this place for accommodations, the view, the staff and the comfort.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveAlderman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

I frequent the VI on short business trips (which I then extend into longer leisure trips), and I've never stayed in a place on St. Thomas that I liked as much as the Green Iguana.

Bill and Susie are incredibly nice and gracious hosts. They will go out of their way to help you with anything you need, and to make you feel welcomed. I can't say enough good things about them.

As far as the hotel itself, the rooms are modest, but fully functional. My room had everything I wanted - a nice king-size bed, AC, a microwave, coffee maker, mini fridge, satellite TV, high-speed wifi internet (some of the best Internet I've had at a hotel in the VI, by the way), closet, ironing board and iron, a nice shower, balcony with a nice view, etc.

Some of the reviews mention that it's not in the nicest area on the island. It's true that this hotel is in town. It's not sitting out on the oceanfront like the Marriott or the Wyndham, but you're also not paying $500 a night! What I'll say is that as long as you have a car or can call a taxi, you'll have no trouble getting to the hotel at night, and during the day, you can walk the streets without worrying. And the property itself is very secure. Not once did I feel threatened during my 4-night stay.

Overall, the Green Iguana is a great value, in my opinion. It all depends on what you're looking for. If you want to be right on the ocean in a resort setting, this is not the hotel for you. But if you're like me, and paying 1/4 of the price to still be about 7-8 minutes from awesome beaches, and still get a great room with awesome owners who really care...then this is definitely your place. I'll be coming back to the Green Iguana for sure. :)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoxWin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

We had a nightmarish time with the airlines both on the way out and on the way home. The owners were very kind to let us alter the dates of our stay and not charge us. For this reason, we'll always come back to the Green Iguana and recommend it to friends. The accommodations are simple, but clean. However, I don't recommend the city of Charl. Am. at all... stay a night or two then go somewhere else. Several of the locals told us there was a lot of crime and everywhere you go in town there are beggars and slippery salesmen. This town will really squeeze the money out of you and you won't enjoy it unless you love spending thousands of dollars on crappy jewelery.

Green Iguana was our refuge from the madness of this city. Great little hotel, wonderful owners but terrible city.

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank geogeek22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2010

We were so glad we took the advice of countless other travelers who have experienced the boutique hotel, The Green Iguana. Our experience was nothing short of wonderful. From the fantastic view of Charlotte Amalie, to the charming cozy little room, clean and well stocked with anything you might need during your stay. But best of all, the service from our gracious hosts, Bill and Susie. From the start, they were extremely friendly and helpful. They offered restaurant choices and explained how to get into town by foot down the wonderful “99 steps”. We spent two nights at the Green Iguana, both before and after our sailing charter. On the second night, we happened to see Bill and Susie at the Green House where we were having dinner (fabulous place, thanks again Bill and Susie). At the end of our dinner, they were kind enough to offer us a ride over to the Yacht Haven where we enjoyed Jazz Under A Full Moon with them. They showed us around the various shops and restaurants there before driving us back to the hotel. The Green Iguana exceeded our expectations and we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slevings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

The view from our patio was amazing. The room was charming, clean and well stocked with anything that you may need during your stay. Bill and Susie were very friendly and helpful. They offered restaurant choices and explained about all the historic sites within walking distance of the Inn. The Green Iguana exceeded our expectations and we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klfkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2010

If you are traveling to St Thomas and need a place to stay that is reasonably priced and close to downtown Charlotte Amalie, this is the place. The managers, Susie and Bill are absolutely the best at helping you know where to visit and have fun as well as running a great little hotel that is clean and well maintained. They love to take care of their guests and help them in any way they can. Go visit The Green Iguana, www.thegreeniguana.com you'll be glad you did and while you are in St Thomas, make sure you do the B.O.S.S. www.bossusvi.com

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank St_Thomas_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte Amalie hotels
0.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
560 reviews
0.6 mi away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
690 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
At Home In The Tropics Bed and Breakfast Inn
At Home In The Tropics Bed and B...
#1 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Iguana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Iguana Hotel

Property: The Green Iguana Hotel
Address: 1002 Blackbeards Hl, Charlotte Amalie 00802-6732, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Iguana Hotel offers superb amenities with the comforts of home. The Hotel is centrally located within a 5 minute walk to the Town Charlotte Amalie, and 15 minutes by taxi from the airport. The Hotel has the perfect combination of harbor views, downtown shopping, museums, and great restaurants, ferry transit and beautiful Caribbean Sunsets! Enhanced by the service of the resident managers to answer questions, guests are treated like family. In October 2013, The Green Iguana Hotel began operating on Renewable Solar Energy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Green Iguana Hotel St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing