We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A True Island Treasure!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bellavista Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bellavista Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Racine
Level Contributor
218 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“A True Island Treasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

After staying at this exceptional Island Bed and Breakfast, we have now raise the bar for all future B&B's we encounter, as a matter of fact, honestly, we don't ever expect to find one as this was truly "The Treasure of the Caribbean"! Wendy, the "Gem" of the place, sparkles and shines with her personality, food preparation, care of your room and makes sure you are taking advantage of all the Island has to offer! Doug, the First Mate of the grounds (and other missions), sees to it that everything is beautiful and in running order....you have exceeded that Doug along with smiles, laughs and good conversation!

We struck it "rich" at Bellavista B&B with friendships and great memories!

(warning: beware of that little pirate, Mocha, who will quietly "steal" your affection)!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
174
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Just returned from a week's stay at the lovely Bellavista B&B. I can't say enough about how great an experience it was to stay here! The house itself is beautiful, situated on a hill about the harbor, with a fabulous view of the harbor from the pool deck, from the open air living room, and from the porch of our spacious room, the Bambooshay. The room was immaculately clean with lovely decor and a great bathroom. But the best part of the experience was the proprietor, Wendy, who made our stay so special. Her breakfasts were delicious and healthy, and beautifully presented on colorful, whimsical china, in the dining room where we chatted with the other guests in a leisurely start to the day. Wendy was so helpful with suggestions on where to go (beaches, island hopping), where to dine, and gave detailed directions on how to get there. There was free parking for our rental car, and Wendy loaned us snorkel equipment, beach chairs, and beach towels. She also pampered us with extras like bottled water, granola bars, and turn down service with the lovely flowers on the pillow. Although we've stayed in many B&B's in the U.S. and in Europe, this has to be one of the best we've been to. Thank you to Wendy and Doug for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daytripper512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Wendy and Doug were the perfect hosts. They went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. We have stayed in a lot of B & B's and this has to be one of the very best. The breakfasts are gourmet and are to die for. Wendy is a wealth of information and help. I would suggest that you reserve the rooms that overlook the port - the view from the private balconies is spectular!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gdl8347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

My husband and I returned home last week after our 9th visit to Bellavista Bed and Breakfast. You may find it strange that we return time and time again, but when you've found a fabulous and relaxing place to vacation you will return often. Wendy and Doug are the proprietors of this cozy 4 bedroom B&B and they make you feel both comfortable and special at the same time. The breakfasts are delicious and beautiful works of art. Wendy is always ready to help with activity or restaurant recommendations. But if you just want to relax and enjoy the view grab a pool side chair to watch the sun rise and set.

Room Tip: Bambooshay is our favorite with a newly remodeled bathroom and a private balconey,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matawan, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

My Husband and I have been going to Bella Vista for 6 years in a row!! It is the best home away from home ever!! Wendy treats us like we are family...Better then family!! The breakfast is the best ever and she has a cook book you can purchase to copy her recipes!! The rooms are very clean and every night she turns down your bedding and leaves gorgeous fresh flowers petals on your pillow and sometimes even rose petals!! I highly recommend this b&b!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Bellavista was absolutely awesome. Great location in the most beautiful environment (the B&B was very close to the shops and the port, but still felt very secluded, safe, private). Wonderful/delicious/unique breakfasts made from scratch, and always offering a vegetarian option. Friendly and generous hosts that were extremely helpful in sharing information about the Island and the best places to visit.

In short, it was REALLY hard to leave!

Thanks again!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MpLii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Wendy the owner took care of all our needs with friendliness and professional. Her attention to detail is unmatched by any other B&B we have stayed at. Whether it was giving directions, preparing her amazing breakfasts or putting flowers on our pillows every night, Wendy did it with style and grace. She ensured that our stay was completely carefree, so we could soak in the beauty of St. Thomas. Unexpected extras included use of snorkel equipment, and fresh fruit, juices and other snacks available to guests 24/7. The property itself offered beautiful views of the harbor, and was like an open air hacienda, Caribbean style, where guests could lounge around and enjoy pleasant breezes in a variety of places, including our private balconies, the library, and poolside.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bambooshay room, and it was very roomy, and beautiful. But having peeked at the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rs7517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
5.5 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
At Home In The Tropics Bed and Breakfast Inn
At Home In The Tropics Bed and B...
#1 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.8 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
The Green Iguana Hotel
The Green Iguana Hotel
#3 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellavista Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellavista Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bellavista Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2713 Murphy Gade, Charlotte Amalie 00802-5547, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellavista is a delightfully inviting B&B featuring an island-style villa with colorful gardens and panoramic views. We offer a full homemade tropically-inspired breakfast each morning and a complete array of amenities including luxury linens, spa robes, turndown service, locally crafted aloe bath products, in-room refrigerators stocked with bottled water, complimentary fresh fruit basket and granola bars, an assortment of beach equipment and snorkel gear free of charge, and personalized vacation planning advice. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bellavista Bed And Breakfast
Bellavista Bed & Breakfast St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing