We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the middle of paradise!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bellavista Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
CT
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A gem in the middle of paradise!”
Reviewed 26 May 2009

We had the pleasure of staying at Bellavista with our friends last week (May 16-23) and I can't say enough about this beautiful gem in the middle of the Caribbean. When arriving at Bellavista the views will take your breath away while sitting next to the refreshing crystal clear pool with it's lush gardens surrounding it. Every morning we woke up to the tantalizing smell of Wendy preparing us one of her delicious breakfasts, after a wonderful nights sleep in our beautifully decorated and exceptionally comfortable room with an incredible view. Wendy not only was a terrific hostess, but also provided excellent information about the island and all it has to offer, she recommended great restaurants & really interesting excursions. I could go on and on about this little bit of paradise we discovered, but you'll just have to go and see for yourself......believe me it will be worth the trip!
Steve & Leslie - CT

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravlinStarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
179
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2009

We stayed for for one week and just absolutely loved it. The home is beautiful and exceptionally clean. The view was sensational, but what really set this B&B apart from all of the rest, was Wendy. I am a diabetic and she went out of her way to make sure that I had a healthy breakfast that tasted terrific... and it did! My wife doesn't like most berries so Wendy went a different direction to accomodate my wife's taste. What more could you ask for in a hostess? Well, how about engaging? She took the time to make sure that she gave us all of the information necessary to make wise and cost effective decisions on how to plan our day. If we chose not to plan our day and just lounge around, she welcomed that also and always had soothing music to listen to while we lounged around. She also has just about every kind of book that you might want to read. But what really got me.... was the "just in case you forgot it" cabinet. If you forgot it, Wendy either has it or will get it.
If and when we go back to St. Thomas, there is only one place that we would even consider staying... Bellavista B&B.

Bill and Lanie Simmons
Arlington, Texas

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Txlanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2009

An excellent B&B. Beautifully decorated. Wendy is a very cordial hostess and makes a great breakfast with a lot of creativity. Extremely clean including the pool. Spectacular view of the harbor. It is about 300+ feet above sea level so a challenging walk up but we two 66 yr-olds did it. Most of the time used a taxi. Our room was smallish but had a lot of storage space so no problem.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbmurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2009

While the B&B is considered in town it is actually up the hill. There are advantages and disadvantages to that location. The view down the harbor and town is very nice. However, it is quite a walk (especially coming back up) from town and it does not appear to be safe to walk after dark. The rooms are of very different sizes and it is probably worthwhile to pay extra for the bigger rooms. The entire B&B is very nicely appointed and meticulously clean. It seems like the friendly owner, Wendy, cleans the room whenever we are out of it! Wendy is also very helpful in giving us tips on where to go as well as helping us with car/restaurant reservations. Breakfast was different everyday (at least for the days we stayed), all beautifully presented, nutritious and delicious. While we really like the B&B we must say there are couple major drawbacks. The room are noisy (we were woken up by various sounds especially traffic every morning) and the water pressure and volume in the shower is extremely low.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seadaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellabnb, owner at Bellavista Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 May 2009
As the proprietor, I will be the first to profess that Bellavista Bed & Breakfast is not perfect. It is a quintessential island home. I love it dearly and I enjoy sharing it with others. So it is only natural to feel disheartened by negative comments and feel compelled to provide clarification…

In regards to water pressure, it is not a common problem. Our local utility does sometimes have issues with water pressure or occasionally the water is shut off completely. But we have a remedy for this. As soon as we notice or guests alert us to the problem, we switch over to our cistern for a fully pressurized back-up water supply.

In regards to our location, Bellavista B&B is in a historic neighborhood on Denmark Hill just above Charlotte Amalie. We are 300 feet above sea level and the walk to town is one-third mile down the steps and down the hill to Main Street. Some guests consider the walk to be a nice workout. Others prefer to pace themselves and take a few breaks (there are two art galleries and the historic synagogue along the way). And some guests choose to drive or hire a taxi (a $5 fare each way per person).

Unfortunately, a close proximity to town can pose a disadvantage in regards to noise. Charlotte Amalie emits an eclectic combination of sounds--traffic, music, roosters, dogs, and church bells. Some nights are quiet and some are not, but it is hard to judge until the morning after. The noise is less likely to disturb those who close up their windows and run the air conditioning at night.

In regards to safety, guidebooks and locals always caution visitors not to walk to/from/around town after dark. Main Street is deserted when the stores close, and the restaurants are dispersed mainly along the waterfront. It is very seldom on St. Thomas that crimes are committed against tourists. But when it is dark and there is no one around, the potential exists. Therefore, I always ask my guests to err on the side of caution and drive or take a taxi after dark.

In closing, I hope this provides insight into what to expect--on St. Thomas, in Charlotte Amalie, and at Bellavista Bed & Breakfast--so that you can make an informed decision about where to spend your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

My husband and I decided to stay for 2 nights in St. Thomas after our cruise. From the moment Wendy and her dog Mocha met us at the door we knew we had chosen the right place. Our room was heavenly, very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a very good size and quite efficient. Breakfast was nothing short of perfect. Martha Stewart couldn't have done it better. All of Wendy's recommendations for dinner were fantastic. After cruising for the last 5 years, I now know where I want to book a week's vacation to veg by the pool and give Mocha some tummy rubs. I highly recommend this B&B Karen Sullivan Burlington, Ontario.Canada

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CareBear4844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and enjoyed every minute! The views from the house are amazing, the hosts are incredibly friendly and helpful while allowing you plenty of privacy, the house is airy and well decorated, the pool is enticing, and the food is scrumptious! This was a nice escape from the busy streets and impersonal resorts of Charlotte-Amalie. Truly the best B&B we've stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vegetariantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, WI
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2009

My fiance and I vacationed in St. Thomas for 8 days in August 2008. We had heard about the Bellavista B&B on the Today Show back in February of that year and booked our trip less than a week later---we weren't even really planning to take a vacation. From making our reservation to the end of our stay, Wendy was WONDERFUL! We stayed in the beautiful Bambooshay room--it was spacious, clean, comfortable, and well-maintained. The views from our room were beautiful! Wendy made us a delicious breakfast each morning, suggested places to see and things to do, and made restaurant suggestions to us almost nightly. We also had he opportunity to meet (and actually HOLD!) her beautiful cat, Latte. Wendy says most people never get to see Latte (I was told many often question whether Latte even exists!), but I think Latte sensed that we are friendly cat people---Latte made sure to pay us visits by the pool and greet us upon returning from dinner. We HIGHLY recommend the Bellavista to our family and friends and if/when we return to St. Thomas, we would not hesitate to give Wendy a call.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaelehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
562 reviews
5.5 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
At Home In The Tropics Bed and Breakfast Inn
At Home In The Tropics Bed and B...
#1 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
4.4 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
688 reviews
2.1 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellavista Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellavista Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bellavista Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2713 Murphy Gade, Charlotte Amalie 00802-5547, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the harbor & historic town of Charlotte Amalie, Bellavista B&B is a charming island-style home set in lush gardens offering many amenities including: * two-course homemade tropically-inspired breakfast * swimming pool and sunbathing deck with a panoramic view of the harbor * complimentary non-alcoholic beverages, fresh fruit and snacks * complimentary beach gear including sand chairs, snorkel equipment, coolers, beach bags, towels, mats & floats * personalized vacation planning advice and assistance based on your interests, budget and travel style * wireless internet access and cable TV * spa robes, luxury linens & a bouquet of fresh flowers in your guest room * nightly turndown service ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bellavista Bed And Breakfast
Bellavista Bed & Breakfast St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing