We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place ever!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bellavista Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best place ever!”
Reviewed 8 February 2007

I could never put into words how wonderful our experience was at Bellavista. My husband and I stayed for three nights in the little Palm Tree Melee room.
Originally we were going to stay 7 nights on St John, but after reading all the Trip Advisor reviews about Bellavista, we decided to change our plans. St John was spectacular, but we are so glad that we experienced Bellavista too!
Everything you read in the posts below about how beautiful the view is, how clean the villa is, how thoughtful Wendy is -- is 100% true! Wendy loves her business; her number one goal is to ensure her guests have a fabulous time. The information and tips she shares are priceless. She will give as much space or as much help as her guests want/need. She wants guests to feel the entire villa is their villa. That was how my husband and I felt whether we were taking a dip in the pool, enjoying the balcony and decks, or relaxing in the living room while looking out through the open doorways to the lights on the harbor.
Let me add one more fact, another couple staying at Bellavista the same time we were there, own their own B&B back in the states. They told us that this is the second time they've stayed at Bellavista because Wendy does such a great job. Who else could be more of a critic than someone in the same line of work?
If they love it, so will you!
Enjoy!

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Seaidol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
179
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saddle Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2007

My husband and I spent the second half of our honeymoon at the Bellavista. We started at The Westin in St. John for four nights and then headed here for four nights. It was amazing! We got the honeymoon package which made our honeymoon perfect.

We had read so much about Wendy on this website and everything was right. She was helpful, friendly and went out of her way to do anything. On our last morning at the B&B, there was some construction going on below the house. It didn't bother us at all. But Wendy wanted us to have the perfect end to our honeymoon and moved the table and chairs farther away and set up our breakfast by the pool. We got lucky b/c we were the only ones booked for those four days so it was like having a private villa to ourselves.

The view from the pool is so amazing...we were content sitting by the pool with a book (from the huge selection from the bookcase) and just taking it all in.

We would highly recommend this place to anyone. Even if you think you don't like B&B's....just try it!

  • Liked — the scenery and price for what you got
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank zini13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2007

We stayed at Bellavista for 5 nights this January and were blown away at how truly perfect it was. This has to be one of the best kept secrets in St. Thomas as you will not find better service anywhere else. We spent time at both the Marriott and Bolongo Bay while we visited St. Thomas, and neither of them even come close to Bellavista in regards to cleanliness, food, and especially service. After staying here, we are convinced that there is no need to ever stay anywhere else on St. Thomas.

Why?

CLEANLINESS: I am a stickler when it comes to clean rooms and bathrooms and you will not be disappointed here. The bedrooms, bathrooms, and common areas are all spotless. You will feel as comfortable lounging on the couches, swimming in the pool, sitting at the table eating your gourmet breakfast, or relaxing in your bedroom as if you were at home. (Except here, you don't have to do the dishes or clean up after yourself!) Wendy cleans your guest room every day and turns down your bed every night. Her added touch of placing fresh flowers on your pillows and even taking the time to fold the toilet paper sheet into a "triangle" lets you know she has great attention to detail.

FOOD: I kept reading the great reviews about the food here and wondering if it could really be that good. Well, I assure you, everyone is spot on. The breakfasts are absolutely delicious and we found ourselves looking forward to them and even arranging our plans around them each day of our stay. Wendy offers up a different two-course breakfast (plus a fresh fruit smoothie, water, and coffee) every morning. The first course is a nice serving of fresh fruit carefully sliced and beautifully arranged. The second hot course included delights ranging from sour cream waffles, to French toast, to various soufflé’s and quiches along with ham, sausage, and bacon. Wendy will also cater to any dietary need, so no need to worry that you will go hungry if you have special needs. She also stocks your in-room fridge with complimentary bottled water and there is also plenty of juice and soda in the main kitchen if you ever want any as well.

SERVICE: Hands down, this place has the BEST service of all hotels on the island. Wendy makes you feel as if it is her pleasure to help you. She will arrange taxi's for you, make dinner reservations for you, even research and set up excursions for you. Whatever you want to do, she goes out of her way to help you have the best experience possible. She knows the various ferry schedules and will help you arrange your trip around them if needed. Some of the other larger so-called "luxury" hotels on the island could learn a lot from Wendy. We were so surprised at the level of service that we received from some hotels that charged 3 to 4 times as much as Bellavista. None of them made us feel as welcome as Wendy.

LOCATION: Bellavista sits on a hilltop above the downtown so the views are breathtaking. It's also fun to see the cruise ships dock every morning and leave every night. Although it only takes 5 minutes to walk down to town and hit the shops and cafes, the walk back up the steep hill is strenuous and definitely a workout. I wouldn't recommend the walk back up for small children or the elderly as you will definitely get winded if you're not used to hiking. Take a cab back unless you're up for the challenge.

If you're not looking to stay at a mega resort or on the beach, this is the only place that should be on your list! You'll see that after one stay, you too will want to tell the world about how great it was at Bellavista!

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
10 Thank TexGal211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2007

A friend and I stayed at Wendy Snodgrass' wonderful B&B (only 4 rooms) for five days over Christmas 2006 and we can't say enough good things about the ambiance and the owner! While a bit hard to find and a fairly steep climb from central St. Thomas, it is well worth making the effort. The view is superb, the decor and spacious living areas cannot be improved upon, and Wendy's attention to detail and hospitality are unbeatable. She made incredible gourmet breakfasts and arrangements for taxis, in-house massages, dinner reservations, etc.---a superb chef/concierge/hostess. While the bedrooms are not large, each had airconditioning and a modern and generous bathroom. There is a large patio for sunbathing, and a pool-with-a-view. I highly recommend Bellavista as a charming, personalized alternative to the large resorts in the islands.

  • Liked — Privacy, small number of people, owner's thoughtfulness
  • Disliked — mosquitos....
  • Tips/Secrets — Go and enjoy! It may book up quickly so plan ahead.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Voyageur37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Bellavista B&B for 5 nights in Nov 2005. This was the best B&B I have ever stayed at...the views were to die for, the rooms were perfect, and the breakfast was outstanding day after day. Wendy was a wonderful hostess and she was very accommodating each day with advice on shopping, restaurants, and island activities. She even went out of her way to provide us with snorkel gear as well as booking a day sail for us after we had received cancellation of our original sail. We will definitely be back again for a second visit!

  • Stayed November 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 June 2006

Though we are new to the idea of staying at bnbs we have stayed in enough places to know a great find when we come across one. Honeymooning in USVI and needing a night to stay in St. Thomas at close to the last minute Wendy was very quick to respond to emails and accommodate. Also, her information on the bnb location was helpful in directing the taxi driver from the airport. Even when leaving Wendy waited with us for the taxi and made sure the driver knew where to take us. We stayed in the J’ouvert Gardens room and loved the little touches like removing all of the decorative pillows before we went to sleep, placing flowers on the sleeping pillows, and of course bug spray for those evening excursions into town and/or laying by the pool watching Charlotte Amalie light up. Wendy joked that she needed to reread her books on how to run a successful bnb but I think that she should write her own book! The only negative thing about our experience is that we weren't able to stay longer!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2006

Bellavista feels like a home away from home while staying in St. Thomas. Wendy's attention to detail is evident throughout the house and her beakfasts are absolutely amazing! The pool deck overlooking Charlotte Amalie is a perfect place to come back and relax at after a day of exploring the islands. Bellavista is close to town and beaches, yet you feel so far away in your own piece of tropical paradise. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hlfields14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
562 reviews
5.5 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
At Home In The Tropics Bed and Breakfast Inn
At Home In The Tropics Bed and B...
#1 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
4.4 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
688 reviews
2.1 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellavista Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellavista Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bellavista Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2713 Murphy Gade, Charlotte Amalie 00802-5547, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the harbor & historic town of Charlotte Amalie, Bellavista B&B is a charming island-style home set in lush gardens offering many amenities including: * two-course homemade tropically-inspired breakfast * swimming pool and sunbathing deck with a panoramic view of the harbor * complimentary non-alcoholic beverages, fresh fruit and snacks * complimentary beach gear including sand chairs, snorkel equipment, coolers, beach bags, towels, mats & floats * personalized vacation planning advice and assistance based on your interests, budget and travel style * wireless internet access and cable TV * spa robes, luxury linens & a bouquet of fresh flowers in your guest room * nightly turndown service ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bellavista Bed And Breakfast
Bellavista Bed & Breakfast St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing