We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time as good as the first!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
At Home In The Tropics Bed and Breakfast Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
South Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Second time as good as the first!”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Lovely breakfast. Amazing views. A quick walk to shops and restuarants. Pam knows everything about the area.... Right down to if your cell phone will work and if you'll be charged extra to use it!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jakerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
237
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Duncan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Our group of six started and ended their sailing trip in BVI in St. Thomas and we stayed at
"At Home in the Tropics B&B " Relaxing by the pool after a long flight is a must. Beautiful view,
clean , comfortable rooms and wonderful breakfasts on the deck. Pam and Matt have a wealth
of local knowledge. Wish I was still there!!

Nick Newell

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nolty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria VA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We had a wonderful time. This may be first 5 review I have ever given! Loved the views, the room, and the pool of course. We highly receommend and plan to return. Breakfast was also wonderful! We stayed in room 1 and would stay in same room again.

Room Tip: Room 1 offered separate balcony with nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandriava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This was our first Bed and Breakfast experience and was more than ideal for our 5 night stay. It was an excellent inn that was very accomodating. The breakfast every morning spoiled us for the rest of our trip. There was distilled water and water bottles for us to use since the local water can sometimes be questionable. There were fresh beach towels to take to the beach or use at the pool which was great to have a clean towel every day. The location was right in the downtown area of Charlotte Amalie which good during the day. Getting dinners was sometimes tough but there are plenty of restaurants around, it helped to decide early rather than wandering around at night. Overall, a great place, we would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hikermikeCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Va.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed at At Home In The Tropics for only 2 nights, after a week in St. John. We loved every minute of the At Home In The Tropics Bed and Breakfast. From the moment we arrived, we wish we had a week there, rather than in St. John. When we arrived at At Home In The Tropics, the beautiful room was ready for us, Pam walked us around to show us the decks, pool, snacks, honor bar, water cooler, gate keys, and so on. The B&B is immaculate, decorated as though Pam and Matt know exactly what one needs to feel both pampered and at home, which they do. Their breakfasts are delicious - they begin with a plate of fruit, any kind of juice, and then cooked meals, in addition to fresh coffee/tea which is available whenever we want it. Pam and Matt gave us dining suggestions - we took their advice. We especially liked Tavern on the Waterfront (twice).. We plan to return, and will again ask for Room #2, but honestly, with only 4 beautiful rooms, any will do.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2012

At home in the tropics is perfect for those who look for something quite, personal and are not in to mass tourism. (big ressorts etc) Breakfast is delicious (but a little early ;)
location could not be better (in town +near nice old neighbourhood)
View is amazing, clean , lovely common areas with little pool
The all full of light good taste & nice plants.

VM

Room Tip: all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanemaxim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We had a fabulous time in our 3 nights at Christmas. There aren’t enough superlatives to fit this unbeatable place: wonderful and thoughtful hospitality, delicious breakfasts, helpful suggestions on car rentals/dining/activities, refreshing swimming pool, fantastic harbor view, tasteful decorations, daily room service. Our stay was truly a memorable one. We started salivating the next morning after we left, wondering what delicious concoction we were missing at Pam’s breakfast table. There isn't a single thing that could have been better! The only reason not to stay here is if you can’t get a reservation!

Room Tip: Room 4 is a corner room, lots of light, overlooks the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaH867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.4 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.6 mi away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
5.3 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
4.2 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
2.3 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Home In The Tropics Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Home In The Tropics Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: At Home In The Tropics Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 1680 Dronningens Gade, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home in the Tropics is a lovingly restored historic Bed and Breakfast overlooking Charlotte Amalie harbor. A former colonial Danish barracks, each room features a view of the harbor and access to the main courtyard, pool and lounge areas. All rooms include air conditioning, a refrigerator, cooler, and beach towels. Nestled in a quiet neighborhood between the Government House Steps and the Historic 99 Steps, we are a short walk to the best local shops and restaurants. We feature fresh, homemade breakfasts made with local ingredients each day. Included in your room price is breakfast, parking, pool access, and wifi. There are no additional charges. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
At Home In The Tropics Bed And Breakfast Inn St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing