We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to call home while exploring old St. Thomas.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
At Home In The Tropics Bed and Breakfast Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 March 2013

A fabulous experience. Our hosts were welcoming.well informed and great cooks. The property was well situated for exploring the historic district and shopping. Relaxing near the pool and enjoying the view was a treat. Have already recommended At Home In The Tropics to friends. We look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reviews57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
There are newer reviews for At Home In The Tropics Bed and Breakfast Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013

My husband and I spent three wonderful nights at “At Home in the Tropics” before our week long stay on St. John. We enjoyed our stay very much. Pam and Matt are wonderful hosts and the nicest people. Pam was especially helpful in suggesting a special restaurant as well as helping us with many other itinerary ideas. The breakfasts were amazing and Pam happily accommodated my gluten free dietary needs. The location was perfect; up high over Charlotte Amalie with a wonderful view of the harbor. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. Pam and Matt have done an excellent job providing modern day comforts in a historical 19th century building. The common areas were also very comfortable and inviting. We especially enjoyed the open porch with the wonderful sea breezes. I highly recommend AHITT, we look forward to returning on our next trip to St. Thomas.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BabuKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This was the perfect place to start our 2 weeks on the Virgin Islands.

Easy to get to from the airport, centrally located and walking distance to shopping, restaurants and under a 10 minute drive to Magens Bay.

Pam and Matt were wonderful hosts, the breakfasts were superb, the snacks and open access make it feel like a home. The views, the casual atmosphere were everything as expected, and yes – we would go back.

Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scratchcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We are not shoppers or big tourist-spot folks, but we found this oasis (right in the heart of St. Thomas) to be the perfect spot for our Virgin Islands vacation. In absurdly easy walking distance to any in-town amenities or destinations, we still felt like we were in our own private villa. One is as close to shopping and activity AND (in fewer than 99 Steps) as far away from thousands of cruise-shippers as one could wish! We savored staying above the fray (with an unbeatable view!), and just blocks from the dollar bus that took us to quiet beaches and Red Hook ferries (and even St. John in almost no time!). A personal favorite for the tastiest food in Charlotte Amalie was the Rastafarian Natural Livity Kultcha cafe, just down the steps (below Government Center) --with unbeatable vegetarian treats (that even my meat-loving other-half adored) -- I took a vegan chick'n wrap with me to the airport and wished I'd had one every day of our vacation!

We had the most splendid stay with every detail attended to by real, delightful, and very conscientious human hosts -- concierge service without the artificial nonsense (and pocket-lining of hotel chain conglomerates) that a resort stay would be. Breakfast, as everyone says, was amazing, as was the attention to every detail throughout the day. Indeed, the worst part of our trip was having to leave -- we hope to return soon and often!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhiltheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Me and my husband spent 7 unforgettable days in Saint Thomas and We were staying in "At Home in the Tropics". It was wonderful! Excellent and very safe place, Wonderful owners, the most delicious breakfast .... We really Enjoyed a lot staying there, It was very clean and You feel so relaxed and comfortable.
The location of the Inn was prefect , You should take only few steps down to find yourself in downtown and shopping area, And we want once again Thank Pam and Mat for having such a nice Inn and showing all the guests a wonderful hospitality. We will definitely go back to the Island again and for sure we will stay at Home in the Tropics because we miss You Dear Pam and Mat and your house:) Thank You once again !!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We spent a week at At Home In The Tropics and we couldn't have been happier with our stay. Pam and Matt were great hosts and each day, breakfast was so good. I'm still dreaming about the cinnamon muffins! The location is great as well. A short walk down the steps and your in the middle of the shopping action. If you don't mind walking a little bit (~20-25 minutes), you can also take a stroll along the bay to Havensight or Frenchtown and see everything that they have to offer too.

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dougger1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

After one fantastic and unforgetable week sailing with a catamaran ( Loveboat and cpt. Joshua P. Cresswell ) to the BVI we had one week at Tortola / Long Bay, in a great house ( Murray house ) before we ended our anniversarytrip at St. Thomas where we fortunatelig had booked us into this lovely bed & breakfast with the sweetest hosts Pam and Matt. This was " the dot over the I" as we say in Norwegian :) First time we have been to Caribien and for sure not the last !

Room Tip: Room number 1 + 2 have door also towards the nice terrasse.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Titti_61_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.4 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
571 reviews
1.6 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
4.2 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Olga's Fancy
Olga's Fancy
#4 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
71 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
6.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Home In The Tropics Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Home In The Tropics Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 1680 Dronningens Gade, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: £167 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home in the Tropics is a lovingly restored historic Bed and Breakfast overlooking Charlotte Amalie harbor. A former colonial Danish barracks, each room features a view of the harbor and access to the main courtyard, pool and lounge areas. All rooms include air conditioning, a refrigerator, cooler, and beach towels. Nestled in a quiet neighborhood between the Government House Steps and the Historic 99 Steps, we are a short walk to the best local shops and restaurants. We feature fresh, homemade breakfasts made with local ingredients each day. Included in your room price is breakfast, parking, pool access, and wifi. There are no additional charges. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
At Home In The Tropics Bed And Breakfast Inn St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing