We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
At Home In The Tropics Bed and Breakfast Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The Best”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

At Home in the Tropics was rated #1. It deserves it. Once I saw the pictures of it online, I just couldn't book anywhere else. It was more than I've ever paid for a B&B, but the experience was worth every penny. Pam and Matt are friendly and helpful. The whole place is clean, light, and airy. The breakfasts were substantial and delicious, eggs, homemade muffins, fruit plate, and great coffee. It is well located for walking down the 99 steps to the main shopping and restaurant area. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We had the room with the king bed. There are only four rooms. The rooms look like they do in the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth1648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
240
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

All the reviews of this B&B rave about the hosts, the facilities, the pool and the service. They're all absolutely right. What's missing though are some of the other magnificent attributes of this gem of an accommodation. First, it is PERFECTLY situated in Charlotte Amalie. It is about 2 blocks up a hill directly behind the very centre of the most ancient part of the old town. There are certainly stairs (a lot of them!) but taken slowly in the shade even the faint of heart can manage fine. It is also accessible by car and taxi of course. But what hit us was the ease and speed with which we could get into town, discover obscure little restaurants and food carts, catch the local bus (for a dollar!), enjoy the local market and so on. Second, the name of this place is chosen for a reason: it is designed to encourage you to treat it as your place. We never had to worry about being a nuisance asking for stuff. Coffee, tea, honour bar, complimentary snacks, pool towels, extra pillows are all available on a 24 hour basis without bothering the hosts. So is your own personal fridge located out by the pool, along with a nice area to cut up a local papaya or pull together a small meal. It does feel like you are at home - not in the homey-hearth sense, but as if you share in the place and can use its resources without inhibition. Of the many B&Bs we've stayed in all over the world, this is by far the most welcome and best value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank squash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remsenburg, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I just returned last night from St. Thomas and wanted to tell one and all about the absolute best place to stay in St. Thomas. At Home in the Tropics is lovely to look and the hosts are so helpful and it doesn't hurt that the breakfasts are outstanding and different each morning. It is also close to the shopping and I would advise using the stairs to go to town and return from town, that is if you do not get a taxi. The views are magnificent from the location and the hosts make it an extremely pleasant experience in every aspect. I would definitely recommend it to everyone in earshot.

Room Tip: They are all good with great views.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne7414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This B & B was very nice and much more. The breakfast was delicious and served on English china. The rooms were lovely. The owners were very helpful and tried to make our stay as pleasant as possible. It is only a two block walk to the center of Charlotte Amalie shops however, it feels like you are tucked away in your own private B & B situated on a hill. I would recommend this place to anyone. Only four bedrooms so book early. The house, balconies, pool and lounge areas are yours to enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myadgame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria VA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Wonderful place for couples or adults. Clean, wonderful pool, great breakfast. Great hosts! We stopped here before heading to BVIs and great way to spend first 2 nights in VIs. Matt and Pam do a great job. (You do have to use stairs to get in and out of the inn so if handicap be aware of that- with someone in my family who is handicap you do start to notice these things.) ANd of course wonderful views of harbor with cruise ships and sea planes. Great place- and take advantage of their "bar!"

Room Tip: Great rooms- all 4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexandriava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We booked 3 nights at this B&B after reading wondeful reviews. It was lovely. Tucked away in the hills of Charlotte Amalie, you have no idea you are in the city. Room and common areas were immaculate and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was gourmet. We were delayed a day due to weather and were not charged for that night, which is rare. Two minute walk up the hill to restaurant at Blackbeard's Castle where we had a great dinner with a very impressive view. Each guest room has their own min fridge by the pool. Pam and Matt have really thought of everything to make guests feel comfortable. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
192 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We found At Home In Tropics here on TripAdvisor while planning a January 2012 trip to the USVI. We stayed at AHITT for two nights during that trip and loved it, so it was an easy choice to return there a couple of weeks back as we started another Virgin Islands vacation.

Pam and Matt are wonderful hosts. Pam prepares tasty and filling breakfasts each morning and Matt seems to know every inch of St. Thomas and provides excellent information on the beaches and getting around the island. Both Matt and Pam are readily available, even if by cell phone, to assist their guests. The guest rooms, common areas, and pool area are spotless. The pool deck, combined with the fact there are never more than eight guests at AHITT, provides as oasis from the hustle and bustle of surrounding Charlotte Amalie.

Other features of AHITT include:
Each guest room having a mini-fridge on the pool deck.
The free snacks in the common area.
The honor bar - the beers, sodas, wine, on the bar cost only slightly more than you would pay in one of the convenience stores in the area (e.g. an honor bar cold beer is $3 while most stores charge $2.50 per cold beer)

One final bonus we found during our last stay is that the restaurant at Blackbeard's Castle recently reopened. The Castle is just up the hill from AHITT and serves good food at dinner for a fair price, which is not something readily found on St. Thomas. Plus, the restaurant has an even better view of the harbor than AHITT.

Room Tip: Rooms one and two include access to a balcony with a great view of the Charlotte Amalie harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheddVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.4 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
561 reviews
5.3 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
687 reviews
2.3 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,738 reviews
0.9 mi away
Olga's Fancy
Olga's Fancy
#4 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Home In The Tropics Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Home In The Tropics Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: At Home In The Tropics Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 1680 Dronningens Gade, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home in the Tropics is a lovingly restored historic Bed and Breakfast overlooking Charlotte Amalie harbor. A former colonial Danish barracks, each room features a view of the harbor and access to the main courtyard, pool and lounge areas. All rooms include air conditioning, a refrigerator, cooler, and beach towels. Nestled in a quiet neighborhood between the Government House Steps and the Historic 99 Steps, we are a short walk to the best local shops and restaurants. We feature fresh, homemade breakfasts made with local ingredients each day. Included in your room price is breakfast, parking, pool access, and wifi. There are no additional charges. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
At Home In The Tropics Bed And Breakfast Inn St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing