We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Slatington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Clean rooms,friendly staff and great location.Convient to airport and downtown via the water taxi! Easy access to Frenchmens reef and morning star resort by shuttle. We were always greeted with a friendly smile. Nothing was too much trouble.Lots of things to do at the adventure activity desk.Definitely check out different beaches.Take the ferry to St John and visit trunk bay.Sting ray swam right past me.

Room Tip: Stayed at St. John condo.Had to walk to get to pool and take elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marilyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We are please to read your five-star review Marilyn! Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and we look forward to your next stay with us at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    394
    99
    32
    29
See reviews for
633
394
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just returned last night from a week at the Marriott Frenchman's Cove. This a great spot specially for families. The condo's have just been refurbished and a great set up for a family. The biggest plus at this resort is that you can access all the facilities at the Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Resort. Great pools and beach which we used everyday as the one at the cove can get very crowded. However, my kids loved the cove because they had a water trampoline and an ice burg that the kids loved to jump on.

A couple of cons would be there are not enough elevator's in the buildings so you do have to wait a while. Depending on where you are in the resort you will have to take numerous elevator's in order to get to the pool or the lobby.

Taxi's are VERY expensive in St Thomas, so if you are planning on exploring the island rent a car for the week. The hotel itself has many excursions which can begin right at the dock which was a great plus. We went to town on the shopping ferry so convenient, and we even took a ferry directly to St John from our own dock (a must do).

All in all I would go back, just next time I would rent a car.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. Lower buildings are more convenient to the pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sbirkhold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable week with your family at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove! Your tips for fellow travelers are appreciated and we agree a rental car can save money. Our team looks forward to your next stay with us in St. Thomas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusby, MD
Level Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

The Cove has the perfect location on the island; center to everything. We used MVPs to stay over Spring Break. Surprisedly, I did not feel crowded. I was able to get chairs at beach every morning without rising at dawn to reserve. We had a 2br, rm 212, in Virgin Gorda, While we couldn't see the beach, we did have a view of the ocean/cove. Only issue was dishwasher didn't work well and elevators were slow.
For groceries, go directly to Pueblo Market around the corner once you hit the Havensight. They have everything you need for the week and not worth running around to other stores to save pennies. Stay away from Gourmet Alley unless you're looking for something out of the norm.
Rented a car and no problem with parking. Would not recommend a car if you're staying around resort; however, for a family of four, it will run you $25 one way taxi ride anywhere. A rental runs ~$310 a wk…you do the math. I got my money's worth with a rental.
Beach area awesome. The Beach Grill very slow which is why I didn't rate the Cove a 5 (combined with dishwasher), it just wasn't perfect. Be prepared to pay $15 for cheeseburger or wraps. Same prices throughout island. Ate pizza at Pie Whole in Frenchtown, make reservation before you go. We took diving lessons with Aqua Marine (awesome) and sailed with Morningstar out of Point Pleasant. No problem with cruise crowds other than downtown.
While the Cove wasn't Perfect, it was close enough to Perfect for us. We came for the location and we ran out of time to do everything we wanted to see and do, so we're already planning to return next year. Can't wait!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rainy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Having been going to Frenchman's Cove twice a year since 2007. Two weeks in May and one week in November, sometimes a week in between. The accommodations are first class and the location and view are spectacular. Sunset is cocktail time on the balcony.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank IslandLovers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at the Marriott Frenchmen's Cove. The rooms were great with an amazing view of the world. If you want to go to an island to relax, soak up some great sun - this is the place to go!! We went snorkeling right off the beach to see a ton of turtles right there. The people are sweet and very accommodating.

I also wanted to mention two activities that I participated. The first was yoga on the beach. I wish I remembered the tall blond yoga instructor's name (forgive me). She is such a precious gem - I really enjoyed your class and because of you, I'm going to find a yoga place in NYC. St Thomas is lucky to have you. Namaste.

I also wanted to mention Chris and Dave who were our tour guides for the Night Kayak through the Adventure Center. They were passionate, witty and just as excited when we found a new discovery....something they probably see every night.

Thanks for the great week, wonderful experience - my family and I loved it. Cheers!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank KumiteMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Just finishing up a week here and this is definitely a place I'd come back to. Everything has been great. The biggest plus however, and something nobody tells you about is that while staying at the Cove you can use the Marriott facilities at the Marriott Reef hotel (great infinity pools) or the beach at the Morningstar Beach Club, all part of the Marriott facility. They run a shuttle that will take you from place to place or you can simply walk on a gravel path that runs from the Cove to the Reef property. Even though this was a spring break week it never was crowded. The fact that this is only a three and a half hour flight from NY makes this the ideal place for a getaway.. The Happy hour and the breakfast buffet are well worth it. You can take a water taxi into the shopping area. It runs every half hour and is a 15 minute ride that Captain Mark makes enjoyable. The only thing that could be improved would be a road sign on Route 30 that tells you to turn off to the Marriott properties.

Room Tip: Although a lot of people say a high floor we were in a first floor villa 112 in the Jost Van Dyke bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ChuckNY352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayson, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Just walked in from a really cool experience with Chris and Megan as our guide. Paddling around the lagoon at night in a clear bottom boat with LED lights to see deep in the water was neat, and the history lesson from Chris was interesting. Glad we spent the money for our teenagers to do this!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank JT W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
We are glad to hear your family had a great time on the night kayaking excursion! Thank you for sharing your experience and kind words for the staff on Tripadvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.2 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
3.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
8.0 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
8.9 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Frenchman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Property: Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Address: 7338 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00802-3011, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Frenchman's Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Marriott's Frenchman's Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Frenchman`s Cove Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Hotel Frenchmans Cove
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Frenchmans Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing