We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Fun Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We traveled to this property with friends.. ( Owners).. we were so impressed we bought into the Marriott system.. Frenchman's Cove is a small property with out all the hustle and bustle of a large high rise resort.
Charlotte Amile is just a short boat ride across the bay... to some of the most fantastic duty free shopping and restaurants in the Caribbean..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

735 - 741 of 1,461 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Just got back from two weeks at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove. I have three children and they all loved it so much they did not want to leave. Fabulous beach for snorkeling and we enjoyed the pool. Also enjoyed going to the other Marriott resorts via shuttle. A highlight of the trip was the night kayak. It was a neat experience. Views from the rooms are breathtaking. I highly recommend this timeshare.

Room Tip: Stayed at Jost Van Dyke building. Loved that it was close to the pool and had good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whyjetski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Driving up to the Marriott, a few minutes outside Charlotte Amalie and no more than 20 minutes from the airport, one would expect the air-conditioned and polished marble ambience of a large hotel. How nice to be so wrong. An airy lobby opens up to a terrace overlooking the harbor -- at night the twinkling lights on the hillside behind the town are enchanting -- and corridors lead off in different directions with the feel of an Italian palazzo. The hotel is on a small isthmus so it appears that all rooms have a view of water. The rooms are spacious with roomy balconies. Room service was very professional and the amenities including a couple bottles of water every day were quite generous. There are thee pools on the upper level and two below; one pool is over 100 feet long, with an infinity wall that looks out to the sea. Below, past a couple grass tennis courts, is a lower branch of the hotel on the beach with more bars and restaurants. The beach is a long, spotless clean stretch of sand. In late May the Caribbean was warmer than the pools. I had breakfast at a delightful bar on the water and dinner -- two night in succession -- at Havana Blue, also on the beach. A word on Havana Blue: The food was as fresh as could be, the tuna and rock lobster hauled in that morning and the grass fed steak sublime. One night I had bass which was perfectly prepared and separated in delicate flakes. The next a paella of assorted seafood. The wine list here, while limited, is remarkable for its range and the quality of its choices. From fine Bordeaux and super Tuscans to Aglianico's from Italy, Carmanere from Chile, some fine Malbecs from Argentina, and some remarkable Priorats from Spain. All in all two days here were like a week of relaxation anywhere else. Taking the time to write because I still feel guilty about my first impression! Looking forward to an early return.

Room Tip: Probably would choose to overlook the harbor to enjoy the lights at night. But i'm sure all roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Landmarkfinder A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Took a long weekend trip. Location was great. It was nice to have so many choices to eat right on the property. Staff was pleasant. They provided beach buckets, body boards and towels for the kids. Great perk to not have to pack those things.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manynuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My family and I stayed in the St. John's building at the Marriott Frenchmen Cove resort. We are owners of the Marriott Vacation Club and felt that this property's housekeeping and concierge service was far below the normal Marriott standard. To start out, the AC was unusually noisy in the living room and bedroom and my family members had to use earplugs in order to get a better night's sleep. On Monday, we were supposed to get the complimentary tidy-up service, but no one showed to tidy up. When I complained, someone showed the next day, but neglected to replenish basic things like garbage bags, dish soap, paper towels, dish rags. When we wanted to open a can, we discovered that there was no can opener. Hellooooo. More phone calls were needed to get those basic necessities. The next day, I discovered that my travel size parfume was missing. I had had to store it in a tiny water bottle because its top was broken. So the maid had tossed it thinking it was an empty water bottle. First rule in housekeeping do not toss anything belonging to a guest. After complaining yet again, they did replace the travel size perfume. Also, after the tidy service had left coffee packets, they forgot to leave coffee filters and my sister could not have her first cup of coffee as usual, but had to wait an hour for the filters to arrive. All small, but very annoying things thanks to careless housekeeping staff.
All in all, it took many phone calls to get what we needed and it was major annoying needing basic things and having to wait for staff to bring them up. Also, at this property, you will not get a free linen change in the middle of your week's stay. Beach towels are exchanged only once in a week for free and guests are expected to do their own beach towel and bath towel laundry! Really?
I don't know about you, but after spending a lot of money in maintenance fees every year, I do expect close to perfect housekeeping service.
Another rather odd thing: the concierge lady would only give out the welcoming packet by coming by the room, or by appointment. I finally asked for it on our second to last day and was given a bag and coupons more as a good-bye gift.
We loved the view from our villa, but know that you will need to ride three different elevators in order to get down to the pool or beach.
The live music at the restaurant was much too loud and talking while having dinner was impossible. Also, know that diners and people in bathing suits having drinks, sit in the same area.
Finally, I would say, that housekeeping service and concierge service need much improvement in order to reach Marriott standards.

Room Tip: Sixth floor St. John building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KaliCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This resort is only 7 years old and Marriott has already renovated it due to its popularity. Our second visit and just as wonderful as the first time. Actually better. We like the fact that a few minutes away in a free shuttle is Frenchman's Reef Marriott hotel. And with the new dock in place $7 gets you a short ten minute ferry ride into downtown Charlotte Amalie. Some folks don't like the fact that being built directly into a hillside there are two or three elevators to be used getting between room and pool. They prefer resorts built on flat ground. Didn't bother us and the rooms are so well appointed and equipped it was a pleasure to stay there. An expanded marketplace provided all we needed for casual meals and the live music was vey enjoyable. We'll be back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Warren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We were here with a big group and they handled it well getting us all checked in in a timely manner. The beaches were amazing. The best part was the massages we had in the spa!!!! Best massage ever. I would go back just for a massage. The service desk, joe I think was his name really helped in planning our week since we didn't do that beforehand. We did everything he recommended and loved it. Don't go without your passport so you can go to the British Virgin Islands. Well worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stacie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
4.5 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
8.8 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.2 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
4.0 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
731 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Frenchman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Address: 7338 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00802-3011, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: £471 - £1,025 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Frenchman's Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Frenchman's Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Frenchman`s Cove Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Hotel Frenchmans Cove
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Frenchmans Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing